We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach at Edenfield

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 31/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 31/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$44
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
442
107
47
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
442
107
47
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger sunday roast pie lamb fish and chips mash pudding potatoes soup the pub lovely meal cooked to perfection nice decor family meal be visiting again couldn't do enough saturday evening
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Visited the Coach at the weekend with family and had a great time. We had pre-ordered most of our meal and everything came out perfectly, the wait staff were welcoming, attentive and really knew their stuff! I thought that it would be really busy for...a Saturday evening but it all felt safe and relaxed. My only slight criticism is the price of my main which I thought was a little high (£13.95 for 3 Cumberland sausages and mash). The food was great though and would definitely return!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago

What a fantastic place! Dan, Marc and their team are always there to greet you with a friendly smile. Nothing is too much trouble! Excellent food, excellent wine and also an extensive list of gin to choose from. The cocktails are also a must! Quiz...night is a really fun and lively night too! Definitely recommend!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
TheCoachAtEdenfield, Owner at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Katie Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We’re glad to have such lovely guest to fill our ‘fantastic place’ whether it be for the food, the cocktails, the atmosphere or our monthly Pub Quiz! We can’t wait to see you again soon...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely staff, lovely food, lovely atmosphere. Mark, Dan and all the staff are very welcoming and accommodating. Would highly recommend. Dogs welcome too!!!!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
TheCoachAtEdenfield, Owner at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jo It’s always a pleasure having you amongst us, thank you for your continued support and your lovely review. Was it Meda, our cocktail mistress, who made those sexy P*rnstarMartinis you have pictured by chance? She’ll be over the moon with the feedback. Rumble...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent food and a warm welcome is always on the menu at The coach. Our only problem is we go so much we could do with a change of menu for some variety. Only one criticism for me personally the veg could do with an...extra couple of minutes cooking.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
TheCoachAtEdenfield, Owner at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Julie Thank your your wonderful words. You’ll be happy to know that we are working tirelessly towards a brand new menu to help satisfy your choice plateau. We like to move with the times as you know, and this means not only seasonality but...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately, we must agree with a previous review and say that we were very underwhelmed by our meal at The Coach. The cost of the meals did not, in our opinion, reflect the quality that appeared on our plate - over £13 for sausage and...mash which was then inflated to over £16 when a side of veg was added - the 3 (small) sausages were dry and the potato just a couple of scoops of standard mash, the veg was cauliflower, broccoli and carrots in a small dish, bland and not £3 worth. Other meals were cheese and onion pie which was gloopy and gammon (which was tough) and eggs (which were underdone). We ate most of the meals as we were hungry and had paid for them, however, we did pass these comments on to the owner when we left. Perhaps we visited on a bad day?More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
TheCoachAtEdenfield, Owner at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello WorldWideTours Thank you for leaving us an informative review. We can’t apologise for being one of the best and cheapest venues in the valley. We like to make sure our guests are enjoying themselves throughout their experience, so when we asked you on a...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the Coach with my friend yesterday for a late lunch accompanied by my constant companion Jazz a yorkiepoo, We were met by a very friendly Rumble who is a very well behaved daschund. The gentleman that greeted us was very charming and professional and...made us feel very welcome. There was a good choice on the menu but we both went for the special salmon dish which was delicious and our starter of flatbread and humous also went down well and was homemade and very tasty. Would definitely visit again.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
TheCoachAtEdenfield, Owner at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Geraldine We greatly appreciate the positive feedback, thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We’d love to see you all again next time you’re in the area. All the best, Dan

Reviewed 15 August 2021

This was our first visit to the coach and walking in we were greeted by the happiest nicest man in the world! So rare these days to get such a lovely warm welcome into a place. I hope this never changes! We had the scotch...egg, calamari and the wasabi fritters. All were superb, I'd say our taste would have been stronger on the wasabi though they were still really nice. We had a beef dinner, coach burger and Thai burger, all again were superb, the Sunday dinner was exceptional, most places serve an average at best for Sunday dinner but the beef was pink, the gravy was tasty and the giant Yorkshire was spot on! Giant Yorkshires are usually dry and rubbish but this was perfect, crispy and chewy and soft inside! Brownies for pudding was icing on the cake! Our waitress was Imogen, lovely girl, great service, friendly. We will 110% be going back! Perfect end to the weekend! Great job Coach!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
TheCoachAtEdenfield, Owner at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi StaceyJade On behalf of the whole team including the chefs and of course Imogen we’d like to thank you for visiting and for leaving us a lovely review. We’re glad we added a memorable conclusion to your weekend and would love to see you...More

Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

My meal was excellent. I had Goujons and fries and j20. My Goujons were soft and crispy and my fries were salty and chewy also j20 was orange and passion fruit. And for my dessert oh it was fantastic I had 2 scoops of vanilla...ice cream and 1 scoop of strawberry ice cream with brownie bits and mini marshmallows on top. And my waiter was lovely and polite he has this lovely little sausage dog what is 2 years old. Any way the restaurant was fantastic.Jessica 8More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
TheCoachAtEdenfield, Owner at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aww, thanks for writing to us Jessica! Rumble the sausage dog will remember you next time you come in. He says thank you too. Make sure to come back for some ice cream any time! All the best, Dan

Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Superb food and excellent friendly service from all members of staff and most particularly Imogen who made our visit very enjoyable. I will certainly be coming back here again.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
TheCoachAtEdenfield, Owner at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Hi MarkoPolo Thank you so much for your praise, Imogen is certainly an asset to our team, we’re grateful for her fantastic service. I’ll be certain to pass on your wonderful words! We’ll see you again soon. All the best, Dan

Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

My wife and I ate here expecting no more than your usual average pub experience but what a surprise! .From the head waiter /manager ? Welcoming me by my first name when I informed him the time of our reservation everything from there was without...doubt the best dining experience we have had for years.We were shown to our table immediately then served by Imogen the most friendly and efficient waitress I have ever seen ,immediately on being seated asking us what drinks we wanted with out any wait despite the pub being already busy .The food was excellent way beyond pub grub this is top restaurant level food a real hidden gem this will definitely not be the last visit we make and already looking forward to visiting again soon .More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
TheCoachAtEdenfield, Owner at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2021

Hi Katt The best eating experience in years?! Wow! Thank you for such wonderful praise. We certainly anything but pub grub, it’s fantastic to know that you enjoyed your meals as well as the atmosphere and the service. We’d love to see you again soon....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Sykeside Country House Hotel
166 reviews
1.58 miles away
Best Western Bury Ramsbottom Old Mill Hotel
611 reviews
1.75 miles away
Red Hall Hotel
671 reviews
2.62 miles away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
873 reviews
5.03 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Drop Off Cafe
33 reviews
.01 miles away
Pearsons
58 reviews
1.45 miles away
The Cotton House
92 reviews
1.29 miles away
The Fisherman's Retreat
951 reviews
1.40 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cronkshaw Fold Farm
22 reviews
1.42 miles away
Helmshore Mills Textile Museum
144 reviews
1.70 miles away
Summerseat Players at the Theatre Royal
63 reviews
1.84 miles away
Holden Wood Antiques
97 reviews
1.92 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lauren99809
26 February 2019|
Answer
Response from TheCoachAtEdenfield | Property representative |
Hi Joe, We'd like to think that we can tailor a dish to most requests, should they be vegetarian or gluten free. Just let us know when you arrive and we'll look after you.
0
Votes
0SamanthaC
19 February 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheCoachAtEdenfield | Property representative |
We have full disability access throughout the establishment :)
0
Votes
0SamanthaC
19 February 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheCoachAtEdenfield | Property representative |
Hi Samantha, We are fully wheelchair accessible and we have a disabled toilet on the same level too. Let me know if I can help with anything else. Cheers Dan 01706825000
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Coach at Edenfield

Yes, The Coach at Edenfield is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Coach at Edenfield is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5