We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hazelwood Tea Rooms

Hazelwood Front Street, Grosmont, North York Moors National Park, England
+44 1947 895292
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“toasties” (5 reviews)
“tarts” (8 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hazelwood Front Street, Grosmont, North York Moors National Park, England
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a wonderfully warm welcome after a soaking from a storm and our dog was welcomed inside too which was great. We ordered a tuna mayonnaise and a ham sandwich. The tuna mayo was good but there wasn't enough ham to even cover the...More

Thank Emma H
hazelwoodhouse_1, Owner at Hazelwood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Many thanks for bringing this to our attention Emma. We have a policy of providing generous portions and I can only apologize that you received such a miserable amount of our delicious ham in your sandwich. I will have a word with the member of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was conveniently close to the station and we had 45 minutes to spare before train. It's clean and tidy, not a wide range of food. We tried the Grosmont pie, (lemon pie), and we both enjoyed it. Outside garden furniture could do with a...More

Thank Keith B
hazelwoodhouse_1, Owner at Hazelwood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed my husband's Grosmont tart which is his own invention. We have a rolling program of maintenance, and replacement of garden furniture is next on the list. I hope that the condition of the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We broke a long journey to the coast by stopping here for a refreshing hot drink on an extremely hot day. We only ordered drinks (tea and coffee) which came to £4. You order at the counter and carry your own tray, not waitress service....More

Thank Nicola D
hazelwoodhouse_1, Owner at Hazelwood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The garden area is terraced and the tables have parasols should it be too hot. Although beside the road ( not a busy road when we were there),any traffic seemed well-screened. We had teas and sampled the local cake-offering which is called Grosmont Tart. The...More

Thank deirodeir
hazelwoodhouse_1, Owner at Hazelwood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Glad that you enjoyed my husbands Grosmont tart and our garden.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This cafe is at the quieter end of the village and has an extensive tea garden which is great on a warm day. We had drinks only - so cannot add to the recent comments re food.

Thank Madalyn H
hazelwoodhouse_1, Owner at Hazelwood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Glad that you enjoyed our lovely tea garden.

Reviewed 11 May 2017

after being out for a walk we decided to pop in for a drink and a cake - it was late in the day but the cakes didn't look overly appetising and the drinks we had weren't sparkling either .... it's a pity as I'm...More

Thank adrian b
hazelwoodhouse_1, Owner at Hazelwood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you for your review. Sorry that you were served instant cappuccinos that you didn't want; you should have been told at the counter when you ordered that our cappucinos are instant. We serve filter coffee with steamed milk, but we do not have the...More

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Recently visited the cafe and it's interior was average, the tables were clean and staff friendly. However I was very disappointed to pay £2.40 for a 'cappuccino' which was a packet instant coffee that hadn't been stirred enough and was lumpy. I think this is...More

Thank Travelash04
hazelwoodhouse_1, Owner at Hazelwood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for your review. Sorry that you were given an instant cappuccino which you didn't want, and am at a loss to understand how this happened as you should have been informed that our cappuccino's are instant when you were ordering. As you commented...More

Reviewed 24 April 2017

Pleasant and spacious if unspectacular tea room with attractive garden. Scones were a bit dry, lacked jam and had squirt-on cream. A modest slice of cake cost £2.70 which I thought was a bit steep. Friendly welcome from the owner who showed us where to...More

Thank Paul K
hazelwoodhouse_1, Owner at Hazelwood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not receive enough jam on your scone. We have a policy of providing generous portions and the matter has been rectified. We use fresh whipping cream that we have delivered from our milkman every...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017

We had a quick lunch and a welcome sit down. The staff were friendly and chatty. I had jacket potato well was piping hot and came with a crisp salad. Will definitely call again.

Thank r00t60
hazelwoodhouse_1, Owner at Hazelwood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We visited this cafe for convenience as we needed a snack before our train journey. I ordered a fruit scone with jam and cream and the price was comparable to other tea rooms in Yorkshire. Most places usually give you a warm scone but mine...More

Thank dinkumpomm
hazelwoodhouse_1, Owner at Hazelwood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you visit was not very good. We would have gladly warmed your scone if you had asked. I am at loss to understand how your scone was stale. Apart from pork pies and sausage rolls...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Station Tavern
212 reviews
.10 miles away
The Plough Inn
193 reviews
2.38 miles away
The Forge
183 reviews
2.78 miles away
Mallyan Spout Hotel Restaurant
346 reviews
2.78 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Grosmont Railway Station
107 reviews
.14 miles away
Goathland Station
505 reviews
2.45 miles away
Ruswarp Pleasure Boats
62 reviews
4.18 miles away
Sandsend Beach
752 reviews
5.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hazelwood Tea Rooms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hazelwood Front Street, Grosmont, North York Moors National Park, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  North York Moors National Park  >  Grosmont
  • Phone Number: +44 1947 895292
  • E-mail
Description
Hazelwood Tea Rooms are a small family run business. We specialise in freshly made scones, cakes and light lunches, and our food is locally sourced where possible. The house speciality is Grosmont Tart invented by the proprietor.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing