We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Weary Ploughman

Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
+44 1803 844702
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (37 reviews)
“liver” (15 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous meal could not fault a thing. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Will definitely return soon .

Thank Debbi B
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had pre-booked our weekday lunch, asking for a quiet corner and ready access for a disabled guest. We were not disappointed! Service was subtle and unobtrusive, yet professional and efficient. The menu is well varied although not extensive, as is the wine list. The...More

Thank Josephine J
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing roastBeef!! Fantastic staff. Wine list was very good. Staff Full of knowledge. We will be back. X

Thank Lorraine S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The decor of this pub/hotel is lovely and we were really hopeful that the food would be equally impressive but sadly this wasn’t to be the case. I had rang early morning to check that Sunday roasts would still be available in the evening and...More

Thank Lynw33
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely place, very friendly and helpful. Good pub food (although veggies were overdone), good choice of drinks, good value, nice atmosphere. Can definitely recommend. Right next to Churston station.

Thank Bobtdiver
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had neglected this pub often driving past it or on the bus to eat and drink in Brixham. We have lived within walking distance to this pub for about 10 years and only visited once a few years ago. To correct that and in...More

Thank Dinger2481
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Visited on the day we got engaged and it was the perfect end to a great day. Wonderful meals and a lovely setting.

Thank SamuelPlatt
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Happy ven remembered d from year ago when we used to come great if not better food than we remembered keep it up guys

Thank tannar
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Four of us went for Father's day lunch. The service was impeccable and an excellent menu with plenty of choice. There was options for main courses to be small, regular and large. Which for a small eater like myself is ideal. The small portion was...More

Thank emcityfan
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Excellent hotel, staff,food,most satisfying,plenty to eat at breakfast, Hotel is very well placed for visiting Greenway House "Agatha Christies holiday home,a shuttle coach takes you there on most days,the coach takes you to the main gate and from there it is about a 20 minute...More

Thank dbritt171863
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
784 reviews
1.59 miles away
Quayside Hotel
657 reviews
1.97 miles away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
785 reviews
2.00 miles away
The Bulstone Hotel
49 reviews
2.10 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Manor Inn
214 reviews
.36 miles away
Carolines Kitchen at Churston Farm Shop
89 reviews
.28 miles away
Churston Court
89 reviews
.56 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Greenway
1,591 reviews
.45 miles away
Broadsands Beach
100 reviews
.67 miles away
Cayman Golf
66 reviews
.17 miles away
Battlefield Live Torbay
12 reviews
.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
D5556FScolinb
1 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from ThePloughman | Property representative |
The answer is, as many people have pointed out, we are but with limited availability - we tried the whole pub and got many many complaints. So as it stands, in the bar area is fine and we can reserve tables there, it's... More
1
Vote
messeycat
4 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Steve P | Reviewed this property |
Hiya there is a bus stop both sides of the road very close to the weary ploughman for the number 12 to go either way
2
Votes
Ronald F
28 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from ThePloughman | Property representative |
Hi Ronald, My name is James and I'm in the process of taking ownership from the current occupants. I can assure you that we are not looking to make any fundamental changes to the nature of the business or the way in which... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$32
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  English Riviera  >  Brixham  >  Churston Ferrers
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 844702
  • E-mail
Description
The restaurant, bar and rooms at the Weary Ploughman at Churston has been extensively refurbished to a very high standard during the last two years to provide somewhere to eat, meet or stay that is very welcoming and comfortable, but not in any way pretentious. Our menu is varied and freshly cooked using, whenever possible, produce sourced locally.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing