We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kittiwake

Gordon Road, Whitfield, Dover CT16 2ES, England
+44 1304 820809
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“yorkshires” (4 reviews)
“toasties” (6 reviews)
“curry” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Gordon Road, Whitfield, Dover CT16 2ES, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had a lovely family meal for my daughters birthday. Food was brought out very prompt and tasty. Good service

Thank Kerry B
Kittiwake D, Manager at Kittiwake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your great feedback I will pass it on to the team , and glad your daughter had a lovely time ,we look forward to seeing you and your family at the kittiwake very soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bar staff gave all the speed of a 200 year old tortoise takes ages to get served at the bar bloody awful service from "kids" food looked OK shame the restaurant shut at 9 pm staff were rude unhelpful and just happy to see us...More

1  Thank alastair1967
Kittiwake D, Manager at Kittiwake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

sorry to here you had a bad experience at the kittiwake I will look into this and speak to the team , the kitchen does close at 9pm and the bar is open till 11pm , thank you for your feedback and we do hope...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good carvery Fast and simple well cooked great price Like the different size plates. Good outdoorseating too.

Thank Tkdreje
Kittiwake D, Manager at Kittiwake, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you had a nice time and enjoyed your meals. We hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Two really nice meals and two Latte's Under £15 . Friendly and helpful staff. Will be definitely calling again

Thank alansparks
Kittiwake D, Manager at Kittiwake, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you had a nice time and enjoyed your meals. We hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being local, I have visited the Kittiwake many times since it was built. The beer is always good and the price is fine, however, I've steered clear for the last year or so due to inconsistent and disappointing food. Until this week when the hot...More

Thank SteveDoverUK
Kittiwake D, Manager at Kittiwake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such positive comments about your recent visit to us here at The Kittiwake, I shall pass on your comments to our kitchen team and also to Lisa. we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have had the carvery here in the past and found it to be very good. This visit we did not arrive until gone 8 pm so were too late for the carvery. I noticed the Saturday night steak deal on a board behind the...More

Thank 965Rosemary
Kittiwake D, Manager at Kittiwake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, I will pass on your comments to the chefs. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience here with us and we hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

2 of us ate in here for lunch. We at of the 2 for £10 menu and opted for the carvery option. The food was hot, plenty of meat and reasonable selection of vegetables. I think you would struggle to get better value for money....More

Thank pete9412
Kittiwake D, Manager at Kittiwake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback , we are glad you enjoyed the carvery and we will pass your comments on the kitchen team , and will pass on the comments about the furniture to head office . We look forward to seeing soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The errors in understanding how to work your way through the 6 page menu, when all I wanted was a 'Carvery' meal were caused by being understaffed on the waitress side, and understaffed at the bar. A waitress was not available to give guidance on...More

Thank henry s
Kittiwake D, Manager at Kittiwake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

we are so sorry about your recent visit to the kittiwake , the team here always try there best to ensure all our customers leave happy and enjoy excellent service, as the menu it is what marstons allocate us and we would have been more...More

Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Greeted by the lovely Joe. Had a lovely Carvery today given Rowland (carvery chef) who was just shutting up the Carvery section but very kindly re-opened just for me and my sister. Excellent customer service and great food! Highly recommend!

Thank Ebony J
Kittiwake D, Manager at Kittiwake, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you for your great feedback we will pass it on to the team , we look forward to seeing you very soon at the kittiwake.

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Avoid this place...Weatherspoons has better food and service. Three of us had carvery..potatoes were hard as were carrots and peas. Luke warm food. We had to wait 40 minutes for one persons order of mixed grill then ten minutes after the meal arrived we were...More

1  Thank Diane C
Kittiwake D, Manager at Kittiwake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

so sorry about your visit to the kittiwake , we will pass on the comments to both the front of house team and kitchen about the quality off your service and the quality off food you received and ensure this gets resolved . once again...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
​The Archer Public House
183 reviews
.22 miles away
The Railway Bell
125 reviews
.77 miles away
The Royal Oak
39 reviews
.76 miles away
KFC
7 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Dover Transport Museum
152 reviews
.17 miles away
Crabble Corn Mill
16 reviews
.80 miles away
The Cricketers
16 reviews
.92 miles away
Three Cups
9 reviews
.87 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kittiwake staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$16
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gordon Road, Whitfield, Dover CT16 2ES, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Dover  >  Whitfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1304 820809
Description
Welcome to the Kittiwake! Our pub was opened in May 2010, offering a warm welcome to all the family. Come and try one our delicious dishes from the carvery, one of our cask ales or wines, or even a yummy treat from our selection of puddings. Our carvery is served Monday - Saturday 12 til 2 and 5 til 8, then Sunday 12 til 7. We now have free WIFI available here too! We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing