We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by: The Dirty Habit

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Pub with character
1. Pub with character
"The Pub is very old and has so much character"
Deus238
See reviews that mention character
2. Family Meal
2. Family Meal
"The food was well presented and very tasty "
Fussyhousewife
See reviews that mention sunday roast
3. Child, dog and walker friendly
3. Child, dog and walker friendly
"We only stopped here after visiting nearby Leeds Castle"
Alan R
See reviews that mention leeds castle
About
There's nothing taboo about good food, so The Dirty Habit pub restaurant in Hollingbourne near Maidstone is perhaps misleadingly named. Of course the name actually refers to the origins of this historic building on the famed Pilgrims Way, close to the North Downs and dating back to the 11th century, The Dirty Habit started life as a brewery owned and run by monks who also allowed weary travellers to rest here as they made their way to Canterbury. Gloriously characterful, The Dirty Habit maintains features from throughout the intervening years, including cosy fireplaces and ovens, gnarly old beams and a long Georgian oak bar too. From the comfy Monks Corner to the beautifully refurbished terrace,
PRICE RANGE
£5 - £30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1,199)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveller rating
654
328
115
57
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
654
328
115
57
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak sunday roast salad fish and chips pizza linguine bread pork the pub elite pubs lovely old pub lovely meal could not fault booked a table leeds castle pilgrims sean
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 10 October 2022 via mobile

Great location, great atmosphere, tasty food and great with dogs. Excellent and attentive service provided by Oscar. We will be back soon.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Front Office Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2022

Thank you for your lovely feedback!

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 9 October 2022 via mobile

We (my husband and I, mid 30’s, live locally) went for lunch this Friday. I had the duck breast and my husband had the venison burger. We shared the apple and plum crumble. Every element was absolutely delicious! We had such a lovely waiter named...Oscar. He was so knowledgeable and helpful, you know when someone just has an amazing energy about them and you can’t help but smile? That’s exactly what Oscar was like! Not a bad point but something to note is that owing to the architecture of the historic building the wooden beams in the restaurant is low and the tables are quite close together. It didn’t effect out lunch one bit but it’s worth mentioning.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Front Office Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2022

Thank you for your lovely feedback!

Reviewed 10 October 2022

Very good pub food and in a great location with excellent parking facilities. All made even better by the fantastic service provided by Jasmine.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Front Office Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2022

Thank you, happy to hear you had excellent service with us! ⭐

Reviewed 8 October 2022 via mobile

My family n I visited this evening and was greeted by oscar our friendly waitor. He was very cheerful and was throughout had a smile on his face. Cheerful chap

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Front Office Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2022

Thank you for your lovely feedback!

Reviewed 8 October 2022 via mobile

Great meal with friends on Friday Very tasty food & very well looked after by Oscar 🥳 Old World Pub with warmth and charm. Will definitely visit again😉

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Front Office Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2022

Thank you for your lovely feedback

Reviewed 8 October 2022 via mobile

Excellent pub with a warm welcome and a relaxed atmosphere. Extensive wine list and wonderful locally sourced food. Our service from our waiter Oscar was fantastic, with a good knowledge of the wine pairings and was very accommodating and friendly. A lovely meal topped off...with a fine whisky. Will be back.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Front Office Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2022

Thank you for taking your time leaving us a lovely review.

Reviewed 27 September 2022

I meet a friend who moved to the area in-between lockdowns as he had been here before as i live in Northamptonshire and as i walked in on my own the member of staff gave me a warm welcome and was very friendly. The pub...has a great atmosphere. The food was great and staff where very attentive. It is very rare to find a pub this good.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2022

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 13 September 2022 via mobile

The Dirty Habit has been the perfect venue for our funeral wake following the passing of my father. Jessica has supported us throughout the booking and the occasion has been very special indeed. We were extremely well looked after by Fiona and Angie who ensured...we had everything we needed. The food was outstanding and the service was extremely professional, supportive and private.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2022

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed 11 September 2022

Went there for a late lunch. The staff were friendly and the food was delicious . Recommend it for all ages

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Thank you for your recommendation 💖

Reviewed 10 September 2022

Good atmosphere and very welcoming waitress Andra. Great food I had the Power Bowl with chicken. Would recommend. Nice and light and very tasty. The Kebabs were very amusing - you will have to try them to find out why. We did too much talking...and messed up the addition to the bill. They sorted it out with a smile and understanding. Great service!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Thank you for your lovely feedback 🌟

Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

One of the best pubs I’ve been to! Great service by Arden, great food and great atmosphere! I highly recommend getting the burger or the Turkish wings

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Thank you for your review 😊

Reviewed 6 September 2022 via mobile

On our way to Leeds Castle, stoped for lunch, amazing food, great history. Just knowing you are eating where people had lunch 800 years ago is an awesome experience. The good was great too

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review ☺️

Reviewed 5 September 2022 via mobile

Really good food & the service was good, very attentive. Great location & no issues parking in the overflow car park.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2022

Thank you for your feedback 🌟

Reviewed 4 September 2022 via mobile

The dinner was the best. Service spot on. And staff very very nice and very helpful. Spotlessly clean in all areas

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2022

Thank you for your review 💖

Reviewed 4 September 2022 via mobile

Lovely 9 mile walk following the dirty habits trails and amazing meal after. Lucky to have Jasmine look after us who went above and beyond to make not only the humans welcome but our chihuahuas too

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Dirty Habit, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2022

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon 😊

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Days Inn by Wyndham Maidstone
372 reviews
1.24 miles away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
1,805 reviews
1.31 miles away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Tudor Park Country Club
1,315 reviews
2.43 miles away
The Black Horse Inn
899 reviews
2.85 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Park Gate Inn
1,261 reviews
1.08 miles away
The George Inn
681 reviews
1.88 miles away
The Ringlestone Inn
219 reviews
2.14 miles away
Fish on the Green
1,084 reviews
2.70 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Park Gate Inn Bar
57 reviews
1.08 miles away
Go Ape Leeds Castle
347 reviews
2.30 miles away
This Art Of Mine
29 reviews
2.39 miles away
The Bell Inn
70 reviews
3.18 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
68danh
18 May 2021|
Answer
Response from Elitepubs | Property representative |
Hi, Our draught beers are as follows: Peroni, Estrella, Corrs Light, Curious Brew, Harveys, Doom Bar, Cobra, Guiness
0
Votes
jonathanb503
17 June 2019|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Mutts N | Reviewed this property |
There is some overflow parking as well.
0
Votes
398kates
2 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from HFLI89 | Reviewed this property |
No, there isn't a play area.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE DIRTY HABIT, Hollingbourne - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Dirty Habit

Yes, The Dirty Habit is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Dirty Habit is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5