We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

Is this your business?
££ - £££, British,
16 Keyhaven Road | Milford on Sea, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QY, England
+44 1590 641445
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (8 reviews)
“beef” (8 reviews)
“fish pie” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16 Keyhaven Road | Milford on Sea, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018

We rented the cottage opposite the pub and made the decision to come across the road for a quick pint after a long drive. On entering the pub we were greated with a smile and made to feel really welcome. The beer is good and...More

2  Thank rhys01234
Sarah O, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hiya rhys01234, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit, your beer and your food. Hopefully you will come and join us again soon. Sarah

Reviewed 5 March 2018

The Smugglers were full so we moved to here. I wanted the White Horse Burger but the chef did not follow the menu and I ended up with a single cheese burger and not the double cheese and bacon burger. Mentioned this to the owner/manager...More

Thank CJ-BurgessHill
Sarah O, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hello CJ-BurgessHill, Thank you very much for your review. I want to apologise once again for the mix up. The chef was given a written check for a traditional burger which he made, unfortunately it was the wrong menu item, but I'm glad you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Very pleased to recommend a celiac friendly, very hospitable pub restaurant that served our party of 6 an excellent and filling Sunday lunch. If you like puddings then forego the excellent starters. We could only manage two courses. The baked brie was exceptional and the...More

1  Thank Swansswimmer
Sarah O, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hello Swansswimmer, Firstly I would like to thank you for joining us on Sunday, I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your visit. We always try and do as much as possible for celiacs as they obviously want delicious food too, so I am...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018

Thought we would try the White Horse as it's our Closest pub . We had a look at the menu on the way back from the village today and it looked tasty..Checked out the latest reviews and looked encouraging. Popped in tonight and had a...More

1  Thank Patrick H
Sarah O, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hello Patrick H, Thank you so much for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and no doubt you being so close we will see you again soon. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you agian soon.

Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Stopped off here after a long walk on the beach to Hurst Castle. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Had a Sunday Roast which was delicious and gigantic! My other half was defeated but staff boxed it up for her. Very much recommended.More

Thank Morgan W
Sarah O, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hello Morgan W, Thank you so much for your lovely words. We are glad we could be a welcomed rest for you and your partner on your long walk back from Hurst Castle, its a lovely walk however does tire you out a touch. I...More

Reviewed 22 February 2018

Is it a case of here we go again? Three tenants in as many years will always give those that succeed a higher mountain to climb. The signs however, are promising. This pub has been serving food since Valentines day and it would seem that...More

1  Thank John W
Sarah O, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hello John W, I would like to take the time to thank you for your review. We are trying to keep our menu a lot smaller so as to keep things fresh, and you are very right, we don't want Kieran falling asleep at the...More

Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

This is the second time we have tried dinner at the white horse since it has been taken over by a lovely kind family Sarah and Louis. I took my brother out for dinner and had the full rack of ribs and the pizza ,...More

Thank jmantock
Sarah O, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hello jmantock, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. Both myself Louis, Kieran and Emma ( and Karen and Graham when they can get here) all work very hard to make this pub a friendly warming and homely...More

Reviewed 16 February 2018

Our lunch was excellent. I had chicken wrapped in Parma ham on dauphinoise potatoes with fried green vegetables, my wife had lemon sole with crushed potatoes. Definitely not your standard pub grub! The mains menu only had about five items but so what if they...More

Thank BrianBournemouth
Sarah O, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hello BrianBournemouth, I want to thank you whole heartedly for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit here at the White Horse and I'm happy to see you want to tell others about it. We try and keeps things as fresh as...More

Reviewed 20 October 2017

The white horse has changed hands a few times over the last few years so i thought id go along and try it out with the new landlord in place. On arrival i was warmly greeted by the staff and nothing seemed to much hassle....More

1  Thank Ross W
Paul R, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thanks for a great review.

Reviewed 21 August 2017

Excellent food,cooked to order but well worth the wait with great,friendly staff.Good value too.Dogs welcome in this cosy pub with great outside dining and really nice ,inviting covered area for smokers.

Thank Caroline G
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Milford on Sea Hotels
South Lawn Hotel
618 reviews
.72 miles away
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) Hotel
393 reviews
2.97 miles away
Stanwell House Hotel
1,713 reviews
3.12 miles away
The Mayflower
288 reviews
3.15 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Verveine Fishmarket Restaurant
801 reviews
.07 miles away
The Cedar Tree Restaurant
247 reviews
.70 miles away
La Perle
751 reviews
.15 miles away
The Cave
267 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hurst Castle
968 reviews
.12 miles away
Lymington Yacht Haven
87 reviews
3.06 miles away
Braxton Gardens
138 reviews
.96 miles away
Collwell Bay
134 reviews
2.94 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
susan652014
22 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sarah O | Property representative |
We only do roast dinners on a Sunday. We are happy to swap things around so that the Children will eat it, however we dont have chicken nuggets and chips at all on our menu. Apologies
1
Vote
Thalia-22-12
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from patpinwb | Reviewed this property |
I thought this pub had closed down. You can bring dogs the last time we went in.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Television, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Keyhaven Road | Milford on Sea, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest  >  Lymington  >  Milford on Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1590 641445
  • E-mail
Description
From our family to yours welcome to The White Horse. We are a grade 2 listed building, but the charm does not stop there! With an Open fire, a welcoming and friendly team, and great food we are a great place to eat in Milford on Sea. With a range of food from Sunday Roasts to Fish & Chips, to the White Horse Burger to Ham Hock terrine, we cook traditional 'pub grub' with a twist. So why not give us a go, book your table now! Give us a call or drop us an email which ever is easier for you. We look forward to seeing you soon!!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing