We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Chinese, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (140)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
64
35
14
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
64
35
14
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese restaurant bank holiday thank you for a lovely delicious meal food was lovely takeaway december menus
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointing. We were actually looking for a replacement for The Jasmine Garden; this won't be it. Soft shell crab to start, were OK. But then the rest of the order came up all together with no table heater, so within minutes everything had grown...cold. No-one else was there, so lacked any atmosphere. The food was mediocre. The mixed seafood selection at £15.00 was unpleasant and dominated by squid. All the meal was like something straight out of a supermarket packet. In particular, very, very annoying is that the so called 'crispy' duck, was just small chunks of duck meat with fatty un-crisp skin! Maybe I should complain to Trades Description! This particular un-crisp dish seems to be an increasingly common problem with Chinese restaurants now. We would never go back. A waste of calories and cash £80 + Access to the restaurant is up a flight of steep stairs. Not good for elderly or disabled.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2023

We asked the waitress if the Thai Green Curry was spicy and was told that it wasn’t. This was extremely spicy and we could not eat it. The crispy duck was not crispy instead fatty skin without any duck meat. Complained to the waitress who...said that the kitchen was busy !!! A lady manager came over and was very rude and said that Thai Green Curry is always spicy, when we advised we were told the waitress she said it wasn’t and started raising her voice. She also said that Duck is fatty and that is the way it is, we said there was no duck meat just fatty skin and again she raised her voice and wasn’t interested. Absolutely awful customer service and food. It’s s shame it used to be excellent service and food.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2023 via mobile

Takeaway Chinese. Not much to add. Good service. To my taste the food lacked seasoning (salt). But I liked that it was ready for collection when we arrived.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2023 via mobile

Was the best Chinese restaurant/takeaway for a 20 mile radius for decades. My parents used to do a 40 mile round trip to go here in the 1970’s. Was good until about 2015. Now always get orders wrong. Staff not bothered and very rude. Food...is now well below average. I’ve now lived in Lenham 23 years, and frequented the restaurant/takeaway on a weekly basis. I’ll never go there again. Crap food and Incompetent and rude staff. It’s really such a shame that restaurant has gone so down hill. I mean, really down hill ! Avoid !!!!!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2023

Despite variable reviews, we still have faith in Chopsticks & Bowl restaurant and we were not disappointed with our meal or the service. My advice is don't just rely on the reviews and try it out.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2023 via mobile

We decided to try a different restaurant as the one we used previously had changed chef and was not as good. Sadly we won’t be using chopsticks and bowl again either. The food was average at best, tasted as if it was full of sugar...and salt. It is by no mean awful but just did not taste as fresh as I know Chinese / Cantonese food can be. Very averageMore

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2023

Just phoned to confirm a booking for an anniversary, only to be told the Boss decided to shut the restaurant. As this booking was made three weeks ago, where was the phone call telling us not to turn up. Some poor chap in takeaway had...to struggle to explain. Such a shame that such a good restaurant is run by such bad management. Have thrown away all their menus and wont be returning. Have ordered a takeaway from somewhere else. Absolutely disgusting.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2023 via mobile

We came on 30th December to have dinner with friends and enjoyed the most attentive service and delicious food. We will be back, thank you for a lovely evening!

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2022

We’ve visited twice. The first time the service and food was lovely - in fact the portions were so big and delicious we had a table full of recommendations from the waiters and throughly enjoyed it. The second time we decided to bring family back...with us. The service was absolutely shocking. The woman who was taking orders was extremely rude and disrespectful to customers. Once customers requested her meat was cooked more thoroughly and the waitress proceeded to shout at her and then involve other customers which was really appalling. Although the food was okay, it definitely ruined the moment. It’s based on that experience we wouldn’t go back. I’d hoped it was an isolated incident but looking at other reviews, I’m not sure it is. There was plenty of staff around, perhaps this server is better back of house.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2022 via mobile

We have been regular visitors here for several years and never been disappointed Anna and the staff are always friendly and welcoming putting us at ease and the restaurant is smart and clean The food is consistently delicious and good value for money

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tan, Owner at Chopsticks and Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2022

Very Very great to hear that! It is our pleasure to serve you. Welcome you back in soon future!

Reviewed 20 September 2022 via mobile

Have been visiting for many years - this Chinese restaurant never fails to deliver. Always a warm welcome, friendly staff and good value for money.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tan, Owner at Chopsticks and Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2022

We always do our best to serve local customer. We will maintain the best quality and welcome you back in soon future!

Reviewed 19 August 2022

We had a delicious meal today, with the wonderful service we expect. Our Sizzling Griddled Prawns in garlic butter was sensational, such a great blend of tastes and textures. Terrific value for the cost and the service was as efficient, friendly and faultless as always....Always a pleasure here.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tan, Owner at Chopsticks and Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2022

Sizzling dishes are one of our signature. We are very grateful to hear that you enjoy the dinner! We welcome you back in soon future!

Reviewed 3 April 2022

Sometimes its good and sometimes it's bad,sometimes there rude sometimes there not ,get more staff on busy nights that might helpMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tan, Owner at Chopsticks and Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2022

Sorry during the covid period that we lacking of stuff that may caused delay for your dinner. We would apologise to you if we caused any unpleasant to you. In normal situation we offer very good service and delicous foods. Hope to see you back...More

Reviewed 3 January 2022

Was giving a tour of the local village to a friend who has recently moved to the area when we spotted the restaurant appeared open. We thought this was fantastic considering we didn't expect this, given it was a bank holiday. Upon enquiring if we...could book a table, it was explained to us the restaurant wasn't actually open, however they were kind enough to open the restaurant up just for us, a fantastic experience and reaffirms my opinion that the service here is amazing and the staff outstanding. Our complements to the lady who served us and the chef for both taking the time out to feed us, we're very grateful. Highly recommend this restaurant, the food is fantastic!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2021

Not had a takeaway from here for a while and was not disappointed. Really nice food at a reasonable price. Spare ribs were good along with the chicken Chow mien, seaweed and crispy fried beef. Will be returning.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Dog & Bear Hotel
507 reviews
.06 miles away
Chilston Park Hotel
1,327 reviews
1.21 miles away
The Harrow Inn
143 reviews
1.85 miles away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
1,807 reviews
4.62 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bow Window Cafe
323 reviews
.09 miles away
The Square Fish Cafe
265 reviews
.07 miles away
Dog & Bear Hotel Restaurant
319 reviews
.06 miles away
The Red Lion
191 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St Mary's Church Lenham
32 reviews
.05 miles away
The Park Gate Inn Bar
57 reviews
3.82 miles away
Go Ape Leeds Castle
347 reviews
3.86 miles away
Process Gallery
13 reviews
1.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
leamath1310
21 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from leamath1310 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, thought I was messaging the restaurant! 😳 thank you for letting me know ☺️
0
Votes
eviesp2015
22 August 2015|
Answer
Response from 185,170,665 | Property representative |
Hi, sorry we do not do deliveries currently, if you wish you can place an order over the phone for collection at you’re convienience.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CHOPSTICKS AND BOWL, Lenham - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chopsticks and Bowl

Yes, Chopsticks and Bowl offers takeaway services.

Chopsticks and Bowl is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3