We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£2 - £15
CUISINES
Cafe, Healthy, British
Special Diets
Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (62)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
42
9
2
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
42
9
2
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch cake lovely cafe great coffee friendly service canal path stream latte dogs vegan
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As ever, lovely coffee and cake served by the friendly team. On this visit, I had a mocha (number 1 in Stroud on my list for a mocha) and vegan chocolate orange cake. I'm not vegan, but this cake is my absolute favourite. Highly recommend...the Felt breakfast bap, too.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2024

Lovely lunch with my cousins. Enjoyed the Toasties...had mature cheddar and Gloucester Spot sausages with homemade chutney. Delicious.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2024

Great little cafe/restaurant with seating both indoors and outside. Great for breakfast, lunch or tea. Super food and coffee. Parking.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2023

We had heard really good things about the food at this restaurant, so we were eager to try it. We decided to take a long walk from Stroud to the café have lunch and then go back to Stroud. What a wonderful decision. The food...was great. The service was fast and very Accommodating What I was particularly pleased with was the added embellishments to our food for example, the addition of Gorgonzola to my soup and the use of caramelised figs on the brie cheese plate, which was a Tartini. After our meal, we had a look around and found that there was a Riverside eating area which was glorious and very Stroud. We will definitely be coming again, this time with some more people not just us.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felt Cafe, Owner at Felt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2023

Thank you so much for your fabulous review!

Reviewed 30 September 2023 via mobile

Impromptu lunch last Monday. Always an interesting specials board. Partner had a mixed veg mezze platter which he enjoyed and i had the BLT also good. Cakes were fine. I love the Greek orange cake! Partner had carrot cake which was nice but could do...with a bit more cinnamon. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Thank youMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felt Cafe, Owner at Felt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2023

Thanks so much Anna for you 5 star review, we will add extra cinnamon to our carrot cake for sure 👌

Reviewed 9 September 2023

I regret to write this, but after my last 4 or 5 visits all being frustrating and disappointing I finally had to write a review for Felts. Cakes are majority bought in. Not only do they look lifeless and loveless but I know they are...full of artificial ingredients and preservatives and the like. If I want (and I really don't) a long-shelf life, lacklustre, factory-made piece of filler, I'll go and buy such stuff from a supermarket. Why would I want to pay anything up to £4 for this in a local cafe? Small, pale stuffed croissants (again, bought in, no doubt cooked from frozen) are £6.00 each, although they are very small and filled with maybe, on average, one slice of tomato and a slice of cheese. Just two examples of how the food is very overpriced here. I won't even go into food I have had here in the past, but the special salads are meagre and mostly green leaves, but often charged at about £11-£12 a portion. I have left here several times feeling pretty cheated. I have ordered premium loose leaf tea, only to receive a dusty tea bag clearly from a packet bought in a supermarket. This is daylight robbery and really taking the p*ss. You're charging me £3.50 odd for a tea bag that probably cost 10p, while still advertising it to customers as your premium, house, loose-leaf tea? If its a case of being out of stock, I'd rather you just tell me and then I wouldn't have ordered this drink. Why don't you tell your customers that you're out of stock instead of essentially ripping them off? When I addressed the server about this, I was met with a standoffish, almost confrontational attitude that I would not be refunded and I wouldn't have my drink replaced. Staff don't seem to know anything about allergens or special dietary requirements. The coffee is very hit and miss. Sometimes you'll get a coffee that's actually been made by a trained barista who knows the difference between a cappuccino and a latte. Other times you'll get a standard of coffee that maybe existed here in England 70 years ago: bland, drowning in overheated milk that has no texture, and made by someone that doesn't know how to make well-crafted, espresso based coffee and ultimately doesn't care. And sadly, to add, if you sit outside in the garden area overlooking the river Frome, you will 9 times out of 10 be surrounded by customers who think it's their personal back yard and have no problem bringing their hyperactive, bothersome dogs and letting them off the lead to poop, piss and run all over the place, often galloping right over other customers who are sitting on blankets on the ground on their way to dive bomb into or clamber out the river. Some of the dog owners are so rude, oblivious and entitled. I have witnessed one guy let his boisterous, hyperactive dog loose in the garden with absolutely no regard to any other customers, yet when other customers wanted to play with his unattended dog, he felt it was appropriate to tell them off. Mate, why don't you control your dog in the first place? You're quite happy to let the dog off the lead and go wild, unattended, bulldozing all over other customers while they're sitting on the grass, but you think you can manage and control other customer's behaviour around your dog? The amazing double standards of this stuck up man... Expect naked free range children running all over the place too. I don't particularly want to see a local hippie lady changing her kid's diaper right in front of me, thanks. That's what bathrooms are for. This last point about why Felt's isn't a very nice place to go anymore isn't exactly Felt's fault, however could the owners and manager maybe politely point out to dog owners that the dogs should be under control with respect to other customers while on their premises? And that should go for the children too. I understand its a nice place for kids to potter around but it's not exclusively for kids, it's not a jungle gym or a nursery school. Maybe the owners/manager could regulate this a little? Can you not tell parents to mind their children at all times and can you not tell dog-owners that their dogs need to be kept under control? I remember when Felt's first opened. They had bagels and pastries from a local artisan baker, homemade cakes, and the coffee was consistently well made and very good. It's a real shame that their standards have dropped as they have got busier.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felt Cafe, Owner at Felt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Hi there, Well that’s a long rant! We are very sorry that you have not been happy with the last few visits to us. We have read through all your points and will definitely be taking on board and rectifying some of them. Our cakes...More

Reviewed 6 September 2023

Had heard good things about this cafe, and it looked promising, but staff were uninterested, and it’s very pricey. I had a latte plus a mediocre ham&cheese croissant for £9.60. Ham was very dried and the cheese was processed. Nuff said!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felt Cafe, Owner at Felt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Hi Kate We are really angry with our staff for not being friendly and helpful this is very important to us. It would be very helpful in these situations to let a manager / owner know so that the offending staff member can be known...More

Reviewed 31 July 2023

I loved my trip to the felt cafe. We went twice and the food was fantastic but the best dish was the avocado on toast with a poached egg, chorizo and some chilli sauce on the side. Was fantastic. Staff were super friendly, location was...beautiful. Can’t wait to go back in the summer when the weather was warmer. 👍More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2023

I love this place!! Been a few times over the years and my go to when in Stroud. I’ve always been charmed by the food, the lovely river location and the peacefully eclectic clientele. It’s a family run place and it shows in the warmth...and love that runs through the decor and the menu. Highly recommended!!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2023

Love that they do some dishes with a South African nod like the peri- peri chicken livers!! Delicious! It’s a cafe with great coffee & heart ❤️

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2023

I went here for coffee and cake as I had seen the good reviews for the cafe but sadly was very disappointed. We sat outside as it was nice weather, but oh gosh I wish we didn't, I lost count as to how many times...we saw rats scuttling about at both ends of the seating area and very close to the entrance inside. Surely that's not right for a place that serves food? Needless to say, I will not be returning.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felt Cafe, Owner at Felt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Hi, Apologies for taking so long to respond we have had a few ongoing issues with our Tripadvisor account. In a blink of an eye word got out in the rat community that Felt Cafe was the place to be! Our pest control company were...More

Reviewed 25 July 2023

Can see the charm appeal for Stroud, and service was ok, but it should be called Rat Café. Outside the tables were filthy attracting wasps, seating, beyond vintage,and RATS running around in all directions into storage facility, i pressume, and heading indoors to the café...itself. Felt very un hygenic and highly hazardous with children rolling around on the grass. Dogs too could be at risk from Weil's disease. I understand being so close to the stream does attract rats, but the combination of the above is a disaster waiting to happen. My first visit, but certainly wont be frequenting again.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felt Cafe, Owner at Felt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Hi Lucy Firstly apologies for taking so long to reply we have had ongoing issues with our Tripadvisor account. The rats took us by surprise at how quickly they arrived. Our pest control company were jam packed busy so could only get to us 2...More

Reviewed 6 July 2023

A truly special spot to have a stoll and lunch afterwards. You can get the history and character of the valley and why Stroud was so affluent and busy in it's past. Then, lunch, coffee and or cake in this very special riverside cafe take...a walk past it and look back to see why! Passionate owners put a lot of time into menu planning and it's different but that's why it's great.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2023

We don’t go out a lot but had heard that this was a nice place to visit so decided to treat ourselves to brunch. Sadly, we were quite disappointed. Waited over half an hour for the food and coffee to arrive. The coffee was lukewarm...and so was the food. My husbands brunch arrived on a chipped plate and the sourdough toast was uneatable and so tough it was uncuttable with the knife provided. Staff seemed to be uninterested and at no point did anyone ask whether we were happy or attempt to collect our plates or say goodbye as we left.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clair Brodie, Owner at Felt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2023

Hi John Very sorry you had a bad experience on one of your few outings. All things mentioned are not acceptable and I have taken this up with all my staff. Would you have time to pop back to Felt another day and we can...More

Reviewed 13 April 2023

Popped in for a coffee with a mate, ordered a latte and got with it the most gorgeous lemon meringue piece of pie that I have ever had. Sharp but sweet taste of lemon with perfectly cooked crunchy on top, but gubby inside meringue on...beautiful short pastry. Delish, will be back for more treats, and the coffee wasn't half bad either!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Burleigh Court Restaurant & Hotel
559 reviews
.40 miles away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
1,205 reviews
1.20 miles away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
1,174 reviews
2.05 miles away
The Stroud Hotel
7 reviews
2.32 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
CUCINA DI AMALFI
448 reviews
.93 miles away
The Crown Inn
354 reviews
.90 miles away
Henry's Bakehouse Cafe
52 reviews
.89 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Cave
9 reviews
1.08 miles away
Torbay Express Limited
103 reviews
1.89 miles away
Natural Cookery School
29 reviews
2.11 miles away
Hands on Bushcraft
33 reviews
2.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
32helenat
17 January 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Spickle | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do, from 10 am i think
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

FELT CAFE, Brimscombe - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Felt Cafe

Yes, Felt Cafe offers takeaway services.

Felt Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4