We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hollow Bottom

Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
+44 1451 850392
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good18%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“venison” (10 reviews)
“jacket potato” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
International, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Come here whenever passing. Good service great food and the most idyllic village setting Well run and the friendliness of the team there just makes you want to come back Brill!

Thank WorlddTravellerr
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hey There, Thanks so much for leaving such a great review, so glad you enjoy stopping off here, we love having you! Many Thanks, Hugh

Reviewed 10 October 2017

An amazing day Hugh Charlie and the team are welcoming , hospitable . Nothing is too much, the whole day is fun entertaining and your made to feel very special. Also Saturday lunches are a wonderful relaxing country atmosphere, boys you've got it just right....More

Thank marciahutchinson123
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thanks for so much for leaving a great review, hopefully we will see you at the next VIP day on March 16th 2018! Many Thanks, Hugh.

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

The food is fabulous . We met a local on a walk in the village who commented that it was expensive... We thought it was overall very worthy of the menu prices. The dining area is so lovely The village is straight out of a...More

Thank Blomk
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you so much for leaving us such a great review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience here, you never know what may happen in the future maybe we will see you in Inverness! Many Thanks, Hugh

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We had been in Cheltenham and were on our way home and decided to try a make a late booking for dinner, The Hollow Bottom could not have been more helpful, they accepted our booking on a very busy summers evening and on arrival we...More

Thank Kevin B
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Kevin, Thank so much for leaving us such a great review. Hopefully we will see you again soon to enjoy another evening at The Hollow Bottom. Many Thanks, Amy

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Faye made the visit worth while with her charming smile... so much so that I was only too happy to share my cheesy chips with her! She looks like she needs feeding so I was only to happy to oblige! Jokes aside, great lunch, great...More

Thank Tim H
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hey there Tim! So glad that you fed our girl Faye up! Jokes aside I'm glad you had a good lunch and a nice afternoon off! Many Thanks, Hugh.

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Evening meal; picked the Farmer's sharing platter for two; Needn't have ordered a main! Cheese, pickled onions, piccalilli, Branston, red cabbage, mixed leaves, apple and raisins! For mains, the specials included chicken strogonoff and rice, so we went for that - tasty and plenty of...More

Thank Peter B
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hi There, so glad you had a super experience when you visited The Hollow Bottom. Hopefully we will see you back with us again very soon. Many Thanks, Hugh.

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We were staying local and this pub was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. The service was quick and the food was warm, tasty and exactly what you expected. Lovely country pub.

Thank Kim S
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hi Kim, so happy that we didn't disappoint you and you enjoyed a tasty meal! Many Thanks, Hugh.

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

The tiny village of Guiting Power in the Cotswolds is home to one of the best restaurants in the region. Our family of three went for meat: perfectly roasted medium rare duck breast, fried venison that was juicy and tender, and the Chef's surprise, lamb...More

Thank shmacculloch
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you so much for leaving us such a great review, we really do appreciate it! Its great to here that all three meals didn't disappoint & you enjoyed the Scottish twist in the trifle! Many Thanks, Hugh.

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We were staying nearby to Guiting Power and were advised by the owners of the Guest House to try The Hollow Bottom for our evening meal. We did and also on the two subsequent nights we were staying. We had three lovely meals all different...More

Thank Philip36
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thanks Phillip for leaving us a top review. Glad you enjoyed eating with us on all three occasions and Emily looked after you well! Hopefully see you again soon! Many Thanks, Hugh.

Reviewed 12 September 2017

We visited on a Sunday a couple of weeks ago for some lunch and drinks. This is a historic Cotswold country inn that has a great vibe, driven by Huw and Charlie (the owners) and their very friendly staff.. Two of us had Sunday roasts...More

1  Thank dannyfc
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you for leaving us a First Class review you must of chosen the perfect day to come it doesn't feel like we've been able to use the Beach Bar very much this summer with the typically English weather. Hope to see you again very...More

PreviousNext
12345642
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Guiting Power Hotels
Lords of the Manor Hotel
1,120 reviews
4.15 miles away
The Slaughters Country Inn
1,355 reviews
4.80 miles away
The Slaughters Manor House
615 reviews
4.86 miles away
Dial House Hotel
564 reviews
5.44 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Halfway House
304 reviews
1.00 miles away
Plough Inn at Ford
311 reviews
2.78 miles away
The Craven Arms
143 reviews
3.86 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cotswold Farm Park
996 reviews
1.76 miles away
The Old Mill Museum
299 reviews
4.70 miles away
Warden's Way
27 reviews
4.71 miles away
Stanway House & Fountain
61 reviews
4.97 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bourkluvbug
18 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from J C | Reviewed this property |
Yes from what I recall dogs are allowed in the bar area.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$27
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:30
Thursday
09:00 - 23:30
Friday
09:00 - 23:30
Saturday
09:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cheltenham  >  Guiting Power
  • Phone Number: +44 1451 850392
  • E-mail
Description
Award winning freshly cooked a la carte Menu. Well kept Real Ales. Substantial Wine list. Warm & friendly Service. Relaxed Dining. Log Fire. Stunning outdoor heated area.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing