We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Arkle Manor

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Reigate Road, Betchworth RH3 7HB, England
+44 1737 842110
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 489: English reviews
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great atmosphere, wonderful food and attentive service. Our table was booked for 7.30 pm .... the restaurant seemed fairly full but not hectic. There was a special 3-course menu, with fabulous choices to suit all tastes. The food was delicious and cooked to perfection. The waiting staff were extremely good. A perfect evening!!

Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
ArkleGM, Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear Lynda, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you had a perfect evening and hope you will visit us again. Best Wishes, More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

After speaking to the bar staff who are not very attentive to say the least. We were told we could order from the set menu main course only, at the normal menu prices. We sat down in the dining room and were told that we had to pay £16.95 (as all main courses were price at the rate) for something... More 

Helpful?
Thank eelkt
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having just caught up with family and friends I found myself passing by the Arkle Manor Pub on my way to the airport for my return trip home to Australia. This was a pub that in its many different guises over the years had served me well in my youth and through parenthood and I am pleased to say that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
ArkleGM, General Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear Sandra B, Thank you for your kind comments. We wish you all the best and hopefully we see you here again... Kind Regards, The Arkle Manor More 

Winchester - UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This review is based entirely on the spit-roasted chicken on the menu. It was SO dry that it was completely inedible. Unfortunately, I was on business and my colleague paid the bill, so I could not make a fuss or complain at the time. I felt ill for the rest of the day. The actual pub was lovely and beautifully... More 

Helpful?
Thank emmachisit2009
ArkleGM, Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thanks for your review. We take all feedback seriously and try to learn from our mistakes. Our complaints process is channelled through head office to us and as of yet I haven't received any correspondence from yourself, as soon as this lands on my desk I will be in contact. Our spit roast chicken is our most popular... More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are occasional visitors to the Arkle. It has a lovely atmosphere, is always welcoming and central to meet up. We met up for a girls night and as said we were welcomed and left to make up our minds over the menu. Drinks ordered and quickly delivered. The special was Sea Trout and I fancied that. My friend also... More 

Helpful?
Thank ANGELA B
ArkleGM, Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thanks for your kind words about the good things we do. Obviously a big negative on our part with your Sea Trout. Please assured we follow strict food safety policies in our business, however this time somewhere along the line we have failed and I apologise for that. We have daily deliveries of fresh fish and this should... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came here for lunch with a friend and we ordered starters of calamari, wings and then we both went for the trio roast! It was amazing! We did not have to wait more than expected for our food. The portion size was great. The prices were mid range. The staff were friendly and gave great customer service! Definitely a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
ArkleGM, General Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear Sandra D, Thank you for your kind words. We are extremely happy that you had a very enjoyable Sunday lunch at The Arkle Manor. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Kind Regards, The Arkle Manor Team More 

London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great deal at £25 for 3 coarses & very good quality bottle of Spanish Rioja or New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc both nearly worth the cost of the meal! Starters Portobello mushrooms & Somerset Brie with a delightful chutney. Mains the roast salmon is scrumptious & the Vegetarian pie very filling! We shared a Glazed Lemon Tart as Dessert & you... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikey393
ArkleGM, General Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear mikey393, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us. Our Midweek Treat Offer is very popular with our guests and we look forward to your next visit with us. Kind Regards, The Arkle Manor Team More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good menu that's not too complicated, but plenty of choice. Decor is lovely, there's enough space between tables with a separate bar area if you just want a drink or you're waiting for your table. The team are very flexible and happy to adapt items to cater for particular dietary needs. Good for the whole family. Two of our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
ArkleGM, General Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear Melissa S, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your last visit at The Arkle Manor. We always try to make each visit special for our guests and we are always happy to help. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Arkle Manor Team More 

Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Met up with friends who suggested dinner here after the refurbishment. I'd never been before but had heard good things about it. I wasnt disappointed. Very good menu selection. Good size portions, great value for money and most importantly everything was delicious. Have already booked for Mothers day.

Helpful?
Thank Clare H
ArkleGM, General Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear Clare H, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your last visit at The Arkle and we are looking forward to meeting you on Mother's Day. Kind Regards, The Arkle Manor Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The last few times I've been with friends it's been so noisy you can hardly hear yourself speak. It's a great place and the food is fine but unless you ask for a table tucked away (hopefully they won't forget you) it gets too busy. Lots of families take children, or there are often stag groups or hen parties starting... More 

Helpful?
Thank 733londongirl
ArkleGM, Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear 733londongirl, Thanks for your review. We are a busy and family friendly pub restaurant and sometimes the 'atmosphere' can get a little louder. We try to manage our restaurant and keep tables with younger children together, so our other diners aren't interrupted. Im not sure about hen & stag parties, our pub isn't generally the place for these as... More 

Travellers who viewed The Arkle Manor also viewed

 
Betchworth, Surrey
 

Been to The Arkle Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Reigate Road, Betchworth RH3 7HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Betchworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1737 842110

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Arkle Manor staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?