We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#2 of 2 Bar in Hale
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
70
17
15
4
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
70
17
15
4
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast wedges roast potatoes wings steak live local new chef fresh food be visiting again family meal food was lovely vegan
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 October 2020

Took my family for Sunday Lunch, food was amazing! I had the Lamb shank roast dinner, it was the nicest roast I’ve ever had! Highly recommended, The staff were so lovely & Friendly, Will definitely be going again!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

My wife and I decided to go out for a meal and a couple of drinks. We had stopped at The Wellington before for drinks but never eaten there. We were both very impressed. The food was traditional pub fayre but was really nice and...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 September 2020

We came here as a family today and had a lovely time, Everything down to the food & service was amazing. Food was beautiful and very well presented. We had fish & chips with mushy peas, gammom egg and chips and two children's chicken nugget...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 August 2020 via mobile

Had a great meal here today with partner and my parents. Food was delicious, big portions and extremely good value for money. Waitress was very friendly and good social distancing measures were in place. We will return at some point in the future for sure.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 August 2020

Went for an early evening meal yesterday’s around 5pm and was seated quickly. It all went downhill from there really. We were asked what drinks we would like after about 10 or 15 minutes. We ordered our meals, after another family who had arrived a...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 July 2020

Visited here for the first time since lock down(we did have some takeaways from them during lock down). Sat in the garden, meal was good, three adults and two children the only criticism was lack of PPE on the staff. We werent asked to sanitise...More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
sgray26, Owner at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2020

Hi, Thank you for your review we appreciate the feedback and are glad you enjoyed your meals. Currently PPE (i.e. face masks) are not a legal requirement for hospitality or retail staff to wear. There are also hand sanitiser dispensers mounted on the walls as...More

Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

We went here having learned of it having new management. We live local and we’re hoping for good things. Unfortunately it was a disaster. The waitresses were absolutely lovely and were very apologetic for the whole experience. We had to wait at the bar for...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
sgray26, Owner at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Hi, I have contacted you directly but just wanted to follow this up publicly. Please could you tell me what table you were on and what you ordered please so I can follow this up. I’m slightly confused as we run a reduced menu on...More

Reviewed 9 February 2020

Recently visited the Wellington Hotel for a family Sunday roast. Well all agreed the food was great and my daughters especially loved the roast potatoes. We will definitely going again great food, great service and friendly staff. Well done to the new team

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 February 2020

I was delighted to attend a formal Dinner at this hotel on 30th Jan. The staff are well versed in dealing with large groups and the food (thick slice of beef) was awesome.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 1 February 2020

I visited The Wellington in Hale Village for a work meal outing. I was very impressed with the friendliness of staff and the high standard of food. From simple orders such as soup, to a little more complex like roast beef dinner, the taste was...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport
2,897 reviews
2.32 miles away
Premier Inn Liverpool John Lennon Airport hotel
1,904 reviews
2.48 miles away
Hotel Campanile Runcorn
293 reviews
2.54 miles away
Travelodge Liverpool John Lennon Airport
694 reviews
2.86 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Childe of Hale
493 reviews
.18 miles away
Yew Tree Coffee Barn
152 reviews
2.11 miles away
Robinsons Cafe
37 reviews
1.90 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Brindley Theatre
448 reviews
2.78 miles away
Spike Island
114 reviews
2.78 miles away
Pickerings Pasture
103 reviews
1.40 miles away
Runcorn Hill Park Local Nature Reserve
27 reviews
2.49 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Srdwelsh
6 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SailorJerry69 | Property representative |
Yes we do and only two minutes from the airport, come and join us!!!
0
Votes
stanlpool
I cant understand the complaints on here about the dining room,, ive drank here for a number of years now old management and new, the old, well I must agree the food was never really inviting I once asked for a pork fillet steak and it came (eventually aafter my chasing it up) and one end was curled up like a fish tail,, we didn't eat there again however with the new management in place we have eaten here twice and were very pleased with the service the food quality and the staff especially Christine who always has a word and a smile for you,,,, this week on the 15th we took her two daughters, three fussy ladies,, I know,, for a pre Christmas lunch, our table was laid out in a lovely festive manner complete with a cracker each, we soup,, main course and a desert,, and when I asked the girls as one they all said oh yes definitely we would like to come again,, so please don't right this off try it again im sure you will enjoy it
17 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Marie F | Reviewed this property |
I agree with you. The food has vastly improved. The new management are putting so much effort into making vast improvements all around. The Manager and her family are regularly seen working in the bar and restaurant and are... More
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wellington Hotel
    How is Wellington Hotel rated?
    Wellington Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 3.5