We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (514)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
303
130
32
29
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
303
130
32
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast roast potatoes burger salad bread the pub mawgan porth large beer garden very generous portions fantastic food an evening meal dog steph holiday cornwall ploughmans pint
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sunday Lunch very average for the price, beef or pork. Service slow. Atmosphere nice though, real fire. Friendly accommodating booking experience.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2023

Went here as part of an away weekend from our home in Devon. The staff were most welcoming and organised and the "locals" were friendly too. We had pre-booked a table prior to our visit and weren't disappointed with the food or service. What we...hd was exceptionally well cooked and presented and was a joy to eat. I wouldn't hesitate to return !More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2023 via mobile

Excellent service, lovely food. Presented well, full of flavour. Great spirits/wine and beer menu. We sat in the back, near the kitchen entrance and were originally placed on a round table by the swinging door. It was no problem when we asked if we could...move to a window table, they were more than accommodating. I had the Hunters Chicken and as a favourite dish of mine, it was strange to see it cooked without the BBQ sauce. However, I really enjoyed it regardless.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023 via mobile

We are returning customers after friends introduced us to this pub previously. This time we returned with family and it all honesty our experience was less than satisfactory. I will start by saying the quality of food was lovely just as it was on previous...visits but unfortunately that’s as far as my praise can stretch at this time. I had prebooked our table and upon arrival was told ‘your table is over there in the corner’ no one showed us to the table which absolutely is not a problem, but it also meant no one asked us if we required a high chair for my 2 year old so my husband went and found one. It also meant no one took our drinks order until we went to the bar and asked. When the young gentleman did come over we ordered all of our food at the same time as we knew what we wanted - worth mentioning our table was booked at 6pm so at the latest we probably ordered at 6:15 (or no one came to take our drinks orders for a considerable long time). Our drinks arrived a short while afterwards although two were wrong and had to be taken back to the bar to be rectified. Some time later we got the starters 3 of us had ordered - at this time because we’d been waiting a while we asked for my toddlers meal to be brought out as she was very hungry. I can’t say for sure what time our starters were served, but according to a member of staff it’s not unusual for a 30-40 minute wait after starters for mains. This was communicated to me after I complained at the end. At no point prior to ordering were we told of any wait on food. Also worth mentioning a member of staff asked if everything was ok during our starters and as previously stated as the food was delicious we answered yes. At this point despite waiting for starters we assumed now these had been served our mains wouldn’t be long, unfortunately we were wrong. Eventually at 7:27 my husband asked how long our mains would be, and decided if they weren’t there by 7:30pm we would leave. After we’d chased up the young gentleman our mains did then arrive - so for some of our party after arriving at 6pm this was their first food, and would have been for my toddler had we not requested it earlier. We then felt we had to rush our meals as my toddler had finished and we were keen to get her home to bed so as to not be a nuisance to anybody else (hence the early booking). As we were finishing our food my husband asked for the bill and voiced our displeasure but was told a 40 minute wait was usual and he said it would be nice to be informed of that upon ordering. No real apology or gesture of goodwill. I wasn’t happy with this so I went up to pay and asked for my toddlers meal costing £7.50 to be taken off our roughly £136 bill. Again this wasn’t done immediately and I had to argue my point that it wasn’t really acceptable we had to chase staff for our mains. At this point the member of staff who had asked if our starters were ok did say well I did ask if everything was ok which I feel wasn’t really conducive or appropriate as at that point some of my issues hadn’t even happened and we did answer that everything was ok as the food was lovely. All in all lovely food was spoilt by poor service, my issue wasn’t even really with the wait, it was the complete lack of communication. If we had been warned or even apologised for the wait we could have made the choice to take our custom elsewhere or wait and then that would have been our own decision to blame, however in this instance I feel there was very poor service and no real accountability taken. I hope the owner sees this and takes my praise of the excellent food, but could offer me assurances that if I were to ever return we would receive much better service. I would love to be able to come back and change my recommendation to reflect my previous views.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Lomax, Owner at The Falcon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2023

Wowzers! After 2 cups of coffee and a wee break I finally got to the end of your review. You must be exhausted after that essay. I'm really glad that you enjoyed our food. Great to hear as we have such a tiny kitchen with...More

Reviewed 12 July 2023 via mobile

Although upon arrival we received a very warm reception from the bar staff, we were then given a table in a nice spot. We ordered our meal and enjoyed our drink. When the meal arrived one was fine. However the pasty had been in an...oven obviously for a ling time and the base had been burnt to a cinder, so much so that all the meat inside was hard and dry and inedible. When we pointed this out to the waitress, she half heartedly apologised and said she’d let the kitchen know. As we were sitting outside the kitchen, table No 8 to be precise we could hear her as she proceeded into the kitchen and and announced “ someone out there is moaning about the pasty” Nothing else was said or offered to us and they visibly hesitated collecting our plates as the said pasty was only half eaten as it was really not digestible. Eventually they cleared the plate and asked how everything was, I started and said ok and was about to mention the pasty when the waitress cut in and said apart from that and pointed at remains if pasty. Again she apologised and said a half hearted sorry. We asked for bill and was fully charged for everything. My point is this, our family has been using this pub since ore war and 1940s onwards and although I’m from the Midlands and only use it when visiting family, it just seems such a shame that one bad experience can provoke an ill for a place that has had such good memories for us in the past so much that we have recommended many people to visit and I only hope that they don’t have a poor experience like we had today. We have nicknamed it “Pastygate”More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2023

Very nice location in a quiet village. The staff were very helpful and friendly as were the locals who made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed an excellent 3 course meal and drinks and would thoroughly recommend this pub. We will be returning for sure.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023

Absolutely fantastic Sunday Lunch. We rang to book on the day but the restaurant was fully booked but we were told we could just turn up and eat out on the terrace with no reservation. We all chose the Sunday Lunch and it was faultless....Service was excellent very friendly bar staff, food arrived quickly, piping hot and very tasty. Cauliflower cheese best I’ve ever tasted, roast beef lovely and well cooked.Great selection of fresh veg which was cooked perfectly. We will definitely be back and will recommend to friends. Thank you Falcon InnMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023

As this pub had good reviews we thought we would book up for an evening meal. First impressions; lovely old pub in great location with beautiful garden area - what's not to like. We were seated at our table and promptly ordered our food from...a great looking menu. I ordered the Sea Bass and my partner ordered the Seafood Spaghetti. Now, I am more than happy to wait for freshly prepared food, but I do think 45mins is about the limit. At that point we did politely ask the waitress, and she did apologise for the wait. After an hour, we were nearly past the point of being hungry. An hour and ten minutes and it finally arrived. To be fair, the food when it did arrive was lovely, and had there not been the huge wait I would have awarded 5* to this pub. Perhaps they should not take so many bookings if the kitchen is unable to cope with the demand? We had no explanation for the delay. It's a shame, as overall this has put us off returning.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2023 via mobile

We waked to this pub from Mawgan Porth and found the village to be beautiful. I phoned to book a table and the staff were friendly and asked if they needed to accommodate dogs- which was excellent. Arrived to a warm welcome, delicious food and...attentive service. Lovely evening all in all.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2023

Traditional English pub with good old fashioned polite,friendly service my wife and I had a fantastic lunch here my wife was most impressed with the gluten free scampi and chips and I can honestly say that my ham egg and chips was amazing all served...promptly size of the portions was on the generous side If you’re in the Newquay area make sure that you put this little gem in your sat nav it’s well worth a visitMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2023 via mobile

Visited this little gem at midday on a Saturday with my 75 year old mum and partner. Called them at 11 and booked on the day without issue. They asked us at booking if we were taking our dog which was great. We were the...first ones there. Accessibility for mum (who is a bit wobbly at times) was great. No slip trip hazards. The place was well put together, clean and had a cozy feel. The meals were excellent. Prices were on the higher side but it was worth it for the service and standard. St Mawgan itself is a lovely little gem of a place and the falcon is well suited and fits the village nicely. The garden is well kept. I get the feeling that the inn does get very so booking is suggested. Well worth the visit.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2023 via mobile

A lovely pub in such a pretty setting. Very tasty food enjoyed in the large beer garden. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2023 via mobile

We were 2 couples & a dog who visited on a Wednesday evening. Beautiful village pub, very picturesque setting. We received a warm welcome, everyone we spoke to was very friendly & efficient. Our meals were all delicious, very tasty & well presented, much enjoyed...by all. Would definitely recommend.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2023 via mobile

Highly recommend visiting this place if you are looking to have pub grub or even few drinks. Lovely beer garden and seating areas outside. Dog friendly, great service and quality of food for very good price was excellent too!

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2023 via mobile

A real find for us, as it is only 15 minutes from home. The village of St Mawgan is very picturesque and the Falcon Inn is in the middle by the church and river. The menu is fairly short and simple, which is good in...my book. We ordered a Ploughmans and Ham, Egg & Chips, both of which exceeded all expectations with quality and freshness of the ingredients. The garden is an oasis of peace and calm, with the benefit of being very dog friendly. The warmth of welcome from owner and staff made us want to make this a regular lunch stop. Thank you 🐕More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Retorrick Mill
71 reviews
.69 miles away
Blue Bay House
106 reviews
1.45 miles away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
2,387 reviews
1.73 miles away
The Scarlet Hotel
2,384 reviews
1.74 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
St Mawgan Tea Room and Garden
294 reviews
.02 miles away
Hawkeys Cafe
102 reviews
.01 miles away
Off The Path Coffee
74 reviews
.80 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Japanese Garden
562 reviews
.16 miles away
Mawgan Porth Beach
193 reviews
1.65 miles away
Art at the Beach
172 reviews
1.66 miles away
Flynqy Pilot Training
36 reviews
.57 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Pips F
23 August 2023|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from N9511MOsueh | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I don’t know, but I’m sure if you ask the restaurant directly they will be able to fill you in.
0
Votes
28 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from shl | Reviewed this property |
YES they allow dogs in the bar and garden but not the restaurant area
0
Votes
sharmiller123s
5 March 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Stephanie L | Property representative |
Hi sorry I have only just seen your message. No we don't serve breakfast I'm afraid. You can get breakfast next door at Alans in Hawkeys Cafe.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE FALCON INN, St. Mawgan - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Falcon Inn

The Falcon Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4