We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waggon & Horses

) #10 of 24 Restaurants in Westhoughton ££ - £££ , British,
170 Chorley Road, Westhoughton, Bolton BL5 3PN, England
+44 1942 812273
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“scampi” (8 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
“coleslaw” (5 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
170 Chorley Road, Westhoughton, Bolton BL5 3PN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 421 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Visited for lunch as was passing; although menu was varied, for what you got I found it to be expensive and nothing special, staff werent particularly helpful either, We found our own place to sit and located the menus, there was no welcome on arrival...More

Thank Angus122
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Food was amazing and a warm welcome from the staff who were very helpful. We had pate and black pudding stack for starters and then cos & chips and the fisherman's platter for main. All dishes were wonderful and tasty!

Thank helen9587
Peter C, Owner at Waggon & Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello Helen. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your most welcome review on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit so much. I will pass on your kind comments to the 'team'! Best wishes Peter

Reviewed 1 week ago

just wonderful home cooked fresh produce friendly staff good service lovely food excellent just cant fault anything looking forward to my next visit

Thank maymay1208
Peter C, Owner at Waggon & Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Maymay1208. Thank you for taking the time to send your wonderful review to TripAdvisor. We look forward to matching, if not improving on, your last experience at The Waggon and Horses. Best wishes Peter

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having booked for 7.30 and drinks orders taken promptly our evening began well. Only 3 people had starters and there was quite a wait. We were told that there was a half hour wait but as this was a celebration we didnt mind at that...More

Thank Maudine M
Peter C, Owner at Waggon & Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Maudine M, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Waggon and Horses on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that your service was slow on the day of your visit. We had some staffing issues on Saturday evening 2 weeks...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous food and wonderful staff. Would highly recommend a visit here. We had a delicious lunch and will come back next time we are in the area. Janet, you are a star! ⭐️

Thank Peter1150
Peter C, Owner at Waggon & Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Peter, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Your kind comments are much appreciated and will be passed on to the team at The Waggon and Horses. Best wishes Peter

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nipped in for a light lunch, having had some bad experiences at other local food places recently we thought we would try somewhere new... We were not disappointed.. In fact we were very impressed. Food was top notch, very well presented good portions and good...More

Thank boltondavefc
Peter C, Owner at Waggon & Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Dave, Thank you for taking the time to place your kind review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are very pleasing and will be passed on to the team at The Waggon and Horses. We look forward to serving you and your family in the future....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Husband and I have just had a meal at the Waggon and Horses in Westhoughton after waiting over 1hr my husband went to complain. we eventually got our meal 1hr and 10 mins after ordering.We were told at point of order there would be...More

Thank John S
Peter C, Owner at Waggon & Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Sandy and John. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. On the day of your visit we did have long waiting times at our peak time of 3-00 until 6-00. My apologies if the waiting time wasn't communicated to you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are local and our last visit was 5 years ago. We are a family and eat out locally a few times a month. We thought we would give it another try for my husbands birthday - just for a change. We arrived Sunday at...More

1  Thank paulaflying
Peter C, Owner at Waggon & Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Paulaflying. We are really sorry about your disappointing visit on Sunday. I can't really offer you an excuse other than to say we had an unexpectedly busy day and didn't have enough staff on duty to cope with the demand. When the sun shines...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the Waggon & Horses today for a pre-birthday celebration for our 12yr old Son who requested a Sunday Roast! We booked a table for 6pm, as we had arrived slightly earlier than the required time and it was overly busy, we had drinks and...More

Thank MrsWalton
Peter C, Owner at Waggon & Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Mrs Walton. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Your comments about our food are much appreciated and we accept without reservation that service on Sunday was slow- we had probably the busiest day of the year so far and...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Booked a table for three of us two hours before arriving. Table was ready, waitress was brilliant and attentive. The menu is one of those where you get stuck on what to order because its so varied. One of us had the lamb shoulder which...More

1  Thank schoey36
Peter C, Owner at Waggon & Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Schoey36, Thank you for your most welcome comments and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Best wishes

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Casa Nostra
373 reviews
.99 miles away
La Scala
336 reviews
.28 miles away
Mangrove Indian Restaurant
55 reviews
.41 miles away
India Gate
192 reviews
.45 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Air Vault Trampoline Park
74 reviews
.20 miles away
The Beer School
19 reviews
1.03 miles away
Vue Cinema
81 reviews
1.36 miles away
Macron Stadium
40 reviews
1.23 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Angela M
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from lois-hurst | Reviewed this property |
No idea just find somewhere else to go as waiting times where atrocious, plenty other restaurants to choose from .
0
Votes
lilianewestlake
4 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Peter C | Property representative |
Hello Lillian. Yes we do serve a Sunday Roast. The one course price is £10-95, 2 Courses 13-95 and 3 courses £16-95. As the previous responder has stated, our menu is on our website. The choices are Roast beef, Half a... More
0
Votes
Iain C
6 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lorraine M | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I am a reviewer
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$22
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 170 Chorley Road, Westhoughton, Bolton BL5 3PN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bolton  >  Westhoughton
  • Phone Number: +44 1942 812273
  • E-mail
Description
The Waggon and Horses is under new ownership from the 4th June 2014 following the closure of the previous business. We are a pub-restaurant that specialises in home cooked, freshly prepared British and International dishes and we have a range of dishes priced to suit most pockets. Our business is building and we are looking forward to expanding even further. We are open from 12-00 noon until 11pm Mon-Saturday and 12-00 noon until 10-30pm Sundays for the sale of food. Our superb range of cask ales and other alcoholic drinks and beverages such as freshly brewed tea and coffee are available. We are also open on Bank Holiday Mondays 12-00 noon - 10.30pm. We have a great patio at the rear of the pub that looks out over the local countryside and across to Rivington Pike and we have, probably, the best example of stained glass windows-outside of a church-in the area, which depict scenes from the history of Westhoughton.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing