We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cock Inn

) #4 of 4 Restaurants in Halstead ££ - £££ , British,
Shoreham Lane | Halstead, Halstead TN14 7DD, England
+44 1959 533171
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (6 reviews)
“pudding” (5 reviews)
“country pub” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shoreham Lane | Halstead, Halstead TN14 7DD, England
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

This was a fathers day meal first warning the bouncy castle is in full sun and was to hot to use being a hot day we went inside we were shown to our table there was 5 adults and two toddlers the table they gave...More

3  Thank love2dine2017
Kev F, Owner at The Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are sorry to hear of your displeasure at our establishment I would comment as follows Bouncy castle is in the sun as we do not have a shaded area for it to go. It does have a roof on it which stops the sun...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We have been going to The Cock for about 5 years, but on our visit last Sunday I ordered roast beef. we waited 45 minuets and the meal was TERRIBLE The beef was tough the Roast potatoes were hard and the veg were only OK...More

4  Thank georgejudy29
Kev F, Owner at The Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are sorry we did not met your exspectations and as you are aware of the last owners staffs names I am sure this will come as no surprise to you. What gave you the impression we had a new chef i wonder? Inside knowledge?...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had a amazing Sunday lunch in this lovely country pub. I had the chicken and it was lovely and moist!! My husband had the beef which he said melted in your mouth and both my children had the lamb which was equally as lovely! The...More

2  Thank andrea h
Kev F, Owner at The Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased your experience was good and look forward to seeing you again soon The management

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff appear friendly however the food is terrible not cooked properly hard roast potatoes cold veg which was Also in Short supply meal was expense at 12.99 for roast lamb food ordered on one meal a burger costing 13.99 charged an extra 2 for bacon...More

3  Thank Susan C
Kev F, Owner at The Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are sorry to hear of your displsure with our establishment as we're we on that particular day The cost you mention are not correct as you are no doubt aware and all plates were cleared prior to you bring it to our attention on...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great food, great service, brilliant. Vastly improved pub which richly deserves a five star rating. Most enjoyable.

Thank Lydeways
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We had excellent attentive service, but not overwhelming. Food was v.good, and as we had lighter menu, and although we had a group of 10, nothing was too much trouble. well worth a visit .Will definitely try the Sunday roast on another date.

Thank donaldmunro1
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

A group of 15 cyclists called in today. We had telephoned ahead to let them know that we were coming. We secured our bikes in the rear " Beer Garden" ( an ideal place to sit when the weather is nice), and then placed our...More

Thank 310briang
Kev F, Owner at The Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments and we are so glad you enjoyed our hospitality. We hope to see you soon and do tell all your friends in the community that we are open to cyclists at alll times. Regards The Cock Inn

Reviewed 23 March 2017

popped in yesterday for a light lunch with the wife, would highly recommend, staff are great friendly pub with a great welcoming atmosphere, food great and sensibly priced, will be back for sure

1  Thank Paul D
Kev F, General Manager at The Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thanks for the great comments and we look foreward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner visit this county pub for a spot of Lunch and had a very good experience.the staff were very welcoming and the roast dinner was AMAZING!!!!

2  Thank 25lqws25
Kev F, Owner at The Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Thank you for your review and im so glad you had a great experience and look forward to seeing you both soon.

Reviewed 16 December 2016

Went to the Cock Inn for a shared office Christmas Dinner. The staff were fantastic, the roast turkey dinner was the best restaurant roast I have ever had. The pub has a great atmosphere, and a fantastic time was had by all.

Thank Dean H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rose and Crown
7 reviews
.58 miles away
Arthurs
59 reviews
.71 miles away
7 Hotel Diner
285 reviews
.96 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Mount Vineyard
36 reviews
2.11 miles away
Countrywide Falconry
41 reviews
2.51 miles away
High Elms Country Park
142 reviews
3.05 miles away
Charles Darwin Down House
463 reviews
3.57 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
JaneDBond
I would like to ask the landlady who responded to my review why, if she is really serving the wine from those small bottles of wine (which are usually pretty awful) we only had a small glass each - ie approx half of what is contained in a small bottle. We only got the small glass, not the full 'small' bottle each. She must be making lots of money from serving this inferior stuff at such a high price. It was seriously undrinkable - and I am a long standing wine drinker who knows a lot about wine.
3 March 2015|
Answer
Response from LSGY2013 | Property representative |
I can understand your dissatisfaction to the wine which you were presented with as you have stated already. From my experience my staff and I do not serve 2 glasses from each 187 ml bottle unless we are told that you wish to... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$37
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Delivery, Takeout, Waitstaff
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shoreham Lane | Halstead, Halstead TN14 7DD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sevenoaks District  >  Halstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1959 533171
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing