We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Clynnog Road, Llandwrog LL54 5DY, Wales
+44 1286 832691
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Newborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Staff are lovelly and the manageress is extremelly friendlly and welcoming! Tried the cottage pie was beautiful!! And my daughter even enjoyed her jam sandwiches. Its lovelly to see a selection of fresh home made cakes on the side. Will most deffinatelly come again.

Helpful?
Thank Beth J
jane w, Owner at Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely comments and I am so glad you enjoyed your visit. It means a lot to all of us that you have taken the time and trouble to comment and I hope we will see you again More 

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Have visited this cafe a few times and stopped there on way to caravan. Dogs very welcome, and great place for children to enjoy as well in the play area opposite. Today we stopped for lunch and it did not disappoint! The carrot & celeriac soup was sublime - really good and kept hot to the end. We also had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendi B
jane w, Owner at Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe, responded to this review

Hi many thanks for taking the time to comment on our little cafe. I am so glad you enjoyed the food and I know how good the staff are. I am grateful that you understand that the food is homemade and is not merely taken from a freezer or fridge, dropped on a place and shoved in the microwave. Many... More 

Abersoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Lovely nibbles at reasonable prices, friendly staff, dogs welcome outside. Try the cakes, none fattening of course course.

Helpful?
Thank iloveabersoch
jane w, Owner at Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, it is much appreciated by myself, Alison the manager and all the staff and I hope you call in again. More 

Pwllheli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2015

I'm was curious about this place and we finally got round to visiting today knowing that there was the chance of some vegan cake! Being local and vegan it would be fantastic to know that there was a cafe close to where I live that I can go to and have the perfect treat now and again. There are notices... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank catzo2015
jane w, Owner at Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for your review, much appreciated. Please text me on 07769653608 as we are hoping to hold several evenings with Lee cooking so you can taste his fantastic food. Unfortunatley we have recently been in a situation where our vegan baker/chef has been off on sick leave so our temporary chef tried her hand at one of his... More 

Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We have visited this cafe on a number of occasions & it never dissapoints us. Good food reasonable prices & friendly staff.The only bad comment would be cigarette ends & other rubbish under the outside tables was a bit of putting.

Helpful?
Thank David G
jane w, Owner at Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe, responded to this review

Helo Many thanks for your kind comments and I am very pleased you have enjoyed our little cafe. I know exactly the day you are talking about regarding cigarette ends around the tables as I also noticed it when I arrived at work. That day we had new staff who were training and part of the daily routine is to... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I understand that there's a new chef at Black Cat Cafe. There are fewer vegan options on the menu than there were 18 months ago - no cake this time, for example, which was a shame. But rather than focus on what we couldn't have, I'll say that the cheese and onion toastie with salad (which we could) is generous.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Good_Penny
jane w, Owner at Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe, responded to this review

Hello Many thanks for your comments and I am sorry there was no cake to your liking that day. I have enquired as to why there was no cake available and it seems there was, but it had not been placed on display, and the till staff were not aware it had been prepared the night before. It was simply... More 

Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

When we arrived the cafe there was only one other table there at the time, so we didn't expect much of a wait! The staff were friendly but I think they should warn people how long it takes them to cook their meals. We waited around 35 minutes for a quiche, and then it was average at best, didn't taste... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gwenan H
jane w, Owner at Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe, responded to this review

Helo Many thanks for your comments and I am sorry you were disappointed. I cannot apologise enough and would like to ask if you could text me when you are next passing so that I can organise a complimentary drink etc for you. My number is 07769653608. Wendy More 

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Oh how I wish I was singing the praise of the Black cat cafe, as I have done each time a friend and I have eaten there in the past. But today was a dissapointment. My friend and I arrived in hope of nice lunch. The outside tables were taken by families, inside only two tables were taken and no... More 

Helpful?
Thank billscom
jane w, Owner at Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe, responded to this review

Helo I can only apologise for your experience. I cannot apologise for the delay in the food since it is all cooked from scratch and even though it looks quiet, it depends on the food ordered as to the amount of time it takes. However I apologise that you did not like the quiche. Did you mention this to the... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Had a huge bowl of soup. Delicious. Lots of people outside enjoying various dishes. Service a little slow, even thought there were 6-7 staff. A tea and soup cost around £7, but it was satisfying and most enjoyable. Very pleasant staff.

Helpful?
Thank Pat W
jane w, Owner at Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. I am so sorry the service was slow but unfortunatley all orders are freshly prepared and all orders are dependant on what food is being ordered before their order. Please text me on 07769653608 if you come again so that I can offer you a complimentary drink and homemade cake to make up for... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

We had lunch sat outside and the best part was the birds feeding at our table. I had pate and toast and got a small portion of course pate and 1 round of toast with a bit of salad. Not much for £6.95. We ordered drinks and the order was left on the side and forgotten until they were reminded.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ajchester
jane w, Owner at Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe, responded to this review

Helo I can understand that you felt really disappointed and I agree this service fell well below our normal standard. We are employing new staff at the moment due to many of our staff leaving for university which might explain the small portions. I can only apologise for this and offer, by way of some compensation, that when you revisit... More 

Travellers who viewed Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe also viewed

Penygroes, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Bontnewydd, Caernarfon
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Clynnog Road, Llandwrog LL54 5DY, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Gwynedd  >  Llandwrog
  • Phone Number: +44 1286 832691

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Caffi'r Gath Ddu/The Black Cat Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?