We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Priory

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
+44 1275 376307
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 427: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Vintage Inns invariably have a pleasant, old fashioned atmosphere but I really think the catering has deteriorated in the last few years. A sign on the bar saying that an enthusiastic chef was wanted was not a promising sign. I had the Hunters Chicken which in truth didn't require the skill of a chef to produce. A chicken breast with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Hi, Richard, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I am sorry you had a bad experience with us, unfortunately our suppliers could not deliver the items that were out of stock and I am sorry that your father in law had to settle for something he did not want. There is no excuse for poor quality food,... More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a lunch on Tuesday. Restaurant was very busy but meals arrived in reasonable time. Nicely presented good food. Large meals. Pleasant surroundings.

Helpful?
Thank Joan C
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Joan. The Priory team More 

Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dinner arrived on table 5 minutes after ordering. Yorkshire pudding burnt. Carrots soggy mess. Gravy cold. Potatoes hard. Horrible experience for a Sunday dinner. Utter waste of money

Helpful?
Thank SABurton
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Priory, Portbury take our reviews very seriously. I am sorry that you had a bad experience with us, had you say sometime at the time or upon paying we would have fix the problem right away and make it right but if the first we know about... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice building and location. Staff were generally polite, but not particularly warming or friendly. Our salads were good, but I didn't rate the carrot cake cheesecake pudding which was really quite heavy and a little tasteless. I'd be happy to eat there again, but wouldn't go out of my way to do so.

Helpful?
Thank HDHT
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments. The priory team More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

sunday lunch here is always a treat, really nicely done, plenty of food, lovely real pub type atmosphere, roaring fire, perfect

Helpful?
Thank SammyL07
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Sammyl07, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback it is much appreciated and we are all glad you had a great Sunday lunch,We always love to receive great feedback. The Priory Team More 

Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly the place is expensive, and all 3 dishes ordered ( on a few occassions ) were awfull and cold. My roast had ONE slice of fatty beef that was only 1mm thick, 2 cold roast potatoes, Limp veg, horrible gravy etc and the other 2 peoples dishes were of a similar poor standard. This place does not desearve its... More 

Helpful?
Thank garylomas
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Hi Garylomas, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Priory, Portbury take our reviews very seriously , We are in the process of changing our supplier of beef and will be using Striploin in the near future . I am sorry you where not happy with the vegetables if we had been aware of this... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice location, smart decor, good food and friendly staff. What you would expect from this chain of pubs. Reasonable value.

Helpful?
Thank a R
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

A R, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Roast potatoes lovely. Yorkshire fine. Had the platter for two but the beef was very tough. Told staff. Met friends on the next table who also complained to staff about the beef. Slow service, appears to need more staff. Rest of the food was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Audrey T
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Audrey T, Thanks for your review and we regret that you had a issue with our beef on that particular Sunday, but are glad you brought this to our attention and we are planning over the next 2 weeks to change our beef supplier and are going to strip loin of beef for our Sunday roast. Thanks The Priory Team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been here twice recently, and the first visit prompted the second. The first was a business Christmas lunch mid December. The place was packed to the seams and, I think every table was taken. Despite this, the staff were quick and attentive, establishing which party we were with and where our table was, and organising drinks to be brought... More 

Helpful?
Thank jane c
General Manager A, General Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Jane C, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Priory, Portbury and we are glad that you have enjoyed both of your recent visits with us and we all hope to see you again in the near future. The Priory Team More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Hi Sunday lunch, all 3 main meals lukewarm, yorkshires so totally flat & soggy that it's impossible for the kitchen & serving staff not to know they had a problem prior to serving to their paying customer, roasties totally not crisp, gravy excellent, meat decent, Penfolds red wine by the glass on the cusp of turning Mentioned all of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank IainMc68
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Iainmc68, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. What you have described is not our usual standard and if this is what was served to you I am sorry. However we served 300 meal... More 

Travellers who viewed The Priory also viewed

Easton-in-Gordano, Somerset
Downend, Gloucestershire
 
Stoke Gifford, Gloucestershire
Weston-in-Gordano, Portishead
 

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Portbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 376307

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Priory staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?