We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Craven Arms Cruck Barn

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DA, England
+44 1756 720270
Website
Today
11:30 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 546: English reviews
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I enjoyed very much my visit. . It is a traditional pub, that even had open fire alight. I had 12hours slow cooked belly pork that's was just delicious and a very generous portion.My boyfriend had a pie and chips that was also delicious. In spite of being very busy, service was very good and definitely I will go again.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Helena M
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just called in for a couple of drinks quite appalled at the price of guiness much more expensive than an ordinary pub, we have been there before in the cruck barn but could not handle the dogs that were snuffling around whilst one was eating!! Very unhygienic indeed. Not keen on returning for a meal but you never... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susanp123459
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam Thank you very much for posting a review on tripadvisor. I will attempt to answer your "Disappointment" as best I can... "To be honest" as you put it, our prices remain very competitive, certainly bearing in mind our very remote location. We keep an excellent range of locally sourced cask ales. Compared with J.D Weatherspoon's we are... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked a table in the main Cruck barn as we've been before and the first time we went it was excellent ! Each time we've gone back it has had a few problems ie /not able to order pudding as the chefs had left . Today was awful . We booked for my daughters 24 th birthday in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this review

Dear Sarah Thank you very much for taking a considerable amount of time out to duplicate/ review The Craven Arms and Cruck Barn at Appletreewick . We are very sorry that your experience was not as you had expected. I have already replied to this initial review from another member of your party on the 9th April and we are... More 

North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We've just had our youngest daughters wedding reception at the Cruck Barn and it was perfect. From start to finish all the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The room was laid out exactly as we had hoped and the food was amazing. When I first heard that there were to be several different menu choices for... More 

Helpful?
Thank PCHNorthYorkshire
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this review

A BIG Thank you to you for your excellent review following your daughters wedding reception at The Craven \Arms and Cruck Barn. A Brilliant day!! I enjoyed it all! I was absolutely delighted to read this first hand review and a great pleasure to manage a very exciting day and support a very capable team. I had some lovely comments... More 

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We sought out the Craven Arms from a Google search and arrived early evening to find it packed. Appletreewick is more remote than I had imagined and is little more than a hamlet, but set in beautiful countryside where we loved watching the lambs at play. The Inn is clearly well known, with a row of cars and bikes outside... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RAPCopperfields
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Many thanks for your excellent review of the pub. Much appreciated! Did you not know.....We are actually the centre of everywhere! Not the middle of nowhere! Have a look on the map! You will see! There is an old historical and official centre point in the pub on the flagged floor, which dedicates itself to the centre of... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed a few quality pints of ale and a light lunch in this lovely old pub, sitting next to the fire after a walk through the surrounding countryside. Full of character and very homely and welcoming. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We would not have found this place ordinarily but one of our group had been many times before.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie F
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this review

Dear Jeannie Thank you very much for your lovely review of The Craven Arms and Cruck Barn. We were all very pleased to read it and especially your heading! Surely we are.......... Very much "On The Beaten Track" Thank you also for your comments with regard to our great team of service staff. Thank you also for your comments about... More 

Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub is very much off the beaten track, but well worth a visit. The Craven Arms has an innovative landlord, and various events take place here during the year. Our visit coincided with the 1940s re-enactment weekend, which was fascinating. The event was well attended, and obviously the pub was very busy, but the staff have to be congratulated... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rocko1947
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you very much for your excellent review of The Craven Arms and Cruck Barn. A pleasure to read it all. Definitely an innovative Landlord and family! The 1940's was a great weekend as you say, hosted by Tom Powell. He did a great job and so did our team in the kitchen and front of... More 

Andratx, Spain
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Selection of real ales with a large jovial host. Plenty of banter. Good honest fayre, warm log fires (one Ingle Nook) and a clever replica Cruck barn, function/dining room

Helpful?
1 Thank 007jb2017
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Craven Arms and Cruck Barn. A great heading! We hope to see you again soon Very best wishes Richard (Richard Powell - Manager and Senior Leadership Team) More 

Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were recommended this place by the general manager of the Devonshire Arms hotel at Bolton Abbey as a change from the hotel restaurants. It lived up to his description. Very friendly and welcoming with a good choice of food. I enjoyed a very generous and filling goats cheese salad.

Helpful?
1 Thank ann s
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this review

Dear Ann Many thanks for your excellent review of The Craven Arms and Cruck Barn. We much appreciate you taking the time to post a very positive review on line. Thank you also to the Devonshire Arms Manager/ team at Bolton Abbey for very kindly recommending us too! Likewise, we would certainly recommend them for their fine dining and excellent... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am surprised I have to write this review as I was expecting it to be a brilliant night out with the family for my birthday. One of the main reasons we chose this place was because of the barn and how we loved it the last time we were here. When we arrived however we were sat at a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca M
ric956, Manager at Craven Arms Cruck Barn, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca Many thanks for your review. We are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations though I have to say that having talked to my staff, your review does not read very favourably! 1. As far as I can see, you had not requested the barn! As manager, I had asked my staff to check... More 

Travellers who viewed Craven Arms Cruck Barn also viewed

Linton-in-Craven, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Craven Arms Cruck Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$33
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Yorkshire Dales National Park  >  Appletreewick
  • Phone Number: +44 1756 720270
Description
If you you are ever unhappy with your trip please tell us at the time & we will be happy to put things right for you.
Otherwise please enjoy our unique and cosy traditional Yorkshire pub set in the Yorkshire Dales, with real gas lights, log fires & great Beer. Homemade food, with local talented chefs bringing classic traditional Yorkshire food and service to our tables.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Craven Arms Cruck Barn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Craven Arms Cruck Barn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?