We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
23 High Street, Steyning BN44 3YE, England
+44 1903 814084
Website
Today
10:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 10:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 252: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came for dinner in the bar area to celebrate a friends birthday. Service was friendly and efficient. I had the fish and pea fish cake. Unfortunately about an hour after eating I had an upset stomach and was sick! Be wary when ordering a fish dish!!

Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy M
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this review

Very many thanks for taking the time to write this review for us, we do really appreciate all feedback from our clients. After studying and checking our full procedures in the kitchen for producing our homemade fishcakes, I can assure you that our product did not make you feel poorly. We have very strict rules on all our products/menus and... More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

I have been drinking in this place for years and since Craig has taken it over it has steadily improved. He, his family and staff really do care, they are all so friendly and courteous. I tend not to eat in Steyning but did on the 28th January and was impressed by the food. Ella was our waitress and she... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sinclair12345
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for taking the time to write this review for The White Horse, we really do appreciate it. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your friends in for a drink, and great that you chose to eat with us this time too. We really look forward to welcoming you here again very soon. Once... More 

Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

This is our local pub and we usually have an 'ok' experience We called in with friends between Christmas and New Year and it was just awful It was freezing cold and when we asked the bar man to light the fire he said he couldn't as he had no fire lighters and they weren't being delivered until Thursday (this... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank cja3973
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this review

Very many thanks for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry that you were disappointed on this one occasion. As previously mentioned on TripAdvisor, we will be closing fairly soon for a refurbishment, so I trust you will give us another visit after that. We look forward to welcoming you back to eat at The White Horse... More 

Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

Never been to this place before, and was taken there in a party of 6. I chose the mussels, and they were the best that I have eaten in a long while - so I told the chef so. Everyone else in the party lunched very well. Cooking and presentation was done with care from an open plan kitchen. Smart... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally S
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this review

Hi Sally - very many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your food at The White Horse. My chef says he recalls your recent kind comments about the mussels and asked me to pass on his thanks yet again to you. We look forward to having you back to eat with us again very... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We stopped for lunch and hoped the pub would still be serving at 2.30. To our surprise they were serving all day. The food was very good and the service excellent. Service with a smile. We would definitely go back again!

Helpful?
Thank searanm
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this review

Very many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review of the White Horse. We really do appreciate it, particularly at this very busy time of year. I have passed your kind comments to all my team of staff, they asked me to give their thanks to you. We look forward to welcoming you to eat with us... More 

Shoreham-by-Sea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016

Once again lovely staff and lovely food so can't fault either of those at all! But the attempt at Christmas decorations??? If you looked really closely you could see dark green garlands on the beams. So the only indication it's December is the list of Christmas cocktails on the board! Shocking! A large pub with not a single fairy light... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Blossom07
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Blossom07 Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The White Horse. I'm so glad you loved the food & our staff. It's always lovely to hear this and, after all, the food really is the most important thing when you are choosing a restaurant to eat at. You comments on the Christmas decorations... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely food , which could not of been any better . Plus service was brilliant and we had a friend with a nut allergy . They couldn't of been more helpful . Plus staff member said she knew the deserts ingredients as all made from scratch. Plus you can see your food being prepared and cooked ,Highly recommend for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grant P
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this review

Grant - how lovely to read such a positive review of The White Horse in Steyning, very many thanks. The entire team work very hard to ensure that our clients with allergies are not very limited in what they can eat, we all try to offer a good selection. We look forward to welcoming you all to eat with us... More 

Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016

Very friendly pub and the service was good and attentive we only had bar snacks in the bar, burger and chips, but we do plan to go back and try the resturant at some point. The food was cooked well, presented in the new pub way on a block of wood and it was tasty. Good atmosphere and we were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick D
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this review

Patrick - thanks so very much for taking the time to share your kind comments with us. We do agree with you that music is great, but should definitely be in the background so guests can hear each other speak properly! I am delighted that you enjoyed the bar snacks when you recently visited, we look forward to you coming... More 

Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

we came for dinner , the bar was very crowded but the restruant was lovely and quite and food was lovely !

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie70101
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this review

Debbie - how nice to read that you had a great meal with us and that the food was lovely. I have passed on your review to the team and they have asked me to thank your for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you back at The White Horse in the very near future. Once again, many... More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016

We set out on a 90 minute walk from Shoreham Beach and by the time we reached Steyning we were ready for some grub! Walking into Steyning we happened upon The White Horse and thought we'd take a chance. It was quite busy, but they found room for us by the window. Gorgeous table. Service was excellent throughout. Lovely introduction,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Adam M
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this review

Adam - thank so very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of The White Horse. I am delighted to hear that you happily found us by accident after enjoying a long walk :) It is particularly satisfying to read that you enjoyed our locally sourced pork and lamb, we take great pride in ensuring that... More 

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill also viewed

 
Steyning, West Sussex
Steyning, West Sussex
 

Been to The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 23 High Street, Steyning BN44 3YE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Steyning
  • Phone Number: +44 1903 814084
Description
Nestled in the lush, green South Downs, close to the busier towns of Brighton and Hove is The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill in Steyning - a picturesque grammar school town and one time home to Laurence Olivier. Decorated in a contemporary classic style and boasting a large verandah covered with huge parasols on which to enjoy views of the countryside as you dine, The White Horse is welcoming and unpretentious, with excellent, friendly service. The restaurants varied menu combines creativity with more traditional comfort style food using top quality local ingredients for a real flavour of your surroundings.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?