We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart

Is this your business?
££ - £££, British,
Hart Road, Benfleet SS7 3PF, England
+44 1268 882051
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“jacket potato” (3 reviews)
“sandwiches” (2 reviews)
“mixed grill” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hart Road, Benfleet SS7 3PF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had lunch at the 'White Hart' on a fairly busy Friday lunchtime. The lunch itself was well presented, nicely cooked and extremely good value for money. The waitress was courteous and helpful. I/we ate in the dining area behind the pub; tables were clean...More

Thank Ruth A
General Manager A, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

thank you for the review Ruth.... We came so close to a 5 star review from you. make sure you come back to give us a chance to make it 5/5 xx

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This is a great little pub and the food is always lovely. But for the love of Kelly Clarkson HIRE SOME MORE STAFF!!!!!!! There is only ever one person working behind the bar!!!!!! Whoever is in charge, please, fork out for another bar person!!!!!!!!

2  Thank Tdog3506
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Chose the venue as close to home lovely welcoming pub we all had the sunday roast today which was lovely and had a variety of cblice too! We was seated straight away on arriving and the staff were very friendly and helpful , will definitely...More

Thank Elliemax2010
General Manager A, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review. we can't wait to have you back for your next meal x

Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for drinks before and after lunch at a neighbouring restaurant and I have to say it was a bit scruffy. The poor barman was on his own so a lot of tables dirty and glasses lying around. More staff later on but...More

2  Thank LizM99
General Manager A, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Definitely wouldn't say the place is dirty. Thanks for the review.

Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

What a warm and pleasant pub in this snowy weather, warm and welcoming with all our kids in tow. We ate, drank and the kids had fun without breaking the bank wiĺl definitely be back.

1  Thank kerrilaver
General Manager A, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

thanks for the great review Kerri.... don't forget we are now taking booking for Christmas 2018 :)x

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Booked birthday celebration with my family there was 14 of us for 2.30. We mostly ordered roast dinners and children had chicken nuggets and burgers and one had children steak. We had our starters one of which was missed. We then waited over an hour...More

3  Thank Julie H
Reviewed 27 January 2018

I have visited the White Hart several times over the years and had a meal on average once a month. Today, 27 January 2018 the food was below the standard of Ember Inn and I was bitterly disappointed. The vegetables were not fresh and tasted...More

2  Thank madbiker19662017
General Manager A, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

I think your forgetting to mention it took you over a hr to eat your starters due to you having a elderly person with you and also we was busy. we did offer you everything we possible could but you didn't want nothing. thanks for...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018

This was supposed to be a birthday treat for my husband. This was our first visit to The White Hart. We were made very welcome and seated at our table. After ordering our food there was a very long wait, especially in between our starter...More

3  Thank Christine G
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Have visited the Hart for many years on and off, always loved the food, however this recent visit was the first time I'd tried the Sunday lunch. Frozen mixed veg, frozen roast potatoes, all flavourless, and insipid gravy.......not what I would've expected here at all....More

1  Thank Foodpassionator
General Manager A, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Sorry for your bad experience ... our roast potatoes are defiantly not frozen. We do hope you enjoy your next visit.

Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Visited just before Christmas with my family and had dinner at the pub. Friendly service and good food - our food arrived quickly and it was really lovely! Thank you!

Thank 447Clark27
General Manager A, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you very much for your review 447Clark27. . we really do appreciate your kind words. we hope to see you in the New Year x

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Benfleet Hotels
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
396 reviews
.96 miles away
The Chichester Hotel
325 reviews
2.48 miles away
Endeavour Hotel
54 reviews
2.91 miles away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
221 reviews
3.17 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Tandoori Parlour
441 reviews
.05 miles away
Pinaglis tearoom
67 reviews
.07 miles away
The Woodmans Arms
232 reviews
.55 miles away
Malaya
84 reviews
.96 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Woodmans Arms
31 reviews
.54 miles away
Farmer Fred's Play Barn
18 reviews
.85 miles away
Rayleigh Indoor Karting Stadium
77 reviews
1.12 miles away
Hadleigh Castle
204 reviews
2.07 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kerry186338
26 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from poppa123 | Reviewed this property |
No there is a large garden with a lot of seating, but no play area
0
Votes
kursaalflyer
3 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jay C | Property representative |
Hi, it belongs to Mitchells and butler so technically it's a free house to them...that's why we class it as a free house
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$665 - US$1,463
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hart Road, Benfleet SS7 3PF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Benfleet
  • Phone Number: +44 1268 882051
Description
Ember Inns Pub with Good Beer and Good Pub Food!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;