We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
472
86
38
28
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
472
86
38
28
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petit fours bread pizza lamb pollock mackerel tractor ride river cottage car park welcome drink cookery course seating plan kitchen garden vegetable garden working farm wander around friday night
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 November 2020

We four made the best of it...BUT we all agreed it was a money making machine. Most things incurred additional costs and to pay to see him to sign a book, no way. Once done...never again unless you want to spend £££More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Good evening Jelly09, Thank you for your review, I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. Do you mind emailing myself the date and event you attended so I can find out more details on what was extra and any improvements we could...More

Reviewed 24 October 2020

Went to River Cottage for my wife's retirement gift. The food was excellent and they serve a lovely IPA beer. The staff were also very welcoming and the location is stunning. However, we sat at a table opposite the entrance / exit door which was...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Good morning, thank you for your feedback, I'm so pleased you had a lovely meal. Apologies for the chilly evening our Beautiful barn is used to having 60plus people in which keeps it nice and warm, however with the changes it does make a huge...More

Reviewed 4 October 2020

This was a gift from our Children For our Birthdays last November. Eventually we were able to come and dine at RCHQ. Amazing. The food was plentiful and high quality. Thank you to the chefs Having been to RC canteen many times we didn’t expect...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Good Morning Bernard H, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I've made all teams aware of your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. KR Hollie

Reviewed 29 September 2020 via mobile

Lovely location and amazing views. Shame there weren't any pigs or chooks around but I guess it isn't that kind of farm. We did the Summer picnic which had some interesting food and allowed you to sit in around the grounds. Really have a missed...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Good morning Simplyme4, Thank you for your feedback, next year we are looking forward to welcoming back our Chickens and we have plans of reclaiming our duck pond. The piglets you would have just missed they came to us in October. I'm so glad you...More

Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

As fans of the kitchen in Axminster we thought we would at long last try HQ.The event was a present from our children , so a sizeable layout for students! On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady who offered instruction on how to...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Good Morning Neial3333, Thank you for your review of our site at HQ, I will certainly pass on your feedback to my staff. It is great to hear you are enjoying our Canteen. We looking forward to welcoming you again soon. KR Hollie

Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

I am extremely saddened to read all the recent negative reviews of wandering Wednesdays at river cottage hq. We visited yesterday as a family of 6 (4 x adults, 1 x 4yr old and 1 x 2yr old,) and had a lovely time. It was...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2020

Dear Hazel A, Thank you for your feedback, Im so glad you had a lovely relaxing afternoon with us. I will pass this onto the team who have been working extremley hard in the current climate. KR Hollie x

Reviewed 1 September 2020

The service we received was exellent, very helpful young lady I believe her name was Natasha!? She absolutely did her best to rectify all the mistakes that were made in the kitchen, very poor managing I'd say, completely disorganized a total shambles and waist of...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

Dear Rachel, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your visit to HQ did not live up to your expectations - I have passed your gratitude onto Natasha. I would really like to glean some more information regarding your experience, so if you...More

Reviewed 28 August 2020

Having been a fan of River Cottage and an avid cook myself I was very excited about the prospect of visiting River Cottage HQ. As someone who grows vegetables and keeps animals I was also very interested in expanding my knowledge in this area. This...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

Dear Rout43, Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience - please accept my apologies that it didn't meet your expectations. Should you wish to discuss this further, please email events@rivercottage.net I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that any single use...More

Reviewed 26 August 2020 via mobile

Without doubt Hugh F-W has created a canny business here. We visited today for ‘Wandering Wednesdays’ with dozens of other middle class families making the hushed pilgrimage to The River Cottage HQ. What would we discover? Not much. Would the great man be there to...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?3  
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

Dear caversham43, Thank you for your feedback. I really appreciate you taking the time to outline your experience and how it did not meet your expectations. Should you wish to discuss this further, please email events@rivercottage.net and I would be more than happy to chat...More

Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

Went for the summer lunch this year - (Christmas gift) - which we had booked early - last visit was some time ago and was in the evening - the experience is magical and very relaxed and enjoyable. The 3 courses were excellent, very tasty...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?3  
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

Dear Vegiplot, Thank you for your feedback. I really appreciate you taking the time to share how great your visit was to HQ. We hope to see you again very soon and thank you for supporting businesses such as ours in these unpredictable times. Bests,...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kerrington House
187 reviews
1.81 miles away
Mariners Hotel
551 reviews
2.90 miles away
Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
1,062 reviews
3.10 miles away
The Royal Lion Hotel
775 reviews
3.18 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Hind
145 reviews
1.72 miles away
Talbot arms
192 reviews
1.93 miles away
The Giant Club
99 reviews
2.14 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lower Bruckland Farm Nature Reserve
21 reviews
1.65 miles away
Uplyme Church
25 reviews
1.94 miles away
Millers Farm Shop
227 reviews
2.54 miles away
Axe Valley Wildlife Park
462 reviews
2.50 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SharonP1485
2 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from airfish1 | Reviewed this property |
You need to book. They prepare for numbers well in advance.
1
Vote
Jan G
22 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from R2558QIcolinb | Reviewed this property |
I always use a light vegetable oil generally and a good quality olive oil occasionally. Tried rapeseed oil but not over keen on the flavour.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about River Cottage HQ
    How is River Cottage HQ rated?
    River Cottage HQ is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4.5