We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£7 - £30
CUISINES
British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (329)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
250
54
18
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
250
54
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak sea bass pudding sunday roast hot tub garden room the pub cider press booked a table lovely food phil shropshire
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 8 July 2023

We have eaten here many times, but our last visit was EXCEPTIONAL. The wonderful people working there treated us like royalty from start to finish. The seats and tables are incredibly clean and comfortable. Can’t wait to come back!!!!!

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil Wright, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the lovely review, we hope to see you again!

Reviewed 4 July 2023

We were staying in a cottage a few minutes walk away and ate here every night. A fantastic place with excellent food at reasonable prices pand brilliant staff. More that dog friendly and we enjoyed playing pool aswell . Very clean place and would highly...recommendMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil Wright, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2023

Thank you for the review and thank you for being such lovely customers! We hope you enjoyed your holiday!

Reviewed 19 June 2023

A very well renovated building with some period features. A smart bar and restaurant, with good outside space too. The food is gastropub, with mains around the £17-£23 mark. The staff were friendly and helpful, with a good selection of local beers. The food tasted...great and was well presented.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil Wright, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2023

Thanks for the review Neil. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us!

Reviewed 8 May 2023

Beautiful setting, we had a fantastic garden room for the night with lovely views and hot tub, everything you could want, wild swimming pool too, just a shame it was too cold that day to swim. Staff efficient and friendly. Fabulous breakfast.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil Wright, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2023

Thank you for the lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 1 May 2023

We stayed overnight and ate in the restaurant. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was comfy, well equipped and very clean. The food is excellent, both dinner and breakfast.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil Wright, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2023

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 29 April 2023

Really awful experience here. We booked a table for 9 and received a booking confirmation. We were then emailed to ask us to confirm the booking, which we responded to instantly. We were then asked to call to confirm the booking, which we replied that...we could not do as we have no phone signal in the countryside but we emailed confirming the booking again. The next morning we were again asked to phone to confirm the booking in response to our email, and advised that if we did not call in one hour they would cancel the booking. One hour later they cancelled the booking with no personable approach or reference to our situation that we had no phone call. We then called the pub three times as they requested and they did not answer. It went to voicemail advising that we need to book online (which we did). We have not received a response. We have found this incredibly rude and careless of them, and will now be asking people to avoid this place...More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil Wright, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2023

Hi Chloe Sorry you were unhappy. Due to company policy we have to have contact and card information for large bookings. As we didn't have a contact number for yourselves we were unable to ring and ask for these details. Obviously we wouldn't take that...More

Reviewed 5 March 2023 via mobile

Turned up on the wrong Sunday manager was great found us a table. Sunday dinner was amazing the beef cooked to perfection plenty of food excellent service friendly lovely and clean profiteroles homemade were delicious look forward to returning soon

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil W, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2023

We are glad you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us! Hopefully you enjoyed your Anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Reviewed 5 March 2023 via mobile

First visit to the Baron, but we'll definitely be back. Everything we ordered was excellent, even the Ciabatta, Olive oil and Balsamic was perfect. Plenty of choice on the menu, I'm vegetarian so I opted for the roasted Cauliflower - Loved it. Desserts were excellent,...decent wine, really couldn't fault it. It's a lovely place as well, nice atmosphere and the service was spot on. Well worth a visit.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil W, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2023

Thank you for the review Robert. We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 22 February 2023 via mobile

My partner spent the weekend in the area and really enjoyed a roast here. The meat was lovely and the serving was a great size! Thanks also to the lovely staff

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil W, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2023

Thanks Vicky. We hope you come visit again soon!

Reviewed 17 February 2023

From start to finish The Baron was an excellent discovery for a two-night, quiet getaway. The hospitality was discreet, yet attentive; the decor was smart and at the same time suitable rustic; the room was warm, comfortable, quiet, and well-appointed; the view was delightfully rural;...and the food in the restaurant was tasty and well-presented, and both breakfast and dinner had varied menus. It was a real pleasure to be there and I'd definitely go again. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil W, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2023

Thank you for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 6 December 2022

We visited the Baron at Bucknell for our Anniversary meal, and we weren’t disappointed. We had their Christmas menu, and I was delighted to see a lovely vegan meal on there as standard - something that still isn’t available everywhere. The flavours were excellent, and...the food was well cooked. My omni husband went for the turkey, which he said was tender and moist. The restaurant was delightfully decorated for Christmas, it was warm and cosy, service was friendly and efficient, and the food was excellent, so it gets full marks from us. It wasn’t cheap, but we felt it was worth it, and we would definitely visit again.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil W, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2022

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and experience here with us at the Baron this Christmas period!

Reviewed 5 October 2022 via mobile

Wanted a getaway for a night close to home. What can I say...it was amazing. From the moment we walked in we were greeted by a lovely friendly smile. Such a knowledgeable lady as well on drinks etc. Had a drink by the bar and...not overpriced at all. Room was beautiful and so so clean. Everything you could want in a room....Fan...ironing board...toiletries...fluffy towels..tea/coffee etc. Had an evening meal in the restaurant. I am a fussy eater but the food was spot on first time and lovely. Couldn't fault a thing. Had some cocktails as well. Can't comment on breakfast as we didn't have any but was £15 a person. Nothing was too much trouble. For me one thing was missing and that was a dressing gown but thats my personal preference. Would definitely stay again and recommend. Looking to go back in December. 🙂More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil W, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2022

Thank you for the feedback Helen. We are glad you enjoyed your stay we look forward to seeing you on your return visit!

Reviewed 30 July 2022

Good wine choices, something for everyone on the menu though not extensive. Lovely view of the hill behind.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil W, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Thank you for the review!

Reviewed 29 July 2022 via mobile

Good food here and decent service but at £70 for 2 moans, 2 puddings, a beer and a soft drink it is a little more expensive than maybe it ought to be. The duck breast I had was notably well cooked - pink and very...tender.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil W, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2022

We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us, all of our products used are of the highest quality and locally sourced. This is reflected in the pricing and taste. We also find that our pricing is similar to other venues like us in our...More

Reviewed 26 July 2022

My wife and I stopped as the restaurant looked nice from the outside. We were not disappointed. The service from the girls behind the bar and in the restaurant was first class and our food was excellent. This is fine dining. We will definitely be...back.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil W, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2022

Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you were not disappointed and we look forward to seeing you soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Castle Hotel
1,236 reviews
9.48 miles away
The Cliffe at Dinham
752 reviews
9.50 miles away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
309 reviews
10.05 miles away
Fishmore Hall
1,423 reviews
10.22 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Aardvark Cafe
16 reviews
1.55 miles away
The Old Barn Cafe
39 reviews
2.77 miles away
The Banc Knighton
186 reviews
4.18 miles away
The Royal George
27 reviews
4.40 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aardvark Books
35 reviews
1.62 miles away
Hopton Castle Ruin
32 reviews
2.63 miles away
The Sun Inn
66 reviews
3.38 miles away
The Spaceguard Centre & Observatory
145 reviews
3.67 miles away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BARON AT BUCKNELL - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Baron at Bucknell

The Baron at Bucknell is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5