We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms

Is this your business?
46 High Street, New Forest, Lymington, England
+44 1590 645558
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good38%
  • Average7%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (11 reviews)
“panini” (7 reviews)
“cake” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Cafe, British
46 High Street, New Forest, Lymington, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for an early afternoon tea. Large plate of scones, cream and jam. Unfortunately the scone was under cooked and spoilt the experience. Owner hid out the back and was unfriendly to customers and the staff.More

Thank Dave_from_the_UK
Mr S P, Owner at Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello. I am sorry you felt the scone was undercooked. We have a great reputation for our home made scones. Did you raise this with the serving staff immediately for action? We would have replaced it with a new one or an alternative cheese scone...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly service but lemon cake n shortbread very disappointing.Lemon cake was dry and tasteless. Shortbread ok but not great. Got them to take home and ate same day, as had ice-cream whilst there and that was nothing spectacular.More

Thank tripamw2018
Mr S P, Owner at Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Oh dear. We are very sorry. I am not sure why this occurred. We will investigate fully and take necessary action. I hope you will try us again and would like another chance. Thank you for posting the review. Our icecream is the well regarded...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After receiving a very friendly and helpful service, we were very disappointed with the quality of cake. Tasteless and stale lemon cake though it looked good. Also had an ice cream but this too was below par. Eating out reasonable prices but eating in wasn’t...More

Thank Mgt25
Mr S P, Owner at Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Very sorry to hear you had a poor experience. Rest assured it will be investigated to take appropriate action. I note there are two poor reviews for yesterday for the same food items. Are you part of the same family? As mentioned the icecream is...More

Reviewed 15 April 2018

Called in with my daughter as our first choice was full. Hadn't been in for years and had forgotten how dated and dark the place is. The menu is pretty boring, and the staff ignored us for a while - we certainly weren't made to...More

Thank caramel44
Mr S P, Owner at Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi. Sorry you did not enjoy the ambience. We are a traditional Tearoom which would maybe explain why you felt it was dark, or it may have been a dark day. The meals are as described in the menu, but we do accommodate requests for...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

On arrival we were told that jacket potatoes aren’t served after 2 o’clock and that other hot foods aren’t served after 2:30 pm. With this knowledge we changed our plans and decided to eat hot food else where but come back later to have cream...More

Thank ottersEM
Mr S P, Owner at Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello. I am so sorry. I am not sure what happened here. We have some new waitresses they may have been confused as to cut offs for lunch? You don't indicate which day this was so l can track who was on duty. Jackets and...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Went to Polly's a few days ago as we were on holiday and walked past a few times and thought it looked quaint. I'm a coeliac and was thrilled they had gluten free options asvertised but inside the waitress said they had no gluten-free bread,...More

2  Thank Alexia0908
Mr S P, Owner at Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Very sorry. Not sure why we underperformed on your visit. I will follow up on your points. We advertise only gluten free cakes and soya milk. We do not currently advertise or stock gluten free bread. l am sorry there were no home made scones...More

Reviewed 10 April 2018

We wanted a quick lunch during our stop at Milford on sea. We spotted the tea rooms. We were quickly seated. We ordered ham and cheese pannini, jacket with tuna and a sausage roll. There wasn't any ham, tuna or sausage rolls, which I found...More

Thank crischapman
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We called in on a cold wet lunchtime. There were not many people in there and three people working. We waited about half an hour for our order to arrive - soup and baguettes. The soup was very average but the baguettes were delicious -...More

Thank Talbotgreen
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Stopped here for a cup of tea and a piece of cake whilst cycling in the area. Looked cute. Very very old-fashioned inside. A bit warm and steamy. Felt pressured by the waiting staff who looked ready to pounce at any second. It was OK....More

Thank LondonWickedWendy
Reviewed 9 December 2017

We visited almost every day for the week we were in Milford on Sea for a takeaway tea or coffee, plus a slice of gluten free cake. It was very popular with the locals and delivery drivers to the area who all seamed to copy...More

Thank Dennis W
Nearby HotelsSee all Milford on Sea Hotels
South Lawn Hotel
648 reviews
.65 miles away
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) Hotel
398 reviews
2.85 miles away
Stanwell House Hotel
1,725 reviews
3.18 miles away
The Mayflower
295 reviews
3.23 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cedar Tree Restaurant
260 reviews
.63 miles away
Verveine Fishmarket Restaurant
814 reviews
.09 miles away
La Perle
767 reviews
.02 miles away
The Cave
272 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hurst Castle
981 reviews
.04 miles away
The New Forest Paddle Sport Company
31 reviews
.01 miles away
Lymington Yacht Haven
91 reviews
3.15 miles away
Collwell Bay
135 reviews
3.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46 High Street, New Forest, Lymington, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest  >  Lymington  >  Milford on Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1590 645558
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing