We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar

££ - £££
Bar, Pub, Pizza, New Zealand
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8 Inlet Road, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
+64 3-527 8114
Website
Today
17:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 17:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ate dinner at the Beached Whale on two separate occasions while we stopped in Kaiteriteri. We happened to be there on St. Patrick's Day which caused the restaurant to definitely be busier than the first night we ate in the restaurant. They offer a variety of menu options, anything from seafood dishes to pizza. Staff are friendly and the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank dnh5023
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our busy seaside restaurant, we appreciate your repeat custom and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thanks very much for a lovely evening, food very good and reasonable. Quick service with a smile, all helped along by some great live music :).

Helpful?
Thank Helen G
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your trip advisor review, its great to receive positive feedback for the crew here, enjoy your travels in NZ. More 

Nelson
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed a good meal in April at the Beached Whale, Anthony and the staff served us a great Fish meal along with a jug or two of beer, just great.

Helpful?
Thank Bevan D
Kaiteriteri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good selection of beers including my favourite Guinness, busy in the summer so book and arrive on time. Wood fired Pizza always a good selection. Fish and chip meal huge portion. Double cooked pork ribs very tasty as is the squid meal. Anthony is a music master when singing. Lots of kiwi locals. A lively atmosphere. I like it.

Helpful?
Thank 52Diane
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your trip advisor review, we appreciate all feed back and are always encouraged by positive reviews. Our team works hard to provide an enjoyable experience for all our valued customers so thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. More 

auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a large group (25) with a late booking. The staff looked after us extremely well. Kids were fed quickly. Food was really lovely Look forward to returning. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank kim c
Kaiteri_Lodge, Owner at The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your trip advisor review, I remember your group and it was fun to have you dine with us. We are a family restaurant and welcome children and your group of young ones were exceptionally well behaved. We look forward to having you visit us again. More 

Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived about 7:30 pm, this was the only eatery open at that time. Sadly the kitchen had stopped serving food but they did manage to find a pepperoni pizza we could share. Kaiteriteri is an early to bed place, beware, don't arrive late and hungry and without your own food!

Helpful?
Thank annette r
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, yes you are correct in the winter time Kaiteriteri does queiten down earlier, and if it is exceptionally quiet then we will close the Ala Carte section and go to Pizza's only. We are open in Winter the nights that our buses arrive , Monday , Tuesday, Friday and Saturday from 5 pm, you can... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived, starving, after 10pm (the official closing time of the kitchen), and the owner was kind enough to offer to make us two fabulous Margherita pizzas, which we had with a couple of drinks. Some improvised music making turned this into an unexpectedly pleasant experience at a place where we feared to have to go to bed without dinner.

Helpful?
1 Thank martinrummel
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are a small family owned business and appreciate your positive feedback, we are pleased we were able to provide you with a meal. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had three meals here during our stay in Kaiteri. The food was great and the staff were always friendly. Would recommend! Great pizzas!!

Helpful?
1 Thank gizmoc2017
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your trip advisor review, our team are always appreciative of feedback from our valued patrons, we hope to see you again in the future. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

So disappointed it's not funny. Most disappointing meal EVER! Turned up and owner calling for more staff, managed just to get a table only to be pushed around by owners family! Got sick of chair being pushed into my knees and then dinner turned up. Burnt pizza even our 5 yr old kid told me I cooked better pizza!! Got... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thankyou for your trip advisor review, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience here, I remember you and your family and because we were fully booked and you did not have a reservation we made space for you so you and your family could dine with us, the alterative was that we turned you away which in retrospect I... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We had a relaxed meal after day on water. The meal was good value for money. Fish was fresh and well cooked. The servings were a good size.

Helpful?
1 Thank David A

Travellers who viewed The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Kaiteriteri, Nelson-Tasman Region
Kaiteriteri, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Kaiteriteri, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$21
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Pizza, New Zealand
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Inlet Road, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Kaiteriteri
  • Phone Number: +64 3-527 8114

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?