We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ugly Duckling Deli

) #2 of 11 Restaurants in Roscrea ££ - £££ Irish, Cafe, European
2 Main Street, Roscrea 1, Ireland
+353 505 21012
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good26%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (16 reviews)
“sandwiches” (6 reviews)
“ciabatta” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, Cafe, European, Delicatessen, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Main Street, Roscrea 1, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The ugly duckling has always been good but I gave a four star review before because they were always so slow to serve. But I've been again recently and it's much better. The food is still excellent and with some great new menu items as...More

Thank tomnelligan
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great staff, great prices and selection of food , comfortable seating, would recommend to everyone Parking outside is very cheap as well.

1  Thank Daolin W
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Great quality food. Great quality coffee. Quickly served and right I the heart of the town. Try the Rustic chiabata.

1  Thank Damien M
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

We dropped into Roscrea on our way back to Dublin and we fell upon the Ugly Duckling, cafe and deli. It was a great surprise, excellent food, great staff and very good service. We selected had wraps and a scones from an extensive menu, they...More

1  Thank Tony J
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Good service, excellent food and relaxing atmosphere. I have been there several times. Great value for money.

1  Thank Shepherd M
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent, good value food and very friendly staff, could"t fault it. We often get nice touches like top ups of tea and cream with the scones.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Always a happy friendly atmosphere with just as pleasant food. A place with no pretentious just good honest fresh food. Love it.

Thank Colin L
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Had lunch nice freshly prepared sandwich Cajun chicken, good selection of breads. Coffee a bit weak and milk piping for my latte and cappuccino. Nice decor and busy.

1  Thank Wuziwoo
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Really hope the owner / manager reads this and takes on board some constructive criticism. There is a dearth of options when it comes to cafes in Roscrea, and based on food alone, the Ugly Duckling has possibly the highest potential. Unfortunately this place has...More

2  Thank _ant_king_sa
Alan W, Owner at The Ugly Duckling Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear reviewer First of all thank you for talking the time to review our lovely family run restaurant. Whilst I agree that some of the issues you have raised are genuine and need attention I feel that you have over egged the situation with your...More

Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely food. James from Lemington spa the chef. Scallops beautiful. No bother to bring your own wine as restaurant not licensed.

1  Thank Ann H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Stand
16 reviews
.19 miles away
The White House
55 reviews
.06 miles away
The Tower Bistro
11 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Barack Obama Plaza visitor centre
32 reviews
7.75 miles away
Bike Park Ireland
117 reviews
9.31 miles away
Cloughjordan House Cookery School
51 reviews
9.85 miles away
Birr Castle Gardens
583 reviews
10.94 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ugly Duckling Deli staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Main Street, Roscrea 1, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Tipperary  >  Roscrea
  • Phone Number: +353 505 21012
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing