We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hog at Horsley

The Cross, Horsley GL6 0PR, England
+44 1453 833843
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good23%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“hog burger” (2 reviews)
“pudding” (21 reviews)
“crostini” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Cross, Horsley GL6 0PR, England
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We have been to Horsley on a number of occasions and each time we visit the Hog for lunch. As usual when we visited the food was freshly cooked and presented well and they catered to some of the families dietary oddities. The salmon salad...More

Thank TheOldToxophilist
Reviewed 1 week ago

Being on holiday in the local area we visited the Hog on several occasions, mainly sitting outside for drinks. The outside area whilst lovely really requires new furniture, we were scared to sit on the very bendy wooden benches! Visiting the Cotswolds we expected to...More

2  Thank j05961
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for hog fest. Nice atmosphere, had laid back music on. BBQ was amazing, we had an enormous pork chop and decent portion of Thai tuna steak both with chips and salad for £15. Good choice of beers. Food and drink all locally sourced. Amazing...More

Thank blackrose1583
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tonight I ate at the Hog with some friends. Having previously had lunch here last year and enjoyed it I was looking forward to some good food. Maybe the kitchen was having an off day today as unfortunately the food was not good at all....More

1  Thank PhysioDevon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

went with friends for the hog roast an event they run every year, we had a present evening we had the Paella it was ok more rice and not enough sea food in it lots of side to go with Overall good evening. by the...More

1  Thank Ron K
Hannah M, Manager at The Hog at Horsley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Ron Thank you for leaving your feedback here sorry you felt you did not get enough seafood please let us know at the time next time ago we can rectify the situation. It was such a successful weekend and we are delighted to hear...More

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Having been to the Hog twice in the past we decided to go again for my birthday - 6 of us covering 3 generations. The long and the short of it was that the roast beef I had been looking forward to was dry, over-cooked...More

3  Thank Andy Bernard
Caroline S, Manager at The Hog at Horsley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Mr. Bernard, Firstly let me thank you for joining us last Sunday, I am very sorry that you found your experience less than stellar, as our reputation for food of late has been very good (at least that what we hear through the grapevine...) I...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Having spent the morning walking around Westonbirt Arboretum with 3 teenagers and 3 dogs we came to the Hog hungry with anticipation- we were not disappointed! 3 beef and 1 roast pork Sunday specials were devoured with relish (or at least apple sauce) and the...More

Thank John D
Hannah M, Manager at The Hog at Horsley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Hello John Many thanks for leaving your feedback here we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Hog. Like you say perfect reward after a walk to come and enjoy our delicious food and atmosphere. We hope to see you back soon.

Reviewed 17 April 2017

The decor is very nice and it was buzzing, and does allow dogs which is great if you have one! Went with friends and those that had the fish dishes were very pleased with their meals. However the two of us that had the risottos...More

2  Thank Christine G
Hannah M, Manager at The Hog at Horsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Christine So sorry to hear you were disappointed with the risotto which is usually a very popular dish. Please let us know at the time if you have a problem with an order so we can rectify the situation immediately. Our chef is very...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

My meal was good but rather a long wait - about an hour. The bar man was exceptionally grumpy but young waiter fine!!

Thank Peter G
Hannah M, Manager at The Hog at Horsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We apologise for the long wait you must have come on a very busy day. Happy to hear it was worth waiting for.

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised by the quality the chef produced in the kitchen. You can watch the chef and she was excellent making wholesome food which tasted good - every bit of it. Good beer and good service too.

Thank Tim B
Hannah M, Manager at The Hog at Horsley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hello Tim Delighted you enjoyed your visit and the food our Chef is producing we are very proud too! Many thanks for writing about it here. We hope you will be back soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Olive Tree
493 reviews
1.32 miles away
Amalfi
109 reviews
1.17 miles away
Britannia Inn
317 reviews
1.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hands on Bushcraft
31 reviews
1.32 miles away
Torbay Express Limited
68 reviews
1.93 miles away
Thistledown Farm
127 reviews
2.17 miles away
Woodchester Mansion
284 reviews
2.75 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Jackie P
Hello we are visiting nearby and looking for a Sunday lunch on 26th March table for 4 do you have one free 1pm or around that time please?
16 March 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Simonjg08 | Reviewed this property |
Dear Jackie. I think you've sent this question to me in error. I'm just a customer, I was a regular until they changed the chef. The last few meals we've had there have been disappointing
0
Votes
exsalopian
I would like to buy a voucher for a meal for my son as a birthday present, is this possible
16 July 2015|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from che55ie | Reviewed this property |
Give Caroline a call! 01453 833843
0
Votes
katyh378
Could anyone tell me how small the heated pool is - February stay booked and sounds like larger pool will be too cold for kids to use?
10 January 2015|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Sarah H | Property representative |
Landlady of the hog at horsley here, thank you for your enquiry... We are a counrty pub with no pool alas... Hope you have s lovely holiday wherever you are going!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$19
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Cross, Horsley GL6 0PR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Horsley
  • Phone Number: +44 1453 833843
  • E-mail
Description
The Hog at Horsley is a vibrant, popular, quirky Pub in the Cotswold village of Horsley. It specialises in serving good quality, locally sources food and drink. The Hub of the village, it has a good garden and is family and dog friendly. It has a very good name for its excellent food, from its extensive fish menu to its legendary Sunday lunches.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing