We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


26 Spital Terrace, Gainsborough DN21 2HE, England
+44 1427 616010
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (12 reviews)
“naan bread” (8 reviews)
“king prawns” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Indian, Balti, Asian, Bangladeshi, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
££ - £££
26 Spital Terrace, Gainsborough DN21 2HE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

61 - 70 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2016

We had not intended to go for a curry last night, but had been to Retford couldn't find a place to park (never seen so many car park spaces reserved for disabled people, ridiculous) so drove back thro Gainsborough and decided to take a chance...More

Thank conusir
SufianG, Owner at Sufian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016

I agree with your REVIEW, next time please tell us on the spot so we can look in to it there and then. Please also next time reserve your seats down stairs as you know we are very busy on weekends. PLEASE NOTE THIS I'M...More

Reviewed 15 April 2016

We had our combined birthday celebration meal once again at this restaurant like we did last year as my brother, mother & myself have birthdays within a week of each others & had a great night out once again, staff are friendly & the food...More

Thank Chris C
Reviewed 19 March 2016

This is a gem, hidden away in Gainsborough. We'd lost interest in Indian food after some mediocre takeaways. We were passing and (as you do) decided to give it a whirl. At first we were a bit 'oh what have we done' when they said...More

2  Thank cherylfel
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Excellent as always... normally order takeaway for delivery and it is always in the time frame and the food is always hot on arrival

1  Thank Sarah P
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have been looking forward to ordering from Sufian for a long time. We had only ever heard good things about it, so we were quite excited. Just before we ordered, I looked on here and saw 3 recent, very negative reviews....More

1  Thank A M
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We used to go weekly until the Autumn. We probably overdid it but food was usually very good, service great and excellent value. We have been meaning to go again for a while. Last night was terrible. All that remained was the same menu and...More

1  Thank conusir
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Had several meals there. Always enjoyed but not this time. There seems to have been a complete staff/owner change. Food bordering on poor. Service slow. The pickle tray was half the size it was. Lamb was chewy. Friend always has a mild passanda, she said...More

1  Thank markwood
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We have visited this restaurant many times and have always been 100% satisfied however tonight was a disaster! The restaurant has obviously been taken over as the staff didn't seem to have a clue what they were doing the kitchen was obviously in a state...More

1  Thank Nickisagod
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

Decided to have a curry on Saturday night. I've heard lots of good comments about sufian. So I gave it a try. Ordered my food over the phone, the young girl was very polite. She originally said it'll be 30 -40 minutes pick up time....More

1  Thank coke1234cole
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Terrible from start to finish. Placed upstairs (absolutely freezing). Waited 50 minutes to order and over an hour for food to arrive. Chased food a number of times. No apology. Asked to speak to manager. There wasn't one. Gum-chewing front of house went and hid...More

4  Thank Andrew W
Nearby HotelsSee all Gainsborough Hotels
Hickman Hill Hotel
145 reviews
.17 miles away
The Duke William Motel
43 reviews
6.88 miles away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
663 reviews
8.97 miles away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
558 reviews
10.18 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
125 reviews
.11 miles away
Prezzo - Gainsborough
403 reviews
.10 miles away
25 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Gainsborough Old Hall
355 reviews
.26 miles away
Marshall's Yard
149 reviews
.13 miles away
Gainsborough Heritage Centre
27 reviews
.08 miles away
All Saints Church
12 reviews
.15 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
1 March 2017|
Response from Dawn B | Reviewed this property |
Give them a call after 6pm, Ali or Katie will help you
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$729 - US$1,395
Drinks, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Private Dining, Television, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
18:00 - 22:00
18:00 - 22:00
18:00 - 22:00
18:00 - 22:00
18:00 - 22:00
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26 Spital Terrace, Gainsborough DN21 2HE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Gainsborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1427 616010
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing