We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shoreline Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Church Street | Craster, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TH, England
+44 1665 571251
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 420: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Believe this is owned by the same people that run the Jolly Fisherman and what a contrast. Staff are friendly, great atmosphere with lovely cakes and coffee

Helpful?
Thank CW11LAM
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Good little cafe have visited here several times over the past few years after doing the castle walk. Nice selection of cakes and hot drinks all resonably priced and good quality. Friendly and efficient service and we have been in when it is very busy and not so busy. Be aware there is a small charge to pay by card... More 

Helpful?
Thank festivalgoer2016
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in on Sunday at 4.00pmfor take away coffees after exhilarating walk. Left with coffee, scones, jam and cream. Staff outstanding and helpful. Delighted to find a cafe open so late on Sunday. Thank you. Great coffee and scones provided perfect end to Sunday afternoon. Discover this place for yourself

Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this cafe on Friday morning. Craster is a small place and this cafe pretty much has a monopoly in the winter months. It was quite busy the morning we visited but there were tables free. If you visit try to go to the back of the cafe where there are lovely views of the sea. It was clean... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank christopdog11
joanneyoung, Owner at Shoreline Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As the owner I often look at using Tripadvisor as a training tool and an opportunity to get the team together to discuss positive and negative comments together. However after addressing one of the issues you mentioned I have learned that it did not even involve yourselves or anyone from your party. The soup that... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Called in on a chilly but sunny late December day after a short walk. Staff friendly and helpful and the scones we ate were just the ticket, as was the warming coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Keith B
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Called in after walk to castle. Scone stale, cheap jam. Toilet flush button missing meaning painful to use !

Helpful?
1 Thank Stu B
joanneyoung, Owner at Shoreline Cafe, responded to this review

Did you inform a member of staff about the broken toilet flush? I apologise for the stale scone, did you inform a member of the team so we can rectify the problem in the future? More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Came here twice over the New Year period - the first for lunch on Jan 2 - the place was rammed but we eventually got seated and the crab sandwiches were well worth the wait. The service was friendly- many apologies for the wait etc- and they were doing a great job under a lot of pressure. You couldn't help... More 

Helpful?
Thank MRSandell
joanneyoung, Owner at Shoreline Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and giving us 5 stars! I also really apreciate you giving us the benefit of the doubt and coming back a second time where you had a quieter experience and equally good food as the day before. Regarding the staff being pushed on your first visit. During the very quiet days of January our staff... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for a cup of tea. It's a nice little cafe and we had a good view of the sunset and the sea. The staff were very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016

Lovely little café. Excellent service and food everytime we go! Crab sandwiches are a must! Fresh and delicious! Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank bob b
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

Good food and some friendly staff; only spoilt by owner/front of house manager turning away customers in the most unfriendly way possible " kitchen closed" at 3.30pm this last week to those who dared try to order food ! sign outside said 4pm. Amazement - do they want customers or are they an inconvenience I ask!!! Innocent bystander. They (... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nick290459

Travellers who viewed Shoreline Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Shoreline Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$9
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Church Street | Craster, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick  >  Craster
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 571251

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shoreline Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?