We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Weary Ploughman

Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
+44 1803 844702
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (39 reviews)
“liver” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Two of our restaurants we were looking to eat at were full. We drove around where we found this pub had car parking spaces. The entrance to the pub had three deep down steps which was difficult for one of our group. As it was...More

Thank Sue W
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review Sue W, I so glad we exceeded your expectations and made your meal a success. I would raise two points - we do have a disabled entrance on the flat, though it is wise to ask for it via...More

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Had a really lovely meal, had the original pizza, triple cooked chips, onion rings and garlic flatbread and ice-cream for dessert which was honeycomb and chunky chocolate which was delicious

Thank Vacation574398
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review hjsandercock, Thanks for the lovely review and noticing the care that we put into everything. Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Yet another amazing meal. Thank you James Kath and team weary. Always feel welcome and extremely well looked after

Thank tinasallyfelton
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review Tina, As you hopefully know you are always welcome and do genuinely cheer up our evenings with your company. Warm regards Cathy

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable evening meal here on Saturday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The resturant was clean and tidy. The food was really nice and local produce used which was great, was really pleased to find both veggies and vegans catered...More

Thank KAY S
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review KAY S, Thanks so much for the lovely words. Portion size - oh there's a long involved discussion - it's never right - the children's version has to cover age range 3 - 1x? and in our case often...More

Reviewed 26 August 2018

This place is easy to drive passed but we never will again... We found out on our last day it was ideal for visiting the Whole Paignton Brixhm areas as it is where you can pick up Train Boat and Bus tours for the area......More

Thank Andrew F
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review Andrew F, Thanks for the lovely words and description of what we are - couldn't have put it better ourselves. Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

What a Beautiful Place! We stayed her with our family from England and we enjoyed our visit so very much!! The rooms are modern and very clean! They have a restaurant with gourmet food! So delicious! We stayed here because it is near “Greenway” Agatha...More

Thank 533tinav
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review Tina v, I glad made your stay so enjoyable and look forwards to hosting you again should you travel back to our shores. Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 22 August 2018

lovely atmosphere, friendly polite service, excellent food. not made the mistake of many putting too much on the menu and not getting it right. well done, we will be back soon. Chris and sue

Thank Chris R
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review Chris & Sue, Thank you so much for recognising what we do and why we do it. Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Just by Churston station sits this hidden gem. The menu is not exhaustive but has something for everyone. I've just demolished a 'Hot Smoked Mackerel Salad'which was just divine. My partner had a ham salad baguette with triple cooked chips which was out of this...More

Thank Sham65
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review Sham65, Thanks for making us a regular stop on your holiday, glad we made them such a success. It is a bit of a frustration to us that we are quite so hidden especially as we are on one...More

Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Our party of 7 had a great meal this evening. Lots of choice for vegetarians and vegans and a refreshing menu. Very clean and friendly. The pizzas were delicious! Thankyou

Thank Heather S
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review Heather S, I glad we made your holiday meal a success and thank you for the lovely words. Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 14 August 2018

Visited the weary ploughman twice in the last 3 months when staying in the area. A lovely restaurant with good service and good choice of food. Their homemade pizzas are lovely, I can recommend the Sunday lunches too which we had on our last visit....More

Thank rabbitsfootDorset
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your kind rabbitsfootDorset Thank you for taking the time to do it. I do hope you'll come back and try us again soon. Warm regards Marc

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
790 reviews
1.59 miles away
Quayside Hotel
661 reviews
1.97 miles away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
793 reviews
2.01 miles away
The Bulstone Hotel
49 reviews
2.10 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Manor Inn
214 reviews
.35 miles away
Carolines Kitchen at Churston Farm Shop
89 reviews
.28 miles away
Churston Court
90 reviews
.56 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Greenway
1,591 reviews
.45 miles away
Broadsands Beach
101 reviews
.68 miles away
Cayman Golf
66 reviews
.17 miles away
Battlefield Live Torbay
12 reviews
.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
D5556FScolinb
1 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from ThePloughman | Property representative |
The answer is, as many people have pointed out, we are but with limited availability - we tried the whole pub and got many many complaints. So as it stands, in the bar area is fine and we can reserve tables there, it's... More
1
Vote
messeycat
4 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Steve P | Reviewed this property |
Hiya there is a bus stop both sides of the road very close to the weary ploughman for the number 12 to go either way
2
Votes
Ronald F
28 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from ThePloughman | Property representative |
Hi Ronald, My name is James and I'm in the process of taking ownership from the current occupants. I can assure you that we are not looking to make any fundamental changes to the nature of the business or the way in which... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$32
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  English Riviera  >  Brixham  >  Churston Ferrers
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 844702
  • E-mail
Description
The restaurant, bar and rooms at the Weary Ploughman at Churston has been extensively refurbished to a very high standard during the last two years to provide somewhere to eat, meet or stay that is very welcoming and comfortable, but not in any way pretentious. Our menu is varied and freshly cooked using, whenever possible, produce sourced locally.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing