We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Knatchbull Arms

££ - £££
Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Stoke Hill | Stoke St Michael, Radstock BA3 5JJ, England
+44 1749 840354
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Radstock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Hi all, We, Dave & Jolanda, are the new landlord and landlady of this beautiful 17th century pub with a secret WW2 history. We are open every day from 12am and serve a simple but tasty menu from 12am - 2.30 pm and 5.30 pm - 8.30 pm from home cooked ham,egg & chips, 8oz beefburger & chips, bacon bap,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jolandacherritt
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2016

This 17th-century pub was in 1942 the venue for the largest secret assembly of high-ranking field marshals, generals and officers in the history of the country during wartime. Just thought you'd like to know that. We entered this very historic pub grubbily dressed in our gardening clothes on a Sunday lunchtime but realise that it didn't really matter. There was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-Snellgrove
Radstock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2015

My previous review was about a very disappointing New Years Eve. We haven't been back until last Saturday. We thought we aught to give them another chance. We found that it is now under new ownership. The menu is much better we had a really nice meal and the beer is better as they now have Butcombe. The décor is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
Peter D, Previous Owner at The Knatchbull Arms, responded to this review

Hi Martin hope you and your wife are well,the Management were the same on your previous visit but it was there first Christmas in running the pub.so maybe it was just a learning curve.I am so pleased that you have returned because they are making a good job of running the pub and i am sure that you will be... More 

Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Visited on a Sunday recently; it's a generally well maintained local pub. Quite quiet when we were there. Good value food - it's not the best food you'll ever have in a pub but won't cost you a fortune! Service was a little slow but it seemed like only one person in the kitchen/serving at the time.

Helpful?
Thank Charlie O
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Should have seen the signs. Even and unfriendly car park. Obstacle course of old battered plant pots and railway sleepers, abandoned all over the car park. And lots of signs telling you where not to park. Not a car in sight! Empty. Food was very poor. Café food but restaurant prices. New owners, should take a course on good customer... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank D D
Peter D, General Manager at The Knatchbull Arms, responded to this review

Hello I'm really sorry you felt like that ,as a small village pub we try and pride ourselves on good food and good service,as you can see with most of our reviews we have kept to that standard but i think you would appreciate that sometimes we like everyone else don't always get it right.. Please accept our apologizes and... More 

Messing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2015

A friend and I visited this pub on the off chance as we were in the area and the reviews looked positive. its a beautiful part of the world and this charming pub fits well in with the village. Unfortunately thats where the positive experience ended. The pub itself needs some serious work. Old tired decor, a very average uninspiring... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime M
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2015

We visited the Knatchball Arms last night for a few drinks and food. Upon arrival after traveling an hour from Bristol the eight of us were welcomed by Tony and Julie whom now are the new landlord and land lady of this very English quaint picture postcard public house. The atmosphere was excellent we even had a song from Tony.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kim P
Radstock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2014

I don't write negatives as a rule but I am fuming. We wanted to go to the Knatchbull because local country pubs are closing and we feel its an important part of the village. New year would be good there as an opportunity to meet other residents of Stoke St Michel. I phoned couple of days ago to check if... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Martin H
Shepton Mallet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

After spending the morning decorating, we were on our way from Oakhill to Frome when we found this pub. It was the middle of the afternoon on a bank holiday Monday, but they were serving food all day, and my dog was welcome too. I had a vegetable Thai curry which was absolutely delicious, and Chris had Hungarian goulash. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarahrt2
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The quality, the presentation and the taste of food was simply magic. You will be also impressed by the extreme clean chairs, tables and carpets which you don't often find in your local pub. Friendly environment situated in a little corner of paradise. I would hightly suggest to try the sirloin steak for only £12 cooked at perfection,the meat pie... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Marianna869

Travellers who viewed The Knatchbull Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Knatchbull Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Delivery
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stoke Hill | Stoke St Michael, Radstock BA3 5JJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Radstock
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 840354
Description
This is a very historic pub and has a lot of history especially towards the events of the WWII,which has been displayed in the pub.We offer Sky sports and BT Sport and free wi-fi, also on offer is a skittle alley and dart board.We have an extensive Thai and English menu and offer fantastic entertainment nights.The pub has been totally refurbished which makes it a warm friendly place to come and Drink, eat or to celebrate a special occasion in.Just take a look at the comments on trip advisor or go to our website to see what's on offer.We look forward to seeing you all soon.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Knatchbull Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Knatchbull Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?