We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lowndes Arms - CLOSED

4 High Street, Whaddon MK17 0NA, England
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good27%
  • Average27%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible13%
8 Mar 2017
“Re-opened under new management. Restyled as the New Lowndes Arms”
4 weeks ago
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
British, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4 High Street, Whaddon MK17 0NA, England
All Details
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Grew up in the village and have seen this pub change a few times over the years. Was slightly dubious as the last time I ate in here it wasn't great, given that was a few years ago! Staff were welcoming and the pub has...More

Thank thisisheidi
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Was soo pleased to find this pub last Sunday, had a gorgeous roast lunch and homemade Cheesecake, sitting in the pub garden overlooking the fields . Great beer too from local Brewers . We will definitely return and staff really friendly 😊

1  Thank marknik
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Reopened in March 2017. Completely re-styled as a country village pub with good menu. New team are warm and friendly. Good beers, have yet to eat here.

Thank Paul M
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We had a terrible experience here!! My daughter and I went in this pub for a Sunday roast meal and a drink- we immediately felt an uncomfortable atmosphere as the barmaid was staring at us. There were no vegetarian options. We decided to just have...More

1  Thank Saraga15
ownernumber1, Owner at The Lowndes Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

This sounds terrible. We always have vegetarian options available so do not understand this statement at all. With regard to the glasses, lipstick is very difficult to remove. We regularly wash our glasses by hand and then put them through the Glasswasher to ensure they...More

Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

Went on a Saturday evening with my family of 6 Inc my 3 year old nephew. The food was lovely the staff where great and very accommodating. Would recommend if your looking for some good home cooked food at a decent price.

Thank Zxbikerboy
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Should you have the good fortune to find yourself in the charming Buckinghamshire (NOT Cambridgeshire, TripAdvisor!) village of Whaddon on a Saturday lunchtime, do not be fooled by the proudly displayed "Village Pub Competition Finalist" plaques on the fine old beams in the Lowndes Arms....More

9  Thank ATMC50
ownernumber1, Owner at The Lowndes Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

DO NOT RUN AWAY! This is not how we run our business. Our chef has advised that he did forget to put dressed leaves with one sandwich. The lady staff member on duty denies saying that you could only have sandwiches and chips. Our staff...More

Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

Hard to find a pub in or around big towns that hasn't been 'gastroified ' or branded, but this one has survived, serving straightforward food, mostly predictable but none the worse for that. We went on a sunny Friday lunchtimeuhu, to find just three customers...More

Thank eric1942
ownernumber1, Owner at The Lowndes Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

I am glad that we are appreciated. We are do not wish to become a Gastro Pub or a "ping and ding" Pub (where everything is bought in and just microwaved, hence some pubs serve your meal some 5 minutes after you place your order!)....More

Reviewed 9 September 2015

The tables were dirty, they cleaned after our request. Staff bar were friendly and polite. It is nice view, quiet place.More

1  Thank Stephen S
ownernumber1, Owner at The Lowndes Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

I am sorry to her that your table was "dirty"! I guess that you sat at a table that the staff had not had time to tidy and clean having been used by customers just prior to your arrival. I am very sorry and this...More

Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Excellent menu, our choice was superb. Pity we were driving as the beer selection looked good. Now on our map for the future.More

Thank GateClosing
ownernumber1, Owner at The Lowndes Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2015

It was nice to meet you both and so glad that you enjoyed your meal. Perhaps next time you could plan your trip so that you can stay overnight at our Motel so that you can sample our superb ales! See you on your next...More

Reviewed 26 May 2015

We decided to go out for lunch, and The Lowndes seemed the ideal place. We were greeted like old friends - we have been there just three times before - and the drinks were poured and the menus handed out almost before we could think....More

Thank John A
ownernumber1, Owner at The Lowndes Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Hi John, thank you for your really nice review. We always try really hard to welcome our visitors and make them feel comfortable and relaxed and, most of all, very welcome. Our burgers are home-made and packed with meat, hence they take a while to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Grange
923 reviews
1.59 miles away
The Prince George
584 reviews
1.37 miles away
Old Beams
450 reviews
2.26 miles away
Papa J's
212 reviews
1.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bletchley Park
5,344 reviews
3.66 miles away
Milton Keynes Museum
593 reviews
3.79 miles away
The National Museum of Computing
423 reviews
3.58 miles away
Thrift Farm
193 reviews
1.47 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Good for
Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 High Street, Whaddon MK17 0NA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Whaddon
  • E-mail
Description
17Th Century FREEHOLD Country Pub, Restaurant and Motel. Open every day. We offer a warm and friendly welcome and home-cooked food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing