We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£10 - £25
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (397)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
169
112
50
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
169
112
50
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bombay sapphire distillery the pub down the road stay overnight bar staff bed accommodation veg tour refurb roast
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

The food is always ok (although just ok and sometimes warm rather than hot) but the lack of welcome / attention and incredibly long wait to order then receive our food always spoils our visit. I keep saying we won't go again - but then...giving it one more go. This was the lastMore

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 days ago

9th June 2024. We went for Sunday roast. FIrst time of going so no axe to grind.This my honest assessment. Staff- couldnt fault. Very polite, helpful & attentive. Food - Meats were beef, chicken, & gammon . Most priced at £19.95. I had beef &...a 1/4 of chicken. Chicken was okay, Only 1 small slice of beef which had fat on. 2 medium size roast potatoes. 1 large yorkie, parsnip, & 3 small portions of seasonal veg. It was average & overpriced. Didnt have a dessert so cant comment. Drinks - expensive. Large glass of standard wine was £12.50. Now for the sucker punch. Went out as a family. 6 adults , 1 child. 5 roasts, 1 burger meal. 1 childs dinner. 3 sweets & 1 childs ice cream. 2 lime & sodas, 2 cokes, 2 glasses of wine, & 2 pints & a childs drink. Our bill came to £218 plus a service charge of 12.5 % or nearly £28 which made the total £245. Probably mentioned in small print at the bottom of the menu somewhere but was not mentioned when the bill was handed over. Hmmm. Refused to pay it & left a tip of my own decision. Expected a lot better for the price..More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi David, Thank you for your kind comments about our team but I am sorry to read you left us disappointed on Sunday. We will look into our Sunday Roast portions following your feedback. If there is anything we can do, please reach out to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The White Hart Hotel and dining. What an awesome start to our holiday, the staff were absolutely delightful, the stables room was superb, very clean and very well stocked. Would we stay here again....absolutely. we tried to book for our journey home, but fully booked....Absolutely awesome, food sublime, thank you all for a beautiful stay. See you next timeMore

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review & kind comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 May 2024

We have had a really excellent Sunday lunch here two weeks in a row. Very good selection of vegetables (liked the red cabbage this time!) with a choice of one, two or three meats or a very tasty nut roast. On both occasions the young...staff have been really friendly and efficient.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

Thank you so much for this great review! I am so pleased to read you have enjoyed your last 2 experiences with us. Hopefully we can give you the same on your third!

Reviewed 4 May 2024

Thought we would pop in for a quick lunch, we were served by lovely Sophie, she coped with my intolerances and allergies, and was able to make me relax and enjoy my meal. I will definitely return. Relaxed atmosphere.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Thank you so much for this kind review! It really means a lot to read that you had such a great experience here. See you on your next visit!

Reviewed 26 April 2024 via mobile

We discovered this chain of pubs a couple of years ago. They are right up our street and now when travelling between home (Devon) and the South East needing a stop over we look for a convenient one. On this occasion we had a funeral...to attend in Surrey early Monday morning so we booked this pub and left home 3pm Sunday afternoon. It was our second visit and it was great to be back. A really warm welcome as we trooped in with bags++. A very nice room (2). Last time, it was 7. Great bathroom. Warm, cosy, great tea/coffee facilities etc. We hit downstairs pretty quickly and started to enjoy ourselves. We had not seen the tapas menu before and this suited us. They are small and we happily ate 6!! Not a cheap evening but most enjoyable. Had a great night's sleep and a lovely shower. We had not paid for breakfast in advance but took advantage of the 2 for £14 plus complimentary buffet including tea and juice. We thought this was excellent value and really enjoyed the smashed avo on toast with poached eggs and tomatoes. Both male members of staff we dealt with were great. We will definitely be back not only here but to other pubs in the charming bedrooms chain.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Thank you so much for this amazing review! It really means a lot to read that you had such a great experience with us! I have passed on your compliments to our team. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay Felt really homely as soon as we walked in. Staff were all friendly and welcoming Stayed here as we were doing Bombay Sapphire distillery tour. Great location with bus stop opposite which stops outside the distillery Ate dinner here which was...lovely Room was really clean and comfortable Breakfast the following morning was fantastic and great value (full English) Would definitely recommend to anyone to stay here.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Thank you for this amazing review! It's experiences and reviews like yours that really keep us motivated! We hope to see you again!

Reviewed 12 March 2024

We were staying locally and visited twice, once for a pint and once for food. Service was good including checking that our food was fine. The beer was well kept and choice of food good. Prices pretty much in line with good pubs. I’m happy...to tip but prefer it to be at my discretion/amount as I think it ensures a better level of service.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Thank you for this great review! It really means a lot. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our service charge. Hopefully we will see you again!

Reviewed 2 March 2024 via mobile

On arrival, went and sat down in a booth. Was then told to move as it was reserved, however no reserved sign on the table. Then sat a table that was ridiculously wobbly, so had to move again. Waited ages for staff to come and...take a drinks order, then waited even longer for food order. Food arrived, all cooked ok, but small portions, and apparently as they call themselves a gastro pub, your food has to come in a load of weird random pots on the plate, like a miniature saucepan for your peas, which adds no value whatsoever, however the food was nice. What really wound me up however, was a 12.5% service charge added to the bill! The absolute cheek of it! We are not in America!!! I didn’t realise this was the case, nothing was said at the bar when I went to pay, how sneaky! The service we received was not up to scratch, the teenage waiting staff need training because they really don’t have a clue. Disappointing. The service charge needs to be removed, it’s incredibly sneaky, and quite frankly rude and entitled. Had we received better service I would have tipped the staff, but to just add it anyway and then NOT say anything at time of paying is appalling.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

A very disappointing review to hear, so our apologies. I can assure you this is not our usual standards & would be grateful if you would take the time to call our General Manager on 01256 771431 to discuss the time & detail so she...More

Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

My daughter and I booked this hotel for one night as we were going on the Bombay Sapphire gin tour. We arrived at 11am thinking this would be too early to check in but to our surprise the young lady (Jess?)behind the bar said our...room was available. The room was very nice and had several added extras for us to enjoy during our stay. We had a couple of tapas dishes for our lunch before catching the bus from the bus stop right outside the hotel/pub. We enjoyed a cocktail and shared a dessert in the pub before going to bed. Breakfast was very nice. The only reason that I haven’t given a 5 star rating is there is a slight smell in the corridors from the extractor fan in the kitchen. I would definitely recommend this hotel.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Thank you so much for this amazing review! It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the extractor fans. I will pass this on to our...More

Reviewed 9 February 2024 via mobile

We've been here plenty of times as we live locally so know what to expect. Not disappointed on a wet miserable Friday evening. Two fish suppers, lovely haddock and golden chips with crushed peas. Hot and fresh and served quickly by a friendly waitress. Nothing...to complain about, would like to try their new Tapas and flatbread menu, (5 dishes for £20).More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2024

Thank you for this great review! It really means a lot. If you’d like to try the tapas, come back on a Tuesday evening and get 5 tapas and a carafe of wine for 29.95. Hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 31 January 2024

While the environment is lovely and the service, this time, was great, the menu really has gone downhill. There's nothing exciting or exotic at all, just plain old pie, mash, fish & chips and the like. The food itself was quite bland and difficult to...get through. Won't be returning until the menu offers something beyond dull, regular pub food.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Thank you for your compliments on our service and environment. I am sorry to read you found our menu disappointing. We launched our new menu back in September with our tapas and flatbreads including our pub classics. We'd like to know your thoughts on what...More

Reviewed 25 January 2024

Everything in the White Heart is disorganised. On arrival you are just ignored. When you do manage to get attention they have no idea on what to do. Drinks are not offered you have to go to the bar as no waiter available. The revamped...tapas menu and build your own meal are a good change to the offering. However the staff have no clue of what the dishes include so you are left to work it out. From ordering to meals arriving 45 mins. Just plonked on the table by waitress and left. No offer of sauces etc or maybe a second drink. No check is the food OK. So back to bar to queue and carry your own.drinks back. Then when you get your bill from the bar they add 12.5% service charge to everything. What a joke as there is no service. They were unfriendly throughout. We live local and really like how the hotel is laid out. Whenever we visit we struggle so it's no fun. This hotel and restaurant needs a manager who knows their job. Staff need training.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2024

I am sorry to read how disappointing your visit was. Please contact our manager at 01256 771431 so we can find out more.

Reviewed 30 December 2023

We visited the White Hart on Friday evening as part of our weekend getaway for an easy and casual dinner. It was a lovely and cosy pub with a great playlist and good food. The menu was very no frills which is just what we...were after and we had a lovely meal - lamb koftes were a real highlight!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2023

Family Christmas Day lunch and all of us had pre-ordered different starters, mains and desserts. Management had taken care to limit the numbers in the dining areas so the pub didn’t feel overcrowded or noisy and all the food was beautifully prepared, presented and served...when requested. (Breathing space required between the main course and dessert!) In addition, all the servers were attentive, cheerful and helpful. Excellent value for money and the whole experience really enhanced our Christmas Day. Thank you to all involved.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2023

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It was so lovely to have you with on on Christmas Day, have a happy new year and we will see you in 2024!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Oakley Hall Hotel
1,743 reviews
2.69 miles away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
511 reviews
4.24 miles away
Bel & The Dragon Kingsclere
262 reviews
5.55 miles away
Sandford Springs Hotel & Golf Events
465 reviews
5.73 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Red Lion
375 reviews
.12 miles away
Amore Restaurant
134 reviews
.06 miles away
The Old House at Home
101 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bombay Sapphire Distillery
3,894 reviews
1.57 miles away
St Nicholas' Church
18 reviews
2.21 miles away
Test Valley Golf Club
21 reviews
2.59 miles away
Dummer Golf Club
26 reviews
4.99 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
R2710OFjackied
13 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from chrismranger | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can
0
Votes
Pat D
8 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from PeterHarmer | Reviewed this property |
I am a customer. Better you contact The White Hart direct.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WHITE HART AT OVERTON PUB & DINING - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining

White Hart at Overton Pub & Dining is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4