We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vaynol Arms

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Pentir, Tregarth, Bangor LL57 4EA, Wales
+44 1248 362896
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 275: English reviews
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a social outing over the Christmas period, a group of us met up for pre Christmas party. On arriving I found the pub and restaurant to be warm and inviting. We were greeted by the Landlord and made to feel instantly welcome. The bar staff were polite and friendly and the service was first rate. Some of us... More 

Helpful?
Thank 399amorris
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had Sunday lunch here on our first visit, and unfortunatley both found the quality of food in our main courses to be poor. Husband chose the chicken, ham and leek pie - the pastry was hard in places and soft in others, very thin, and no trace or taste of leeks at all. I had fish pie whch had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank T B
TheVaynolArms, Owner at Vaynol Arms, responded to this review

Good afternoon, We are very sorry to hear you were not satisfied on your Sunday visit. We did however check everything was enjoyable with your meals to which you responded yes excellent and like you said you stayed for desserts. So we wasn't aware of any of these issues you have raised since leaving. If you had any doubts at... More 

Derby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ate at this lovely, quiet, traditional pub twice whilst away for New Year. We ate in the bar area as we had our dog with us both times. There is only two or three tables in this area, one is next to the open fire (perfect for our dog!). The main course was excellent on both occasions, as was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Whitto1
TheVaynolArms, Owner at Vaynol Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to you visiting again. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this restaurant, on the recommendation of the B&B owner, whilst staying overnight in the vicinity. Considering it was only 18:30 on a Wednesday night, the car park was already fairly full requiring us to park on the road outside the pub! On arrival we were met by a pleasant and efficient lady behind the bar who showed us immediately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niddum
TheVaynolArms, Owner at Vaynol Arms, responded to this review

We are very sorry to read your review about your visit here on Wednesday. Your request for a very well done battered cod , the more well done the better in your words as you don't like WET fish did throw us a little. But we cooked your meal as requested . Also when we asked you if you were... More 

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in for lunch after word of mouth. Wish I had gone elsewhere. All seemed well at time of order, there were 3 of us and ordered various sandwiches. Cheese Ploughmans, cheese was mouldy. Bread very dry. Tuna melt. Bread very dry. Cheese, Onion and tomato came with no onion. Attitude changed when we complained re every dish. Service then... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank X5193PGmarkw
TheVaynolArms, Owner at Vaynol Arms, responded to this review

Good afternoon Mark, I'd like to apologise for your experience but I'm afraid I think you have the wrong Vaynol Arms. We do not sell any of the items you describe in your review at all. I hope you post it on the right establishment so you can get the correct response you deserve. Kind regards More 

Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016

Had 3 meals at the pub and every meal was excellant and good value for money. Service was good and staff were very friendly. Good choice of beer ciders and many other drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
TheVaynolArms, Owner at Vaynol Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review look forward to your next visit More 

Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016

My 2 friends had home cooked meat dishes that they enjoyed. But my vegetarian dish was not nice. Tasted very artificial. Service good and a pleasant atmosphere.

Helpful?
2 Thank breakingshells
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2016

One of our favourite places for a great value, excellent Sunday roast. Service is always great. We have always had excellent meals, never any complaints. Great family atmosphere as well.

Helpful?
Thank Debra P
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Visited for late lunch on Sunday. Plenty of tables without booking. Good vegetarian choice but many dishes (both veg and non veg) on specials board were sold out. Fresh hot food, didn't have to wait too long for it. Price slightly above average. Staff relatively friendly. No complaints but wasn't wowed. Would visit again, just not too soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona L
TheVaynolArms, Owner at Vaynol Arms, responded to this review

Thank you fur your review, we would just like to point out that there was only two dishes that were sold out on our specials board due to being popular. As the specials board changes daily it is to be expected sometimes. Our full menu plus Sunday lunch menu was available totalling 27 main courses to choose from we don't... More 

Worcester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Group of eight had last minute booking and recommendation for evening meal. There was an excellent choice of food and also a good choice of real ales. The food was homemade and mouthwatering. Staff were attentive and friendly. All of us were pleased with quality of establishment and food and drink. Then to top the evening off there was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank MARKD7
TheVaynolArms, Owner at Vaynol Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to your next visit More 

Travellers who viewed Vaynol Arms also viewed

 

Been to Vaynol Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pentir, Tregarth, Bangor LL57 4EA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Gwynedd  >  Bangor  >  Tregarth
  • Phone Number: +44 1248 362896

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vaynol Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?