We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Craven Arms Cruck Barn

) #1 of 3 Restaurants in Appletreewick ££ - £££ , British,
Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DA, England
+44 1756 720270
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“belly pork” (19 reviews)
“pie” (18 reviews)
“black pudding” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 581 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We had booked a table for 6:30pm but arrived at the pub just after 5pm at the end of our walk. We sat outside with our drinks and watched the world go by. The landlord said we were more than welcome to go sit at...More

Thank Kevin H
Reviewed 5 days ago

If you are an overseas visitor and wish to see what pubs were like between the wars, that is 'the war of independence 'and 'the Civil War', if you are a 'yank', then this is a place NOT TO BE MISSED. It is superb. Very...More

Thank rexdh
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for taking the time to send a review of The Craven Arms and Cruck Barn in Appletreewick. We are very pleased to see that you liked it. Just a couple of points we were a little confused with and wonder if...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

My partner and I visited for one night with our dogs, and stayed just down the road at Masons. We visited earlier in the day for drinks in the sunshine and booked a table for the pub evening. The pub was busy that night with...More

Thank Kate W
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Kate Thank you for posting a predominantly good review on tripadvisor. We thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to send this in. At peak times it can get a little hectic in the bar area and we are managing many...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

First visit what an amazing place so interesting like a living museum we had the fish and chips and the steak pie it was delicious lovely staff and a very amiable landlord will come again worth a visitMore

1  Thank anita l
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Anita Many thanks for your 100% positive review of The Craven Arms and Cruck Barn. We were all pleased to read your comments with regard to our foods served and staff and we do aim to give the best possible experience in hospitality and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good food, nice concept with a blackboard where you can see the menu. You see as well what has been sold out. The food was excellent. The weather was nice so we were outside and had a nice view over the valley We felt a...More

1  Thank Liesbethstaal
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Sir / Madam A brilliant heading and 100% review of The Craven Arms and Cruck Barn in Appletreewick. Thank you! Great that you enjoyed a trip down memory lane! Our excellent team in the kitchen will be very pleased to read your comments with...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

we were asked to book a table by 1430 as there was a wedding booked at 1530 but by 1530 we had not been served and then when the food came there was a mix up with my order and i did not get what...More

Thank tunnifish
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you for taking the time to review The Craven Arms and Cruck Barn. I can only apologise for the food delay you experienced when you visited us and that there was a mix up with the order you placed! During...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of eight of us, stopped at the Craven Arms for lunch during a short walk. It had been highly recommended and didn't disappoint. There was a great choice of real ales and locally sourced food. We sat outside, enjoying the sunshine, scenery and...More

1  Thank 14darrelljm
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/ Madam Thank you very much for posting an excellent review on tripadviser. We were all very pleased to read it and good that we lived up to the recommendation you were given. Thank you for your specific comments with regard to our cask...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We celebrated our wedding in cruck barn located behind the craven arms last Saturday and we literally had the most perfect day! The whole day went to plan and that was all down to the amazing staff who work here. We would like to thank...More

3  Thank Alexandra B
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Alex A huge Thank you from all the team here for this "Outstanding" review and much appreciate you sending this in. We have a brilliant team of staff right through The Craven Arms ....difficult to name them all but as overall manager, I can...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went with 2 friends for dinner last Sunday evening and everything was great and would recommend the Arms to anybody. Great staff and great food.

1  Thank EdinburghTreefrog
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sir. Thank you for your excellent review of The Craven Arms and Cruck Barn. The heading says it all! Thank you also for your comments about our great team of staff and great foods served. Very best wishes Richard (Richard Powell - Manager )

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a wonderful pub in a lovely old C17th-ish building, but it's probably best to visit it in autumn/winter as the food has the purpose of really warming you up - it could do to have a separate summer menu when people are perhaps...More

Thank Cressida O
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam A lovely review - Thank you for taking the time to do it. Thank you for your detailed comments with regard to our foods served and rest assured, that we are just reviewing the menu. You can have a look on line live...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Riverbank Coffee Hut
36 reviews
1.29 miles away
The Old School Tea Room
208 reviews
2.32 miles away
The Fountaine Inn
503 reviews
3.68 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St Michael and All Angels Church
6 reviews
3.52 miles away
Bolton Abbey
1,207 reviews
3.86 miles away
Linton Falls
126 reviews
3.91 miles away
Hesketh Farm Park
461 reviews
4.02 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
PrimulaAmbleside
25 May 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Denise S | Reviewed this property |
Yes there are vegan meals on the menu as well as the specials biard
0
Votes
Anna00000000
25 September 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from ric956 | Property representative |
Hi Anna Yes we do, Please ask when you arrive and our chefs will be only too pleased to meet your individual needs. Many thanks Richard (Manager)
0
Votes
Sarahhemingway
22 July 2015|
Answer
Response from CravenAppletreewick | Property representative |
Hi There, yes we do welcome dogs into the pub, on a lead & under control. Yours Rob
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$34
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Yorkshire Dales National Park  >  Appletreewick
  • Phone Number: +44 1756 720270
  • E-mail
Description
If you you are ever unhappy with your trip please tell us at the time & we will be happy to put things right for you. Otherwise please enjoy our unique and cosy traditional Yorkshire pub set in the Yorkshire Dales, with real gas lights, log fires & great Beer. Homemade food, with local talented chefs bringing classic traditional Yorkshire food and service to our tables.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing