We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Blackbird

££ - £££, British,
North Road | Ponteland, Ponteland NE20 9UH, England
+44 1661 822684
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (20 reviews)
“parfait” (3 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
North Road | Ponteland, Ponteland NE20 9UH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There were 11 of us on a Saturday lunchtime we arrived at 12.30 for 1pm. We were seated in the tunnel & beautiful light flooded the room from the leaded window, the building is full of character with its charming nooks and crannies! Not sure...More

Thank Janice H
stuart y, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Janice, so glad you enjoyed your birthday lunch, apologies for any delay we were extremely busy at the time of your visit. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With one or two reservations I would recommend a meal here.There is a wide and varied menu with good prices.We had excellent mains of pork and cod which were well presented.Sadly my vegetables were too al dente. The puds were tasty but my frangipane tart...More

Thank Barbara S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pleasant p, cosy surroundings and a good pub menu with good quality food. We enjoyed an impromptu meal here last week. Would go again.

Thank Alison S
stuart y, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alison, thanks for the feedback, hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very nice Sunday roast. Despite no record of our booking the manager sorted a table out quickly. Busy pub with good quality food.

1  Thank stuartamilligan
stuart y, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear stuartamilligan, we pleased we managed to sort your booking and that you enjoyed your lunch

Reviewed 13 October 2017

We have eaten Sunday lunch here a few times now and have never been disappointed. Always hot, always good quality and very generous portions. Service is excellent and lovely atmosphere in restaurant and pub. Just wish it was nearer to where we live!

Thank Wilfreda83
stuart y, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Wilfreda83, Thanks so much for the feedback, we hope you think we are worth the trip again soon

Reviewed 9 October 2017

We visited The Blackbird for drinks. It is a nice pub with a great atmosphere and friendly service. The pub is very spacious inside and has a wheelchair accessible disabled bathroom. There is one step leading into the pub but I didn't ask if there...More

Thank Bagus08
stuart y, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Bagus08, glad you enjoyed your visit, We do have an alternative means of access which is level should it be required.

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Visited at 5.40pm for food and ordered the fish sharing platter (available until 6pm). Ten minutes later and it arrived on a fish shaped wooden board. It consisted of mackerel and sting onion croquettes with a sweet chilli dip, smoked salmon and pickled cucumber, a...More

Thank janicehX3502IZ
stuart y, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear JanicehX35021Z, Thanks for the great review, so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your visit

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Called in on way from Morpeth via country roads. My wife had the prawn sandwich and I beer battered haddock and chips. Both dished were well proportioned and very tasty. Very pleasant lunch and I recommend it to anyone in the area. Pleasant staff and...More

1  Thank makem_10
stuart y, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Makem_10, glad to hear you and you wife both enjoyed your visit

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Well below standard, gravy watery ,meat wafer thin and vegetables tasteless ! Staff need more training and need to be taught the basics ,ie do not remove plates when people are still eating . Over charged for drinks (however this was quickly rectified by the...More

1  Thank Mitchy1969
stuart y, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Mitchy1969, We are both disappointed to read your review and rather surprised our beef (always locally reared Sirloin) has NEVER been cut wafer thin nor our gravy watery, and both are enjoyed by the many regulars who visit each Sunday, It almost sounds as...More

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Three weeks ago, we had nice lunch however this Sunday the lunch was extremely poor, beef was awful Yorkshires and roast potatoes un edible. The kitchen staff should know due to the amount of food going back from half-finished plates. We were celebrating a birthday...More

1  Thank Platinum78pt
stuart y, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Platinum78pt, Whilst we are pleased you enjoyed your previous visit we are disappointed to read you review of your latest visit, our beef has been carefully selected and we only use the same local Hadrians Heritage Sirloin each week (for which our many regulars...More

Nearby Restaurants
Branches Restaurant, Bar and Grill
242 reviews
.13 miles away
Ristorante Fratelli
660 reviews
.17 miles away
The Badger
949 reviews
.99 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens
408 reviews
2.81 miles away
Northumbria Helicopters
36 reviews
2.94 miles away
Delta Force Paintball Newcastle
108 reviews
4.41 miles away
The Blackbird
43 reviews
.01 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Carol M
17 November 2017|
Response from Andy P | Reviewed this property |
The Blackbird doesn’t do accommodation. But the Diamond Inn around the corner does. About £100 a night I think
Trond L
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from stuart y | Property representative |
Hi Yes we allow dogs in the bar area
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from stuart y | Property representative |
We are, with kids menus and colouring competitions
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$33
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 00:30
11:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: North Road | Ponteland, Ponteland NE20 9UH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Ponteland
  • Phone Number: +44 1661 822684
  • E-mail
We are the leading pub in terms of Real Ales in the area. We have the accreditation from Cask Marque and are in the Good Beer Guide. Our food is cooked using fresh ingredients and to the highest standard. We have top quality chefs who have exacting standards. our car park is also a popular dogging venue. Please come and visit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing