We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Dirty Habit Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The PILGRIMS Way Upper Street, Hollingbourne ME17 1UW, England
+44 1622 880880
Today
12:00 - 21:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 12:00 - 20:00
Tue - Fri 12:00 - 21:30
Sat - Sun 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

642 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 638: English reviews
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my partner here for her birthday this weekend. Food was excellent (Scallops for starters were to die for and my fillet steak was cooked to perfection), service was very good also (very nice staff). We enjoyed some nice wine and I also I noticed that there was a very good selection of beers and very much enjoyed a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank DelBiy1958
Maidstone
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited in Dec for an intimate lunch for two and was not disappointed. Despite the pub being full with Christmas revellers and group bookings, we had a small table for two next to a warm and cosy log burner! Menu was interesting, full of tasty choices and staff where very helpful with advice. I choose the fillet steak which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I visited the Dirty Habit for Christmas Day Dinner. On making the reservation we were told that it would be a 2 hour slot given that they had several bookings already and to cater for the demand, we accepted this and were looking forward to a lovely meal. On arrival, we got there about 2:45pm and thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
Aline K, events at The Dirty Habit Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Joanne B, Thank you for your comments. The table before you was late due to a car breakdown the same morning. I have checked our booking system and your time of sit down was marked at 3.40pm. I am very sorry you felt rushed, I have spoken to the manager who offer a round of drinks for the table,... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where do I begin, I've always loved visiting the dirty habit but that love is now over. We arrived at the dirty habit for dinner with my parents as there last meal before they returned to Australia. So we make are order of drinks and the waiter spills beer over my mum, ruins her expensive shoes and night.(I know it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danny B
Aline K, Events at The Dirty Habit Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Danny B, Thank you for raising your concerns on Trip advisor. Please do bring us the receipt for your Mums shoes, we will be happy to refund those for you. Also as a gesture of goodwill we would like to offer you a 25% on your next food bill, please do email me you full name, with a telephone... More 

bromley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited for the above lunch, there was 11 of us in the birthday party. I had the table booked for 3pm; upon arrival we were told that the booking was for 3.30 and that the table wasn't ready. This wasn't a problem for us but the (let's call her Manager) who was dealing with the reservation was extremely rude... More 

Helpful?
Thank lornamatrix
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have not been to the Dirty Habit recently but the visit today was worth it. I had booked up a few weeks ago, just as well as the place was very busy as you expect on a Sunday let alone New Years day. The pub stocked various local ales which is to be commended. My wife and I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank smartjim
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose the Dirty Habit as a dog-friendly lunch stop on the way to the East Kent coast. It was an excellent choice. We were seated in a very dog-friendly section and had an excellent hearty lunch. After lunch we took a short walk along the Pilgrim's Way, directly from the pub, and were rewarded by some stunning panoramic views.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fred R
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was pretty good as always although it seemed to lack a little passion. The parsnip soup was a tad gelatinous and just overly sweet. Chestnuts are sweet. Parsnips are sweet. Perhaps some crispy bacon or a herby crouton to add some salt and crunch? Wine was poured out to be tasted and then plonked on the side of... More 

Helpful?
Thank nylertuckles
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with my team for a Christmas dinner. Great service from Dani and the team. Food was good. A review of the starters may be required. The terrine I had was bland and portion sizes are on the small side. Great if you are on a diet. Same with the salmon starter. All the mains were fantastic. Excellent presentation.... More 

Helpful?
Thank PJT91065
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We held our Company Christmas lunch at this pub. There were 24 of us and all in all everyone enjoyed their lunch. My slight criticism would be service was a little slow, especially for the main course, most people had eaten their turkey lunch before those who had ordered a fish dish. I have not eaten violet potatoes before and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M

Travellers who viewed The Dirty Habit Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Dirty Habit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The PILGRIMS Way Upper Street, Hollingbourne ME17 1UW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Hollingbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 880880
Description
There���s nothing taboo about good food, so The Dirty Habit pub restaurant in Hollingbourne near Maidstone is perhaps misleadingly named. Of course the name actually refers to the origins of this historic building on the famed Pilgrims Way, close to the North Downs and dating back to the 11th century, The Dirty Habit started life as a brewery owned and run by monks who also allowed weary travellers to rest here as they made their way to Canterbury. Gloriously characterful, The Dirty Habit maintains features from throughout the intervening years, including cosy fireplaces and ovens, gnarly old beams and a long Georgian oak bar too. From the comfy Monks Corner to the beautifully refurbished terrace, there���s a space to suit your occasion. While the bar serves a wide range of beers, ales and spirits, as well as a good wine list, the food menu caters for all tastes and budgets, The Dirty Habit���s award winning chef using locally sourced produce in dishes ranging from traditional British pub grub to more exotic offerings.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Dirty Habit Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Bexley, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Dirty Habit Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?