We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Elms

1060 London Road, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 3ND, England
017024687
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (9 reviews)
“jacket potato” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1060 London Road, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 3ND, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

No choice if you're vegetarian but don't fancy spicy. Only one vegetarian and only one gluten free which was spicy too. Vegetarian samosas were refunded as pastry was saturated with oil.More

Thank portsmouthvisitor1
wayne m, Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi portsmouthvisitor1, We have bespoke Vegetarian and Gluten free menu's which have many options for you too choose from, I'm sorry you didn't see these on your Recent visit, please ask at the bar or one of the floor staff for information on these menus...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointed to be truthful. have eaten here before and the food has always been very good. Last night ordered the sausages and mash and my friend had the the chilli. Hers looked very well done on the top and my sausages were tasteless. The potatoes...More

Thank Julie C
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Not a good place. Poor service. Long wait to be served. Food occasion takes ages to come. Fell asleep last week in pub and got accused of being drunk. Which I wasn't . Falling asleep is a side effect of Diabetes. Which the staff and...More

Thank Elizabeth S
wayne m, Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Elizabeth S, Thank you for the message, However as I'm sure you are well aware, the reason for you being asked to leave the pub was not due to anyone being asleep, it was the aggressive behaviour and abusive manner in which the male...More

Reviewed 11 November 2017

I love this pub. There are always lots of characters in here. The barstaff are busy but friendly. It is roomy and the patio is a nice place to sit in the Summer. Beer selection is top class and food is terrific Wetherspoons value,

Thank dont_treatmebad
wayne m, Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, dont_treatmebad, Thanks you for your kind words. we hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 5 November 2017

This must be the worst pub I have ever been to in my life! Poor service / terrible food / no atmosphere / waited 15 minutes at the bar whilst staff chatted to each other.

Thank Lordstash
wayne m, Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi lordstash, I'm very disappointed to hear about this visit to the Elms, this sounds far from good enough. Can you advise a date and time of you visit to assist my investigation into your poor experience.

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Really disappointing. Far too few staff. Long wait for service at the bar. Below average food, although my father enjoyed his curry. There was a hair in my Meal and they didn’t even bring a napkin with a finger food meal! No point in complaining...More

Thank nicolaclarecullen
wayne m, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi nicolaclarecullen, Very sorry to hear of your poor visit, we are working hard to improve and accept your visit wasn't good enough. Can you advise of a day and time to allow me to look into this further. Many thanks

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

I love it here, yeah the food isn't spectacular and the decor isn't overly modern but it's a Wetherspoons, you can get a pint of beer for £2, it's a place for a cheap beer with your mates, the staff are friendly enough, would recommend...More

Thank chrissiewils
wayne m, Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi chrissiewils, Many thanks for your review. We hope to see you soon :)

Reviewed 24 October 2017

A good Wetherspoons pub with helpful staff. Every time I bought a drink i was amazed at how much change I got from a fiver. Food was value for money too, and it has it's own car park. .

Thank bulletdozer
wayne m, Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi bulletdozer, Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 23 October 2017

I went to the Elms for a drink during the real ale festival, there was a good choice of beers. Recommended.More

Thank B7152FJpeterw
wayne m, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi B7152FJpeterw, Great to hear you enjoyed our recent beer festival. You drank one of over 3000 pints sold, it was our most successful beer festival ever. All ale suggestions are welcome of you want to choose a beer from our seasonal range we will...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

I have eaten breakfast and lunch here. The breakfast is cooked to perfection and tasted really good. The paninis are wonderful. Staff friendly and lovely setting. Reasonable prices.

Thank Anthony M
wayne m, Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hi Anthony, Many thanks for the review, we are glad you have enjoyed your recent trips to the Elms and hope to see you again soon :) Simon and the team.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rosy Lee Cafe
225 reviews
.04 miles away
Yak & Yeti
201 reviews
.05 miles away
Mad Dogs & Englishmen
107 reviews
.31 miles away
Henry Burgers
328 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Old Leigh
801 reviews
.60 miles away
Leigh Heritage Centre
44 reviews
.60 miles away
Bell Wharf Beach
52 reviews
.64 miles away
Leigh Library
43 reviews
.44 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ivykinerman
6 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from wayne m | Property representative |
Hi, yes you can book a table. Pop in to see us with details of what you need. and we will certainly do our best to accommodate you.
0
Votes
ivykinerman
6 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from tandb36 | Reviewed this property |
I think you can if you give them enough notice
0
Votes
kerrypriest
11 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Beth N | Reviewed this property |
When we were refused service in July 2017, they said the policy had been in a year but we have taken our dog on numerous occasions and he is only 18 months old. Will never set foot in the place again
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1060 London Road, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 3ND, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
  • Phone Number: 017024687
Description
This is a J D Wetherspoon establishment
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing