We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Squirrel Pub

Claimed
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Food and ambience

Location and contact

About
We boast a varied and extensive menu with a superb daily carvery right at the heart what we do. The carvery is freshly prepared and offers a choice of three succulent meats carved by our friendly chefs, temptingly displayed alongside a wide range of seasonal vegetables and homemade Yorkshire puddings. At the bar you can choose from a superb selection of cask ales from Marston's' five breweries.
PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$39
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
125
77
63
48
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
125
77
63
48
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pudding cakes table number medium plate food was lovely great carvery my mum great value for money at lunchtime family meal small carvery squirrel lodge meats marstons carveries ferry
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for lunch, after avoiding for almost a year. Greeted pleasantly initially by a smart dressed girl and a uniformed waitress begin the bar. The only 2 on shift. At 12.15pm Nothing new there. Ordered, she asked for table number which i forgot you needed...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank alanfM6029KB
Richard H, General Manager at The Red Squirrel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I'm sorry that you feel we don't take your comments seriously, we do in-fact take all comments seriously. Rick

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We choose the place due to its location but we really were not impressed. No soap in the toilet which is terrible from a hygene point of view. The door swipe card stopped working on the second day of our 2 night stay. Extra sheets...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank KenThis
RDSQ, Manager at The Red Squirrel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello KenThis I have raised these issues with our housekeeping department who apologise for issues you have raised.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went on the 5th of February the staff were nice and respectful, the food however was terrible it was cold and wasn’t worth the money won’t be back

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank McMillan90
RDSQ, Manager at The Red Squirrel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello McMillan90 I apologise that your expectations were not met on this occasion. The issue has been raised with our kitchen team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Marston inn overnight in a warm room with a large comfortable bed. Had a lovely breakfast the next morning consisting of cerial, toast, fruit, pastries and a big fry up, which lasted us all day.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Daviemanxx
RDSQ, Manager at The Red Squirrel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback. This is greatly appreciated and will be passed along to the team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Waited over 40 mins for 2 burgers 1 Yorkshire taco and I carvery. Food was cold. Table beside us was not cleared for over 50 mins despite not being very busy. Taco was awful hard and meat cold and sweet potato fries were stone cold....More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank 576yvonneh
Richard H, General Manager at The Red Squirrel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

HI Yvonne H, I'm sorry that your recent visit wasn't as great as we would of liked I will pass your comments on to the team working Sunday.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food, reasonable prices. They also offer vegan option, which we tried [we are not vegan] but tasted really good. Stuff is friendly. Cutlery was dirty though.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank emergete
Richard H, General Manager at The Red Squirrel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Emergete thank you for your kind comments, The team were delighted to read them

Reviewed 27 December 2018 via mobile

We were wet and tired when we fell in through the door. The warm welcome was great, as was finding out that the lovely young lady behind the bar, was from our neck of the woods. Not every one understands Geordy, so it's great when...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Viv K
RDSQ, Supervisor at The Red Squirrel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2018

Lovely to hear you had a pleasurable experience with us. Just a shame about the weather!

Reviewed 27 December 2018 via mobile

We use this restaurant quite often as we're big fans of its carvery so we decided it would be the ideal place for our boxing day dinner... How wrong we were. We arrived to a not overly busy restaurant and was seated fairly quickly. This...More

Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank Stevie_reviews
Richard H, General Manager at The Red Squirrel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

dear Stevie I am sorry that on your visit we didn't give you the service expected. I hav passed on your comments to the Head chef and Management team on duty that day.

Reviewed 14 December 2018

We had a lunch with you today. as we are vegetarian we ordered aVeg Yorkie Pud wrap.. Description on menu was Yorkshire pudding stuffed with homemade roasties carrots red cabbage stuffing and gravy with a musta rd mayo. We received a huge Yorkshire pudding full...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank AnneB3127
Richard H, General Manager at The Red Squirrel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AnnaB3127, I have passed your comments onto the Kitchen.

Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

We have been here several times before and the food has always been good. Saturday we came for lunch. The burgers wasn't as the menu described. I had the mixed grilled which was extremely disappointing to say the least. Ask for the steak to be...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Storyteller258544
Richard H, General Manager at The Red Squirrel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Storyteller258544, Thank you for your feed back, hopefully you will try us again in the future.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Lauriston Hotel
199 reviews
2.74 miles away
Harbourside Hotel
76 reviews
3.39 miles away
Riverside Lodge Hotel
1,115 reviews
4.12 miles away
The Gailes Hotel
555 reviews
4.84 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 12 nearby restaurants
The Pop Inn
78 reviews
1.08 miles away
The Corner House
309 reviews
1.27 miles away
McGlone's Family Bar
10 reviews
1.31 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 3 nearby attractions
Artastic
128 reviews
1.29 miles away
Stevenston Beach
10 reviews
1.57 miles away
Saltcoats Beach
130 reviews
2.62 miles away
The Pop Inn
7 reviews
1.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ruthm2712018
19 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ianinayr | Reviewed this property |
I would complain to head office
1
Vote
wilmaandwullie
19 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from billnolanpr | Reviewed this property |
Not essential but always worth checking table availability in advance to avoid disappointment.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing