We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Dodworth Valley

Castle View, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3LF, England
+44 1226 291333
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good33%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“pork” (23 reviews)
“salmon” (28 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Castle View, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3LF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 691 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Food looked like it had been burnt or stood for hours meat was fatty , been a few times and had mixed reviews . Will never go back.rude staff food awful not fresh and Yorkshire should be renamed pancakes

Thank Happiness364735
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Good unbelievable food in carvery Carpets and fittings as bad as it gets filthy Should be closed down.

Thank Mariynmm
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Fabulous food and a great atmosphere. Definitely to be recommended. The decor and history is fascinating.

Thank Jennifer B
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Visiting from the USA I decided to meet friends at this restaurant , timing was good as we decided to meet for a Sunday lunch , location was ideal as it was directly off the M1 at Barnsley. I did read prior to my arrival...More

Thank PhilC01
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I go to the Toby when i want a good old roast dinner and i know that’s what i will get,and it’s good value for money The surroundings are pleasant with friendly staff,sometimes it’s hard to find a parking space,at busy times you have to...More

Thank barnsleylad2016
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Whilst travelling to The Holiday Inn down the road we spotted the Toby Carvery and decided that was where we would have our evening meal... On arrival the barmaid was rude and very disinterested in our order...first impressions count and it wasn't a good one....More

Thank JoLouE
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here on a Wednesday evening, large family group of 13 which was quickly accommodated HOWEVER a bar staff member (female) was extremely rude to several members of our party. Walking away from the bar mid order. The following items were all unavailable; Guinness, Brandy,...More

1  Thank Tinkerbobble
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at Toby Carvery Dodworth Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi there Tinkerbobble, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to us last night. I am very saddened to read that your experience wasn't a positive one. I am looking into the team members that were on the bar last...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called one evening with family to sample the carvery. The meat was plentiful alongside the vegetables. However, after waiting 10 minutes to be served we eventually got our meal. The vegetables were lukewarm which was a disappointment. The only thing hot was the boiling gravy....More

2  Thank Julia L
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Dodworth Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Julia L, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a family meal on the Sunday of bank holiday weekend. We booked in advance which was lucky as it was absolutely packed. I've been to a few Toby carvery's, but this one has to be the worst. The queue to be seated is...More

1  Thank 24Lee04
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Dodworth Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

24lee04, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. We are having a full refurb at the end of September as we are well over due. We hope you will give us another chance and maybe come and visit once...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me, my partner & our son were out bank holiday monday looking for somewhere nice to go for dinner, we decided on coming here as we know its normally nice, we had our table booked but upon arrival when we checked in we were told...More

1  Thank Kylezach
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Dodworth Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry to see this but thanks for leaving feedback. Sometimes we get it wrong however don't judge us on 1 bad visit, we hope to see you again in the future and show this is a one off.

Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
717 reviews
.05 miles away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
623 reviews
.32 miles away
The Fairway, Barnsley
444 reviews
.80 miles away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
791 reviews
1.26 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Shaws Fish and Chips of Dodworth
240 reviews
.28 miles away
Curry Mahal
131 reviews
.25 miles away
Travellers Inn
47 reviews
.88 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Barnsley Lamproom Theatre
96 reviews
1.33 miles away
Worsbrough Mill Museum & Country Park
154 reviews
1.42 miles away
Locke Park
109 reviews
1.18 miles away
The Cooper Gallery
61 reviews
1.49 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
29 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from 65Raven22 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Castle View, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3LF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Barnsley  >  Dodworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1226 291333
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing