We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sparking Clog

Claimed
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Part of Marston's brewery. We are a local community pub that serves pub grub with a fresh pizza kitchen too. We have daily deals with food and drink as well as monthly entertainment at weekends
PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$13
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Pizza
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Buffet, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
67
43
29
46
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
67
43
29
46
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza oven friendly atmosphere served quickly be visiting again food was lovely brandon
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here while over with family, ordered drinks, decided what we wanted to eat and ordered food. Food took around 45 minutes, when it got to us it was cold, unpresentable, minimum chips, over cooked meat, hard bread bun. We ordered fish and chips,...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank OJNesfield
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi OJ Thanks for the response. The wait was advised at the time of ordering. We have already contacted yourself directly to apologise for the meals on a couple of occasions. A full refund was given and a complimentary round of 4 drinks was given...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Leah what an absolute credit to the team can handle more than 1 order at a time absolutely lovely personality n so pleasant made me feel so comfortable at the bar absolutely amazing at her job absolute credit to the team thank you so much...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Mark W
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for such a lovely review for Leah. She works incredibly hard and it's lovely for the team to get the recognition they deserve

Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile

We’ve been here twice in the last 6 weeks, food is amazing (burgers to die for) Great fast service Will definitely be coming back soon

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Gail L
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the food :) We have a new menu launch on the 13th Feb with even more great burgers! Thanks again

Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

On paper the menu talks a good talk; however the quality of the food was extremly poor and disappointing. my advice, which I wished I took.....avoid if you're going for food!More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank sammospencer
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thanks for taking time to give us a review. Sorry you were disappoitned, did you let a member of staff know that you had any problems to give us a chance to rectify before leaving? We take all feedback on board and letting us know...More

Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

It was very busy but managed to get a seat. We where told there was a 30mins waiting time. We waited 45mins before asking where the food was. Was told being plated up. 15mins later still waiting. Asked again, was brought out after that. The...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank joeches1
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thanks for the understanding with a busy service. Glad the food was worth the wait and hopefully next time we will get it out faster for you.

Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Very poor menu and poor quality food. Will not be going back. Got mac and cheese as the menu had nothing else I liked on it and what came out was bland pasta. Ages waiting for food desert was bad to as got a hot...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank J4423QJamandag
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thanks for the review. We are receiving a new menu mid Feb. Unfortunately we are not allowed to season the mac n cheese in the kitchen. I hope you told your server that the dessert did not come out hot as advertised as they would...More

Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

Waited 50 minutes for the food to be served at the table the quality of meals were poor and the staff appeared to be overworked or understaffed.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Geoff W
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thanks for the review . I hope you were told of a wait when ordering food at the bar as this should have been communicated to you. I'm sorry the meals were not up to your standard and hopefully you can give us another go...More

Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

Group of 26 friends met for lunch and had a fantastic time! Food was lovely, service great, I'll be back!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank INEKEBolton
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Glad you enjoyed your Xmas meals with us!

Reviewed 4 December 2018

26 friends met for lunch today to enjoy the Festive 3 course menu. Fabulous!!!!!! Food well presented and cooked to perfection. Service excellent. And not one complaint from 26 people! Would recommend. Thanks to all the staff for a great lunch.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank suekilby
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thanks for the feedback. The staff work extremely hard and I'm glad they worked so well with such a big booking during normal service too

Reviewed 28 November 2018 via mobile

Marvellous food, very busy but staff work very hard to serve everybody fairly as possible! Food was typical pub food and you pay for what you get! A definite place to pop in if your passing by!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank le_hw2016
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thanks for the review. The food is typical pub grub and the staff are a credit !

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
726 reviews
2.58 miles away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
500 reviews
2.66 miles away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
1,197 reviews
2.79 miles away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
817 reviews
3.12 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 36 nearby restaurants
Shahbaaz
150 reviews
.03 miles away
the cafe
27 reviews
.89 miles away
Cuppaccino Bistro
47 reviews
.82 miles away
Spice Cottage
69 reviews
.36 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 9 nearby attractions
The Hare and Hounds - Stoneclough
11 reviews
1.79 miles away
Farnworth Little Theatre
8 reviews
2.15 miles away
Clifton Country Park
24 reviews
2.49 miles away
Radcliffe Tower
9 reviews
1.93 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lorenzo237
9 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from le_hw2016 | Reviewed this property |
We allow them in the bar area or we have a sheltered smoking area!
0
Votes
Ste F
10 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Hannah C | Property representative |
Hi, we don't actually open for breakfast. we open at 11.30 everyday and serve food from 12. we do have an all day breakfast on the menu too
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing