We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hollow Bottom

Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
+44 1451 850392
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good18%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“venison” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
International, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 120 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed wonderful featured salads and homemade mushroom soup at the Hollow Bottom. The bread was so 15485735good we tracked now the baker the next day to purchase a loaf to take away. Staff was GREAT. We had a wonderful conversation with the waitress from...More

10  Thank Katie L
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Mrs Watson's bread is AMAZING and we are so glad you got to try it for yourself and even buy yourself a loaf for the next day! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here at The Hollow and thank you for leaving us...More

Reviewed 7 July 2016

The pub had lovely evening meals, great staff - excellent customer service and close to our accommodation.

7  Thank suewerner
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review! We are delighted that you had such a lovely experience. Come back soon! Hugh

Reviewed 6 July 2016

Back from a lovely week in The Cotswolds which I have to say is worth a visit albeit we did not stay at The Hollow Bottom we had 3 visits to this establishment two for dinner and one for breakfast Friendly well run place good...More

10  Thank Glynis T
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to do so! We are very happy to have had you so often during your stay here in the beautiful Cotswolds and that you had such an enjoyable experience. Thank you again and we look...More

Reviewed 5 July 2016

We had Sunday lunch here a few day ago. Unfortunately the first impression of the venue was the large amount of cigarette ends that you have to walk over/past before you go through the front door. We ordered a round of drinks, only half the...More

Thank Lambo82
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thanks Lambo82 for sharing your opinion. We are delighted that you found the food to be wonderful. The kids I am afraid are the responsibility of the parents/guardians and in the society we live in, unfortunately it would not be advisable for our Staff to...More

Reviewed 4 July 2016

This is a picturesque local striving for gastropub status but in our experience not quite making it. Maybe that's because we went for the veggie option (lasagne)? It's a nice place to eat in, though, and the beer is good.More

3  Thank railbuffs
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

"This is a picturesque local striving for gastropub status" This is obviously in your opinion only. What does that even mean? We are not "striving" to be anything other than a lovely village pub full of character, friendly staff and a great atmosphere, serving great...More

Reviewed 3 July 2016

As owners ourselves of a Guest house nearby we thought we would try the hollow bottom as we have passed it so many times. we do like to try different establishments so that we can pass on our experience to our guests, in the Cotswold...More

9  Thank Lansdownevilla
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

What a lovely review. A big thank you to you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is such a delight to hear that our food is the best you have tasted since moving to the Cotswolds! What a compliment! Please do...More

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

I came back to visit for A two day break from the hustle and bustle of London and had the best time. It's such a lovely friendly place. The food is first class as is the staff who go out of their way to make...More

11  Thank Noelle D
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thank you Noelle for leaving us such a lovely review. It is always lovely to see you back here. Don't leave it so long next time. Cheers, Hugh.

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We hadn't been to the Hollow Bottom for a while and we ate here again last night and had the most fantastic time. It is a great place that still retains a pub atmosphere unlike many others around which are simply restaurant in pub buildings....More

9  Thank lovetotravel4343
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you for your review and welcome back to the new and improved Hollow Bottom! We are glad to hear you had such a fantastic time and enjoyed the new makeover. Best steak in 54 years, brilliant! Very happy to hear you had such a...More

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

My family had booked in for the Sunday lunch on the Father's day. We were welcomed by a warm smile from our lovely host Edina- we could not have wished for a more competent, professional and positive waitress to look after us! Her service was...More

11  Thank LatviaEva_2010
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Wow, what a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to leave us these comments. We are so happy to hear you had such a great experience here at The Hollow this Father's Day. Andy Cole is amazing and we are so grateful that...More

Reviewed 29 June 2016

Went for my birthday as we live in one of the local villages. Was our first visit here. We First asked for a bottle of wine which was bought to the table and literally plonked down.we had to open it and serve ourselves. Disgusting service!...More

6  Thank vicky w
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Hi Vicky W. Yes the Chefs often just throw things on a plate from a distance! The "veal" was Venison by the way. Our lovely Staff remember " an extremely rude and unpleasant lady" which unfortunately is backed up by your wording in this review...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Halfway House
270 reviews
1.00 miles away
Plough Inn at Ford
287 reviews
2.75 miles away
The Craven Arms
133 reviews
3.86 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cotswold Farm Park
901 reviews
1.64 miles away
Sudeley Castle
1,201 reviews
4.09 miles away
The Old Mill Museum
274 reviews
4.70 miles away
Warden's Way
24 reviews
4.71 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bourkluvbug
18 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from J C | Reviewed this property |
Yes from what I recall dogs are allowed in the bar area.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$24
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:30
Thursday
09:00 - 23:30
Friday
09:00 - 23:30
Saturday
09:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cheltenham  >  Guiting Power
  • Phone Number: +44 1451 850392
  • E-mail
Description
Award winning freshly cooked a la carte Menu. Well kept Real Ales. Substantial Wine list. Warm & friendly Service. Relaxed Dining. Log Fire. Stunning outdoor heated area.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing