We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dun Cow

) #23 of 54 Restaurants in Chester-le-Street ££ - £££ , British,
Primrose Hill | Bournmoor, Chester-le-Street DH4 6DY, England
+44 191 385 2631
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“pork” (7 reviews)
“moussaka” (3 reviews)
“steak” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Primrose Hill | Bournmoor, Chester-le-Street DH4 6DY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We visited for a 'get out of the rain' lunch. The welcome was warm the food and service hot, and the beer was good. It was almost good. I'd probably go back, it is worth a second visit.

1  Thank Ian B
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Called in on Sarurday lunchtime to receive a friendly welcome and informed which seat to use for most comfort. Good drinks and an extensive food menu. My wife and mother in law had the chicken Swiss which they both thoroughly enjoyed and said it was...More

Thank bobcoffer
Reviewed 18 January 2017

A traditional pub setting with traditional good pub grub. We have had Sunday dinner there several times now and always left both full and satisfied. With a range of options for Sunday lunch and good sized portions you'll leave knowing you've had a good fill....More

Thank Michael Joe H
janicedale, Owner at The Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. We will hopefully see you soon

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The food is highly disappointing! Me and my boyfriend had a Sunday dinner , the food was freezing and the veg wasn't even cooked properly ! I couldn't even swallow my cabbage! The every day food during the week takes about 40 minutes before served!...More

2  Thank lauren m
janicedale, Owner at The Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

So bad you used us twice.apparently If you are who I think you are you visited us last Sunday and you were asked not once but twice by two separate members of staff how your food was. Not once did you complain.only on having to...More

Reviewed 4 January 2017

We have been waiting to try this pub for some time after driving by so many times. However I really wish we had not bothered. Arrived about 12.40 and only 3 people inside and it was freezing. We ordered our drinks and food. Lovely gent...More

Thank loll01
janicedale, Owner at The Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

I am a bit dismayed at this review I spoke to you in the car park commenting about the weather . You said to me it's freezing in there . I was concerned as we NEVER have a cold pub I came in and checked...More

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We had my mothers 60th birthday party here last night and it couldn't have been nicer. Conservatory was set out lovely before we arrived early to put balloons etc in. Buffet was fresh and hot items were actually served hot not as some parties at...More

1  Thank Ben K
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

I have to highly recommend this pub .One of the best carveries I've tried , the beef was excellent , the veg was lovely , the staff were really nice and it made for a lovely Sunday lunch experience . Give it a try ,...More

Thank kevstewart
janicedale, Owner at The Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Thanks for your lovely comments. We are proud of our proper Sunday lunch and we are very happy to hear that you appreciate our efforts.We very much look forward to seeing you on future visits

Reviewed 14 November 2016

This is a classic north country pub with stone walls, timbered ceilings and an open hearth fire. There is a small but constantly changing selection of real ales as well as the ubiquitous larger, stout an keg beers. The clients are very friendly, so no...More

Thank GE0START
janicedale, Owner at The Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Thank you for your lovely review, I notice that you are from Stavanger Norway which I have personally visited.Knowing of the high standard of cuisine In your country .I am doubly pleased to see your comments.I hope that you enjoyed your visit's to both our...More

Reviewed 5 November 2016

We have visited this Pub to eat about 6 times over the last two years. Usually we have been happy with the food but not this time . We both had sandwiches and it is stated in the Pub that sandwiches are served in Artisan...More

2  Thank skiathos2000
janicedale, Owner at The Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

We are glad that you found many aspects of our pub appealing on your various visits over the last two years.we are sorry that you feel let down by the bread in your sandwich, It is not baked on the premises and does not say...More

Reviewed 26 September 2016

we found this pub by accident we decided to call in for a drink from the minute we went in every one was friendly and helpful so we decided to have a meal a couple of week s later amazing . staff was so helpful...More

Thank kennethnormington123
janicedale, Owner at The Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Thank you for your lovely review we try our best and it is always lovely to have good comments.I know that you have visited several times since your review.and hopefully you have enjoyed all of your times with us

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
A'la Turka Turkish Bbq & Grill Restaurant
230 reviews
.42 miles away
Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn
419 reviews
.69 miles away
SUNARGA INDIAN RESTAURANT
171 reviews
.63 miles away
The Mill House Bar & Restaurant
359 reviews
.95 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Pelaw Grange Greyhound Stadium
14 reviews
1.38 miles away
Riverside Park
57 reviews
3.06 miles away
Fusion Studios
6 reviews
.34 miles away
AMF Bowling Washington
89 reviews
1.57 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bruce H
23 October 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from janicedale | Property representative |
Hello Bruce I am sorry for the delay in coming back to you.Can I assure you that steps have been taken to ensure the delay you experienced never happens again.Can I say that I am perturbed to learn that you have been in... More
0
Votes
Julie W
20 December 2014|
Answer
Response from Holiday-Lady25 | Reviewed this property |
I think so
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Primrose Hill | Bournmoor, Chester-le-Street DH4 6DY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Chester-le-Street
  • Phone Number: +44 191 385 2631
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing