We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Weary Ploughman

Reserve a Table
Bookatable
81
All photos (81)
Certificate of Excellence

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2014 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
The restaurant, bar and rooms at the Weary Ploughman at Churston has been extensively refurbished to a very high standard during the last two years to provide somewhere to eat, meet or stay that is very welcoming and comfortable, but not in any way pretentious. Our menu is varied and freshly cooked using, whenever possible, produce sourced locally.
PRICE RANGE
US$14-US$32
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub
FEATURES
Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for The Weary Ploughman
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
324
128
42
12
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
324
128
42
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza triple cooked chips liver steak and ale pie apple crumble sunday roast salmon mash ham potatoes sea bass salad weary ploughman pub restaurant main meal birthday meal good quality food
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 60 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Just had the most delicious food.. Sunday lunch & cheesecake & lemon posset.. OMG .. for great food and exceptional service visit.. Love supporting local places we were visiting and can't fault. 10 put of 10

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 665paulam
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review paula m, It's always difficult to respond to reviews like yours without sounding conceited - so just thank you again. Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 12 May 2018

Met family for lunch, lacked atmosphere, very few staff around and slow service. The food was fine but the restaurant was so empty it felt as though it was closed. Have not visited since.More

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank HappyLuncherz
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review HappyLuncherz, Unfortunately making sure that the restaurant is always packed is one thing we can't do - if we could we'd be very rich and sunning ourselves in retirement as we speak. Our trade is highly variable and fluctuates...More

Reviewed 30 April 2018

Well, here we are again at the Weary Ploughman after three or four weeks since my last visit with family. This time it was an old friends reunion. Great service, no change, great food: my pizza Margherita was just lovely. We went for the middle...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank suehinds2
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review suehinds2, I glad we kept up the standards that made you return to us in the first place. Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 28 April 2018

The Weary Ploughman Inn was a real find, through Hotels.com. We were greeted by an efficient, ext door friendly member of staff, Emma. We had a very tasty lunch before being shown to our large room, with a King sized bed. The bathroom was of...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Sue B
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review Don M, I glad we matched your expectations and made your stay worthwhile and look forwards to hosting you again, unfortunately changing the bathrooms is a bit beyond us at the moment. Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

My partner found this place on line Perfect for us to see Brixham and surrounding areas on our short break. After a little misunderstanding about the room she booked was sorted out quickly and to our satisfaction we settled into a great room, large ,warm...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Keith T
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review Keith T, It's always lovely when the hard work that everyone here at the Weary puts into it is recognised. Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We visited here this evening after traveling through the internet of somewhere to eat. Most places in Goodrington, & Paignton are more your cheap, cheerful cafes so The Weary Ploughman was a god send. Gorgeous food - we had Camembert & mushrooms to start them...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Gembourne
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review Gembourne, Blushes!!!! Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Better late than never! 5 of us visited this Pub on 30th December. Great food, friendly staff Could not fault anything

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank johnwR2697GD
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review John W, I glad we exceeded your expectations and made your meal enjoyable and hopefully memorable and look forwards to hosting you again. Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Nice place if a little bare, however staff OK, drinks reasonably priced, food not too bad, one steak as requested, one carbonara -way too much food on the plate (looked like a whole pack of pasta in a pile). We were only passing through so...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Nibs02
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your review Nibs02, Thank you for taking the time to do it though I do struggle to wonder why you bothered - the only criticism I can find is that we gave you too much food - not much for us to...More

Reviewed 1 April 2018

we were a group of 20, pre-booked but on a very busy night.5 people cancelled two days beforehand, & were replaced by 4 others. Two more cancelled last minute through illness; the changes were all met with cordiality.Ambiance was excellent, staff efficient & friendly; menu...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank TheTaxiLady
ThePloughman, Manager at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review TheTaxiLady, Thank you for taking the time to do it. It was no trouble and we will be delighted to have you back even if you hadn't left us such a charming review. Warm regards Marc

Reviewed 26 March 2018

We were a party of 4 and arrived having made a telephone booking. Due to road works and the Torbay Cycle Race we arrived late. This was no problem at all to the staff who took us to our table, and looked after us in...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank suehinds2
ThePloughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

OUTSTANDING REIVEW !! - What more can I say ..... thank you - so very much ! James and the team !!

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
D5556FScolinb
1 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from ThePloughman | Property representative |
The answer is, as many people have pointed out, we are but with limited availability - we tried the whole pub and got many many complaints. So as it stands, in the bar area is fine and we can reserve tables there, it's... More
1
Vote
messeycat
4 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Steve P | Reviewed this property |
Hiya there is a bus stop both sides of the road very close to the weary ploughman for the number 12 to go either way
2
Votes
Ronald F
28 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from ThePloughman | Property representative |
Hi Ronald, My name is James and I'm in the process of taking ownership from the current occupants. I can assure you that we are not looking to make any fundamental changes to the nature of the business or the way in which... More
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing