We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meadow Croft

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$13
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Healthy, Soups
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
82
30
12
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
82
30
12
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandwiches crisps bratwurst salad quiche cake potatoes german market garden centre christmas market under cover school holidays wide variety of plants bird feeding nice garden lovely visit play area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Been here many times , including the wonderful German market, great garden centre, friendly staff , good quality plants, restaurant is busy but food and service of a very high quality , and the new crazy golf is a great addition

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Peter S
Michael S, Public Relations Manager at Meadow Croft, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Peter S Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we really do appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Best wishes Victoria Griffiths P.R and Marketing Manager

Reviewed 16 December 2018

I've been to Meadow Croft on numerous occasions over the years. This place has gone from strength to strength since it was taken over by new management many years ago. Its expensive but the quality of the plants and restaurant food are first class.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank claire g
Michael S, Public Relations Manager at Meadow Croft, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Dear Claire G Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we really appreciate it. Wishing you a Merry Christmas Victoria Griffiths P.R and Marketing Manager

Reviewed 12 December 2018

Just returned from an afternoon with friends for our Christmas get together and I can’t praise it enough! There was so much food.......sandwiches, sausage rolls, scotch rolls, pork pies and savoury scones with cream cheese and onion chutney, and all of this for £15 per...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sharon B
Michael S, Public Relations Manager at Meadow Croft, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear Sharon B Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we really do appreciate it. It was so nice to hear you had such a lovely afternoon with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Wishing you a Very...More

Reviewed 10 December 2018

We travelled from our home in Hertfordshire to what was billed as “the largest German Christmas Market in Essex”.... what a disappointment! Our first impression was “is this it?”. It wasn’t as big as we had expected. There was no atmosphere, some German music or...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Christine T
Michael S, Public Relations Manager at Meadow Croft, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Hi Christine T, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. We have had an overwhelmingly positive response to the German Market this year, so I was disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy yourself here. With over 26...More

Reviewed 10 December 2018 via mobile

Was very impressed from the car park to the whole garden centre . From the actual German market to the other areas of the garden centre. Bought several unusual items for Christmas. Well done to all the helpful staff.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank 219shirleyl
Michael S, Public Relations Manager at Meadow Croft, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2018

Dear 219shirleyl Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we really do appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon Best Wishes for a Very Merry Christmas Victoria Griffiths P.R and Marketing Manager

Reviewed 9 December 2018

after searching on google, I found this place to be highly recommended so I went. What a huge disappointment. Nice venue, laid out well but extremely overpriced. Anyone can go to 'the range' and buy the same bits for 1 quarter of their price. Also...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank sueshai
Michael S, Public Relations Manager at Meadow Croft, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Hi sueshai, Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback. We have had an overwhelmingly positive response to our German Market this year, and the reviews on all our other sites are testament to this, so I was sorry to hear of your disappointment....More

Reviewed 7 December 2018

We visited purely for the German Christmas Market, which was billed as the largest in Essex. . . it wasn't anywhere near as big as we expected, but still had a decent amount of stalls and attractive (though expensive) products. It was good that it...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank IndigoStar79
Michael S, Public Relations Manager at Meadow Croft, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Hi IndigoStar79, Thank you for your review, we always appreciate feedback. We've actually just held our first planning meeting for next year's market; as this year was unprecedentedly busy, we'd also noted the points you have made in your review and we are already looking...More

Reviewed 3 December 2018

Visited yesterday to see the German market which was OK, but nothing really different to previous years. Decided to stop for lunch as we have eaten here before. There were about 6 people in the queue in front of us so not too bad and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Gill P
Michael S, Public Relations Manager at Meadow Croft, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Hi Gill P, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are looking at ways we can improve the queuing system in very busy times and our staff do work very hard to keep everything moving during peak hours....More

Reviewed 2 December 2018

We have visited this garden centre before but this December visit was a pleasant surprise. As most garden centres do these days they make a special effort for christmas shoppers but this was a unique experience as they have turned half of the centre into...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank TheNorthernMonkey1
Michael S, Public Relations Manager at Meadow Croft, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Dear The Northern Monkey1 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely detailed review we really to appreciate it. Wishing you a Very Merry Christmas Season. Best Wishes Victoria Griffiths P.R and Marketing Manager

Reviewed 29 November 2018

Delicious afternoon tea, friendly staff, excellent service - attractive items for Christmas in the shop too!More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jean J
Michael S, Public Relations Manager at Meadow Croft, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Dear Jean J Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes for...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Meadow Croft staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing