We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hopwood House Inn

££ - £££, British,
Redditch Road, Hopwood B48 7AB, England
+44 121 445 1716
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good30%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (26 reviews)
“hopwood house” (48 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Redditch Road, Hopwood B48 7AB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 606 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Great place to meet up for a meal. Not been for many years but we were pleasantly surprised. Very busy at lunch time and were warned about the 45 minute wait but the food soon arrived. Pie and desert offer today which was great Lost...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Europa101
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We visited for a birthday lunch, staff were very friendly and nothing was a bother. Food portions were very good and I asked what option peas I would like with my fish and chips which I am always pleased with. We will return if ever...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jessica T
NigelT530, General Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you - please come see us again when your in the area .

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a regular patron of the Hopwood House in general everything is ok except one thing. Why do some smokers insist on standing immediately outside of either of the entrance doors? If you want to smoke, fine, don’t inflict it on me!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank brucef389
NigelT530, General Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you - I fully agree , unfortunately there are those guests who do insist on smoking in areas were there is signage stating not to smoke . For future reference, ask the duty manager to speak to them, I can assure you that Sharon...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me, my wife and daughter went for a meal there. Me and my wife are vegan our daughter isn't. It can be problematic to find somewhere that caters for us all. The hopwood has loads of vegan options. It's so refreshing to eat somewhere with...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Darren F
NigelT530, Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are as a company trying to promote a variety of options for all our guests . It’s reallly encouraging . I will pass your comments on to Steph & the team . Thank you and we hope to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a birthday lunch... never been before but will definitely be back again! Lots of choice, vegetarian and vegan menus amazing! Steph was lovely, please pass on our thanks! Lovely afternoon out

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank RachelL527
NigelT530, Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments. I will pass on your Thanks to Steph & it’s great that you had an enjoyable visit .

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The quality of the food is still very good but the portion sizes have reduced significantly since the new menu was released. The bannoffee sundae appeared to us to be a child's measure and anything that was offered with your meal (onion rings/ eggs) was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank mikeyt756
NigelT530, Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, but all meals are served to company specifications and as described in the menu with both carb options and sides included. We always ask guests if any extra sides are required but these are at an additional cost if not...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on 10th November at last minute, we were greeted and shown to a table straight away, we had drinks served to us whilst we looked at what food we wanted to order. We ordered our food and it was on the table within 25...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Paula E
NigelT530, Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

A welcoming venue well overseen by Sharon and Nigel. Steak was very good and there is a really good choice of ales.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank m8pearson
Nigel T, Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you , we hope to see you again soon .

Reviewed 31 October 2018

Visited here for the first time in a few years. When we came a while ago it wasn't that good so we thought we would give it another go. It was very busy when we went, so this may have had an impact. Service was...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Mary O
Nigel T, Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

So sorry that you didn’t enjoy your visit. Should you wish to contact us direct please do so on 01214451716.

Reviewed 30 October 2018

We ate here a year ago and felt it rather "ordinary" and pretty poor service. This time however we experienced (at a very busy time) really good service whilst our racks of ribs were hot and tasty. Good value dishes too. We will return.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Graham P
Nigel T, Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you - we hope to see you again soon .

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Westmead Hotel
768 reviews
.39 miles away
Ward Arms
1 review
.97 miles away
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel
589 reviews
2.01 miles away
Hillscourt
117 reviews
2.32 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Hopwood Park
26 reviews
.67 miles away
Starbucks
14 reviews
.73 miles away
Deli Hub By Kababish
43 reviews
.97 miles away
Nearby Attractions
ABC Boat Hire
290 reviews
1.83 miles away
Transport Museum Wythall
109 reviews
2.61 miles away
Blackwell Golf Club
8 reviews
2.94 miles away
F1K Indoor Karting Ltd West Midlands
15 reviews
3.33 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
I956SPhelenm
2 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Sean D | Reviewed this property |
There was a water bowl for dogs on the canal side seating area today not sure if dogs would be allowed inside but will be outside on the seating area. Nice people give them a call Enjoy your visit
0
Votes
Tony G
3 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tony G | Reviewed this property |
Apologies Ron H, it wasn't meant for you... we got very frustrated with our response from the manager and replied in error to yourself. Apologies again....
0
Votes
Carolyn W
13 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HayleyW417 | Reviewed this property |
This must be a recent problem as I've never experienced poor food here. I've always visited on a lunchtime and there is ten of us as we stop off on a barge day trip. I hope the management read your review and resolve the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$16
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Redditch Road, Hopwood B48 7AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Worcestershire  >  Hopwood
  • Phone Number: +44 121 445 1716
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing