Earsham Street Cafe

Earsham Street Cafe

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1986 893103+ Add website
Hours
Mon
10:00 - 16:00
Tue
10:00 - 16:00
Wed
10:00 - 16:00
Thu
10:00 - 16:00
Fri
10:00 - 16:00
Sat
10:00 - 16:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£6.00 – £12.00
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Is this restaurant wheelchair accessible?
About
At Earsham Street Cafe you are sure of a friendly welcome, quality meals and delicious cakes, scones and teas. Nestling in the centre of historic Bungay, Earsham Street Cafe is a 17th century building bursting with character. Open 10am – 4.30pm (last orders at 4pm) 6 days a week (closed Sundays). Cakes, scones and wide selection of drinks are served all day. Also licensed with a good choice of wines & beers. Lunch is served from noon – 3pm. Breakfast & lighter options are served 10am – noon. Caters for vegan, gluten & dairy free diets. There are toys, crayons & books for children and dogs are most welcome in the covered courtyard garden. Cyclists can park their bikes in the cycle racks provided to the rear of the garden.
PRICE RANGE
£6.00 – £12.00
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles299 reviews
Excellent
206
Very good
54
Average
24
Poor
7
Terrible
8
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Niki H
Bungay152 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 family
Prior to lockdown. First class service, very attentive even though extremely busy as very popular. They have a reward system when you order you get a stamp on your card which leads to free offerings. It is a cafe, restaurant and cake bakery with many homemade dishes. We went for tea, coffee and cake and had menu envy when we saw bacon baps being served to a couple on another table.
Written 18 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gem_Jean_Keith_Mike
Dear Niki H Thanks very much for your kind review. Now we are open again, following the lifting of lockdown, we have found that both our bacon (and sausage) sandwiches remain very popular, so it maybe that you will give in to temptation if you visit us in the future!
Written 1 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hyacinth19
Leeds25 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 couples
We were staying in Beccles and we had read recommendations with regards to this cafe. It was full and we had not booked. We were asked if we would consider sitting outdoor which was under cover and we were happy to do so. We could see they were very busy and we were not in a rush. We enjoyed our coffees and bacon sandwich which was cooked to our exact requirements which is a rare and pleasant surprise. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful although busy and managed to have some good banter with us. It was the best coffee we had tasted since Saturday & we took two enormous fruit scones home ( which were delicious). Not bad at all at £12 something, even for us Yorkshire folk! I understand the baking is done on the premises too, another plus. Very Covid aware and clean.
Written 3 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma_Mike
Dear hyacinth19 Thankyou very much for your post regarding your visit to the Café, and particularly your kind remarks concerning our staff, who are ambassadors for our business - we will certainly pass the comments on to them.
Written 8 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sarah
Norwich51 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 couples
We went here from trip advisor reviews. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the outside courtyard where we sat was lovely. We opted for the breakfast and although it was good quality ingredients I personally didn’t feel it was value for money. On reflection. I think if you want value for money here opt for scones or cake and drinks.
Written 4 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma_Mike
Dear Sarah D Thanks very much for taking the time to review your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed the courtyard – We have had lots of favourable comments this year. I will certainly pass on your comment concerning our friendly welcoming staff. I note your comments regarding the breakfast. I am afraid the cost of items offered on the menu in part reflect the cost of the ingredients we use. We regularly check the price against that of our competitors to ensure our prices are in-line. I look forward to welcoming you back to Earsham Street Café again when you are in Bungay
Written 11 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian E
Norwich101 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 none
Called in for lunch today with my wife. We ordered the Marsh Pig platter for 2. This is a poor excuse for a platter at £1995, with a tiny amount of ham and a few slices of 'salami' along with 3 pieces of cheese, some leaves and some dubious cold carrot/pea mixture, and cold broccoli. It was served with 2 bread rolls that were entirely inedible. This was hardly a starter for one, and then of poor quality. We complained but were met with excuses. Please avoid this cafe.
Written 4 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma_Mike
Dear Brian E After reading the review of your visit to Earsham Street Café and having had the opportunity to publish your grievances, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer our response I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the platter- it’s one of our most popular dishes and you will see there are various reviews on Trip Advisor concerning them – “sharing platter, which was fantastic and large” “Please go here and share a platter, it is truly gorgeous.” “food was amazing (broccoli and almond soup with cheese scone & platter) amazing food 10/10” “We had the sharing platter which was really lovely” Our prices are clearly displayed in our menu and suffice to say it is not unusual to pay £10 per person for a “bulk standard” Ploughman’s Lunch which does not have the variety or quality of our platter The platter contents are listed on the menu too, As your review has omitted a few, I have taken the opportunity to list & describe them:- 6 pieces of free-range local Marsh Pig charcuterie (Marsh Pig, have won numerous awards for their products which are of the highest quality) 2 pieces of home cooked free range local ham Local Cheese - including a big chunk of White Lady for you to divide as you like & 2 slices of cheddar Homemade Pickle Mixed Olives Mixed Dressed Salad Leaves Seasonal Salads which change daily (these would of course be cold as the majority of salads are). On the day you visited one was a Middle Eastern roasted carrot & chickpea salad with a pomegranate molasses & fennel dressing, the other was a broccoli, artichoke & seed salad with a balsamic & olive oil dressing. 2 homemade soda bread rolls with butter Front of House checked on you while you were eating as they do all diners; this ensures that if there are any issues they can be addressed & rectified. Your wife said she didn't like the soda bread roll; as this is a different style of bread & it's not to everyone's taste, she was offered an alternative but didn't want it. We are always happy to replace a meal so that customers have an enjoyable food experience but the only problem that was highlighted at this time was your wife wasn't enjoying the bread, therefore we didn't have the opportunity to offer a replacement meal. On coming to the till you said the meat was stingy, the salads weren't nice & you didn't like the bread. We didn't make excuses but said we were sorry you hadn't enjoyed the food. We did not offer any kind of reduction to your bill as the vast amount of the food had been eaten including your roll which you purported to be inedible. Fortunately, the vast majority of customers visiting Earsham Street Café appreciate the quality and creativity of the food on offer, regrettably you have not on this occasion
Written 6 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicky
Lowestoft1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 family
Wonderful little cafe in the centre of Bungay. We have 2 positive experiences to review.. The first being the very special cake which was made for my dads 60th birthday. A delicious sweet potato lemon and ginger cake was made, which catered for a multitude of allergy sufferers in the family (coeliac, lactose intolerance and a nut and soya allergy) The wonderful staff produced a cake which excelled our expectations, delicious!! The second being our experience eating and drinking in the cafe. We turned up (9 of us and a dog) for breakfast and were seated outside. The outside was a lovely little courtyard which was covered and had heating, we were nice and cosy. The breakfast was delicious, quality ingredients cooked perfectly. We also popped by for cake (can’t get enough of the cake!) and coffee and were pleased with the large selection of cakes available. A few of us enjoyed a savoury cream tea which was delicious. Even though they were busy, the service was impeccable, very friendly and welcoming. Thank you for a lovely experience. We look forward to returning again soon!
Written 1 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma_Mike
Dear hyattcross With reviews like this we don’t need to advertise! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your visits to the Café and particularly pleased about the level of service you received -we rely very much on our staff and we will certainly pass your comments on. I am pleased to learn that you dad enjoyed his birthday cake- we are often presented with some very unusual allergy requirements, but our cake makers always seem to rise to the challenge! I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Earsham Street Café soon
Written 27 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lucie R
38 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 family
Having visited and thoroughly enjoyed it previously, we were very disappointed with the slow and disjointed service today. It was so bad one couple actually walked out after waiting in vain 20 minutes for someone to come and take their order. We had to wait half an hour for two bowls of soup. I am quite happy to wait for food that is being cooked to order but not soup. It wasn't very busy and there were plenty of waiting staff crashing about but they didn't really seem interested in the customers, except those that were obviously regulars. We will not be coming back again.
Written 24 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma_Mike
Dear Lucie R Thanks for providing feedback following your recent visit to Earsham Street Café, we always welcome comments both positive and negative as it offers us the opportunity to constantly improve what we offer our customers when they visit. I am sorry to learn that on this occasion you were disappointed, Although, you have “visited and thoroughly enjoyed it previously” I have been unable to find any feedback regarding your previous visits All food is served in the order that it is taken, and staff are trained to advise customers if there is likely to be an undue delay, if this did not happen on this occasion I apologise. You will see from the other 270 odd reviews on Trip Advisor that the vast majority of customers find a visit to Earsham Street Café an enjoyable experience and we feel it would be more productive if a customer when asked by the waiting staff “is everything alright” raise any problem at that time so that we can rectify it to the satisfaction of the customer, rather than resort to leaving negative feedback several days afterwards on a public site
Written 2 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

awb_11
Great Waldingfield149 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 none
On our first visit to Bungay, we came well prepared with expectations that this would be the nicest place for lunch, and it was indeed nice, though we had to book our spot in pleasant terrace garden area for the dog to be able to sit with us. All staff were efficient and personable, I notice that they have a policy of enquiring twice how things are with your meal, and they did. We had most enjoyable lunch, mine a lamb tagine which was very tasty.
Written 27 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wanderer25978230834
Dear awb_11 Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we're so pleased we met your expectations! The garden has been particularly popular over the summer this year and its lovely to see everyone out there relaxing over their alfresco lunch; its great to hear you enjoyed yours.
Written 9 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Suffolklandlady
Beccles1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
We have been to several of these themed evenings before so were thrilled when they started to do them again. It was great that there is now a takeaway option which we had. The food as always was delicious and unusual and came with full instructions on how to heat up or cook. We shared with friends in our garden who also rated the food highly. We will definitely consider their next one ( Mediterranean) at the end of September.
Written 26 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gem_Jean_Keith_Mike
Dear Suffolklandlady Thank you for finding the time to write such a complementary review- with feedback like this we don’t need to pay for advertising! We are also pleased to learn that your friends enjoyed the food too. We are already planning our special evening events for 2021, our other themed events for October & November are Lebanese & Festive.
Written 1 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SMcC333
Suffolk19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
I wanted to write a review as, whilst I have really enjoyed every visit to the cafe during the daytime, we have just had the most delicious food as part of the Palestinian tasting evening and it seems only fair to tell people how great it was! Six courses, starting with Labneh and salad, then spinach pie, stuffed red pepper. Bedouin lamb (chickpea tagine as vegetarian option), lemon and pomegranate cake, and a very nice biscuit to finish. Everything was full of flavour and perfectly prepared. Serving it up at home was all very straightforward too. Absolutely delicious - looking forward to the next one!
Written 21 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gem_Jean_Keith_Mike
Dear SMcC333 Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent meal. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food. We have received a lot of positive feedback about our first take away taster meal. We have a 6 Course Mediterranean Tasting Evening at the end of September which we will once again be offering for people to enjoy at home. The menu is now on our website, hopefully it takes your fancy!
Written 1 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

gabbiemerton
London39 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 couples
Great lunch and service. I had the goats cheese and root veg tart with seasonal salads and my other half had a bacon and Brie sandwich. Everything was really tasty and filling! Lovely garden covered up and heaters too.
Written 30 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma_Mike
Dear gabbiemerton Thankyou very much for the very complementary review you have posted following your visit to Earsham Street Café. Unfortunately, the latest “Lockdown” has caused us to close our doors temporarily, but we are planning to open again as soon as we are allowed, and we hope we will be able to welcome you back if you are in the area again in the future.
Written 8 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joy G
81 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 none
We accidentally found this wonderful place, and since that time have been regularly visiting from Gorleston. The garden is amazing and plants so well cared for. The staff so well trained and polite. The food is amazing. The chef is really good. We have enjoyed a fantastic breakfast, lunches, soups are wonderful and today a lovely crayfish risotto. Most times we cannot manage a pudding so we bring one home. The carrot cake is a real favourite. We always book ahead and bring our dog who is welcomed with a biscuit. Having owned a restaurant many years ago, I can genuinely say it’s a pleasure to visit this wonderful cafe, and it’s become a highlight of our day to eat there, and also buy wonderful fish just a few doors down to take home. We are just so thrilled it’s there, and visit as often as possible.
Written 28 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wanderer25978230834
Dear Joy G We don’t need an advertising agency with feedback like this! Thanks so much. We are very proud of our front of house staff and our talented chefs who work together to provide a great service and we will certainly make them aware of your review We are pleased that both you and your dog enjoy the courtyard garden. We think it has looked the best we have known this year
Written 9 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wendy f
Bungay18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 couples
Well what do we say, we eat here about once a week, and never have a bad meal. The people who serve you are always friendly, and tidy. Tables are always nice and clean, lunch time you get a bite size menu as well as main menu, and, they generally have a couple of specials on the board. Best book a table before you go there, or you might find they are full and cannot get you in, and you might find yourself sat next to a pop star as we once did!!
Written 16 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Joy G
81 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 none
We have been visiting ESC for a few years now and there has never been a time when we have not been very happy with the food and service. It’s such a pleasure to go there. The food is amazing. We love it. Good job we don’t live too near as we would be there every day. Spring and summer is gorgeous in the garden. Cannot speak highly enough of this wonderful find.
Written 9 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma_Mike
Dear Joy G It’s lovely to hear you enjoy visiting us so much & keep coming back! It makes all the hard work worthwhile with reviews like yours- thank you. We are just planting up the baskets & pots ready for May onwards in the garden; our favourite time of year. Look forward to welcoming you again soon
Written 14 March 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pollen9
Olhao7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 friends
Amazing market and perfect weather all topped off by a morning coffee break at Earsham Street. Plenty of room despite the town being so busy and the staff engaging and helpful. We are a bit demanding- know what we like and one Coeliac but they more than coped! A gluten free chocolate / orange cake and a delicious raspberry / fig slice were washed down with gutsy coffee and cream( lashings of). The lunch menu looked tempting and good value. Best catering of our holiday in Diss.
Written 12 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma_Mike
Dear Pollen 9 Thank you very much for the review of your visit & popping in to see us during your holiday. Its the first street market in Bungay for nearly 2 years, usually there are three a year and they are really popular events. Its great to hear we were able to offer you a tasty cake for your dietary requirements and coffee to keep your energy levels up for shopping! We are pleased to read your comments concerning the customer service- as you can imagine the street markets are busy and our staff work hard & as a team to cope & make it a smooth running day.
Written 13 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

AD7766
Great Yarmouth21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021 none
A new find for us, we've eaten in there a couple of times... however we've had three of their takeaway taster menus that are 'finished off' at home. All have been really good and are highly recommended. It's like a meal out, but at home. Keep up the good work and I hope it continues after lockdown ends.
Written 16 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma_Mike
Dear AD7766 Thankyou for taking the time to post a review We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your Taster Meals. Although the Café has now re-opened, we are continuing to offer the Taster Meals as an “eat at home” option, so customers can either enjoy the food in the café or in the comfort of their own homes- the best of both worlds!
Written 9 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 299
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Old Bank Tearoom
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
The Fleece Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, International, British, Pub
The Castle Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
The Olive Tree
££ - £££ · Italian
The Three Cooks
££ - £££ · Asian, Cambodian
Suffolk Stonehouse
££ - £££ · Pizza
Bigod's Kitchen
££ - £££ · Cafe, British, Healthy
The Buck Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Earsham Hall Tearooms
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
Fiano
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

EARSHAM STREET CAFE, Bungay - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire