We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Boathouse

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 The Parade, Parkgate CH64 6RN, England
+44 151 336 4187
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 533: English reviews
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Family meal 8pm Saturday night for a birthday celebration. Every one of us had an excellent meal. We were looked after by professional friendly and cheerful staff. I would definitely recommend The Boathouse.

Helpful?
Thank LammyPie66
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I can't fault this place,from the welcome to the food it's great. My daughter and I both opted for steak and it was cooked to perfection. Service was spot on and I will recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank lindsay f
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked for 6.30 as we like to eat early and it was quiet when we arrived but filled up quite quickly, but we did not feel crowded - the tables were a good distance apart. The service was good, particularly the wine service. I liked the fact that small bottles of prosecco were available as my husband doesn't drink... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for your lovely comments, I am delighted that you have enjoyed your visits with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Wayne More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lunchtime visit, great food. The views here across the Dee are so relaxing which matches the atmosphere at The Boathouse. Even though the restaurant was busy there was a very relaxed feeling. This restaurant doesn't rely on just the views and atmosphere though, the choice of food is very varied and the service attentive. We enjoyed our choice of Thai... More 

Helpful?
Thank hawkstone2016
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time leave us your comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and that you enjoyed the mussels. Kind Regards Wayne More 

Chester
Level Contributor
140 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Used to be reliable, very disappointing - went early on New Year's Eve, no one else there (does everyone else know already!) Menu not as good as it used to be (surely this can't be linked to the Goshawk anymore, I'm sure it used to have same menu?) choice not good - when food came it was terrible. One thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moira A
BoathouseP P, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us and that we may not have met our standards and your expectations. With it being new years eve we had quietened off in the restaurant when you dined with us as we... More 

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the traditional and historic features of the venue and the various quirks. The fact that the service was excellent and the food even better made it a very enjoyable evening. I would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Graham K
BoathouseP P, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Graham, It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Boathouse, thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Wayne More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tried to get two coffees here. It was moderately busy but hardly packed. There was no-one serving at the bar and when they did appear directed us to another bar where you can order drinks if you are not eating, as if it makes the slightest difference. The restaurant, with nice views on a sunny winter's day had three tables... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glyn1956
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your feedback, Here at the Boathouse we do take reservations and the restaurant with the views out over the estuary is a very popular dining location and it is possible that the tables you mentioned that were empty were had been reserved in advance. If possible would you be able... More 

Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Used to be fabulous here but of late has gone right off party of 8 people waited ages food not up to normal standards and staff seemed to be stressed and not really customer orientated. Third time now we have had a bad experience here great shame! Won't be going back again

Helpful?
Thank Menorca100
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we do value all feedback both good and bad as this allows us to evaluate if we are achieveing the standards that we aim to reach. I would like to discuss your experience with you further, and I would appreciate it if you would be able to give... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Full marks to Wayne and his team for a wonderful lunch .... everything from start to finish was excellent.... The lunch itself was fabulous and the service was superb. Thank you to you all x

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thankyou for the lovely comments, I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your Christmas lunch with us, especially as it was the first time we have opened on Christmas day, all of the team here had a great day and thoroughly enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards Wayne More 

Heswall, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very pleasant restaurant with views over the River Dee to Wales, lights twinkling in the dark. Food good but sad beef was not available for myself from the Christmas menu, so chose turkey which was very bland in my opinion. Others in our party enjoyed their meals. Prices were reasonable. BUT my evening was spoilt by a large party next... More 

Helpful?
Thank smstockdale
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Mr Stockdale, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your comments, I do apologise if the restaurant was too noisy when you dined with us. Normally we would seperate larger parties as much as we possibly can, but as your party requested to be in the conseratory there was unfortunately no other conservatory table we could have given... More 

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 The Parade, Parkgate CH64 6RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Parkgate
  • Phone Number: +44 151 336 4187

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Boathouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?