We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hare and Hounds

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$25
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Read more
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hare and Hounds
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
100
28
6
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
100
28
6
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast chicken fajitas onion rings sandwich roast potatoes bread the pub weekday lunchtime perfect sunday lunch waitress service good sized portions warm welcome booked a table lovely food landlord lorraine harvey
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having only just discovered this establishment after moving into a nearby village almost a year ago, I can happily say that this really is my kind of pub. On my few visits here I have found the locals to be very friendly, the staff most...attentive and the landlord and landlady exceptionally friendly. The building itself is full of character, the Harvey’s ale on offer most drinkable and the food is first class. I personally like to go there of a weekday lunchtime and have a quiet pint or two of ale and a sandwich and I’m very happy to report that the latter are absolutely superb. If there’s one thing I enjoy in life it’s a good sandwich and that is guaranteed here. On the odd occasion we have sampled a hot meal here, my wife and I have both been extremely satisfied with the quality of the food and the service that the willing and friendly staff afford. As my wife is vegan she is not quite so easily catered for but the Hare & Hounds managed it in spades providing her each time with first class vegan cuisine. The landlord and landlady in my humble opinion run this pub as a pub should be run, in a friendly, accommodating and efficient manner, and obviously have a knack of employing staff who appreciate that the customer is paramount. Trust me, this place is well worth a visit!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was an off the cuff visit. Having passed the restaurant/ pub we were attracted to it’s warm welcome. Having checked the reviews prior, I was expecting the expected- the food was excellent, warm and generous. The staff too- the landlady and landlord were welcoming...and showed wonderful hospitality. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Lorraine C, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ah brilliant, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 10 April 2022

We had a Sunday roast with friends which was delicious….. best service by far, on a very busy sundayn

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 April 2022 via mobile

I was part of the 32 group of bikers that visited after having laid tribute to a fellow biker just down the road from the Hare and Hounds. Given the last few years the hospitality industry has had, you wouldn't have thought that a landlord...would turn down a very easy £160 minimum. We are a group of respectful bikers that were out paying our respects. As I live in Uckfield, I will be sure to never visit this establishment again. Such a shame as it took away from what was a very respectful and sensitive event.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Lorraine C, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2022

This was so unfortunate, especially under such tragic circumstances. It was a really busy Sunday lunch, we had a full restaurant and bar. We were already short staffed, but to try to cater for an additional 30+ people at that point would have been detrimental...More

Reviewed 4 April 2022

32 bikers popped in just after lunch time after visiting the accident site of a fellow biker member just down the road, we were told that there was no food available, which was fine as all we wanted was a drink, a packet of crisps...and a sit down after a long 2 hour ride. We were directed outside by the bar staff, who then came out to take our drinks order, five minutes later the same bar staff had been sent out by the landlord to advise us all, ‘sorry but I’m not going to be able to serve you’ we only wanted a drink ‘we only have one bar man on and so he’s told me to tell you that there are too many of you and so you can’t have anything’ To put your bar staff in this position is just awful the poor girl was mortified, after getting over the shock, we all just upped and left. We have never seen such poor service, poor management and disgusting customer service, all this took place infront of customers eating their roast dinners and I must say even they looked stunned! Needless to say the biker community will not be visiting again.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?2  
Lorraine C, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2022

This was so unfortunate, especially under such tragic circumstances. It was a really busy Sunday lunch, we had a full restaurant and bar. We were already short staffed, but to try to cater for an additional 30+ people at that point would have been detrimental...More

Reviewed 1 April 2022

We visited the village pub this afternoon after a family gathering in the churchyard for an interment. After a freezing ceremony in the snowy weather, we received a very warm welcome . The pre- ordered coffee and cakes were fabulous. The fire alight was lovely.The...service just right attentive but not too much . Thanks guysMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Lorraine C, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2022

It was entirely our pleasure. Hope to see you again soon under more pleasant circumstances. All the best Lorraine

Reviewed 17 March 2022 via mobile

I have just had the most amazing burger I’ve ever eaten, the Americana! All fresh ingredients and cooled perfectly, so many good flavours including a really nice smoky taste, burgers are normally just burgers but this was truly awesome and I’m not normally bothered by...onion rings but OMG these ones were so good. We will be back as we only live 10 mins away. A big shout out to the two guys serving they were so welcoming and professional. This place is a hidden gem!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Lorraine C, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2022

Ah brilliant, we are so pleased you enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 20 November 2021 via mobile

We visited this pub twice yesterday, once for coffee and then for lunch. It has bags of character and all the staff are so welcoming. The food was lovely and very reasonable. I would move to this village just to have this pub as my...local!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 October 2021

1st visit yesterday for a reunion lunch with my Father Brother & Cousin. It was brilliant, great food & marvellous staff . The pub has a great ambiance, it is cosy & friendly with a good bit of banter, we'll definitely be revisiting.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 31 August 2021

We ate here over the bank holiday with family. Parking is good. The staff are attentive, professional and helpful. The menu has a good selection with a specials board. The chicken sizzle wraps especially, are tasty and the portions are very generous. Service was quick...and the plates were hot. The atmosphere was comfortable but not boring. We did not feel hurried with our meal and the decor is interesting with lots of shabby chic items dotted around. The grandfather clock is wonderful. Would we come back - yes, definitely. Value for money and lovely food.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Buxted Park Hotel
1,963 reviews
1.62 miles away
East Sussex National
1,894 reviews
1.89 miles away
Horsted Place
432 reviews
1.97 miles away
Buffalo Bills
9 reviews
2.37 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Amira's Kitchen
366 reviews
1.45 miles away
The Highlands Inn
641 reviews
1.24 miles away
Hartfields
300 reviews
1.47 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Branching Out Adventures
82 reviews
2.90 miles away
The Lavender Line
97 reviews
3.35 miles away
Wilderness Wood
135 reviews
3.36 miles away
The Laughing Fish
34 reviews
3.37 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hare and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hare and Hounds

Yes, Hare and Hounds is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Hare and Hounds is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5