We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catlins Cafe

££ - £££European, Cafe,
3 Main Road, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good43%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“salad” (7 reviews)
“chowder” (3 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
European, Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 Main Road, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 70 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2015

Meet friends there for coffee to plan days activities so no time to try the food. Coffee was good, hot and promptly delivered. We sat outside and made friends with the sheep who didn't mind the odd selfie or three.

Thank Shandster007
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2015

Glad to hear Rosemary and Thyme were entertaining!

Reviewed 15 February 2015

I would rate this as "good" but TA doesn't offer us that option and the Catlins Café was closer to average than very good so average is the rating I will give. We were welcomed and had friendly service. When my latte was made incorrectly...More

Thank SunnyandBuster
OwakaSteve, Manager at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Looks like you've done a lot of travelling! Thank you for your review and all the best. Kind regards, Steve

Reviewed 15 February 2015

We have been traveling around New Zealand for three months and this was the worst breakfast we have had . We had a pot of tea the afternoon previously and saw the Breakfast menu so decided to return after staying at the local motel. We...More

Thank wavewatcher43
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

I sincerely apologise for your experience with us. Sometimes we don't get it right but most of the time we do as you can see from the reviews below. However on this occassion we have failed you in all aspects. I have identified and spoken...More

Reviewed 28 January 2015

The cafe is in a nice setting with a large garden area area out to one side for alfresco dining. The hosts were friendly and the selection of food on offer was nice and reasonably price.

Thank Cole M
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015

Thank you for your feedback. The deck and access area to the garden is an addition we made for this summer and is proving very popular. Especially with the wonderful weather we have been having here in The Catlins!

Reviewed 7 January 2015

Whilst the staff were friendly and ensured that the very young members of our party were catered for, overall I was disappointed with my experience here. My steak was average - my own cooking would have been better - and definitely not as ordered. The...More

Thank SPeeps16
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2015

I am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations. It is disappointing for you and for us and I hope it hasn't affected the rest of your holiday. i have shared your feedback with all our staff. Whilst we try our hardest to get...More

Reviewed 6 January 2015

Unlike the place down the road, Catlins Café served our coffee in 5 mins, after that they got our one week worth of food biz. Very friendly, engaging staff. Good food, central location, clean premise, lovely patio dining. We recommend, be back for sure.

Thank kasia2014X
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2015

Great to hear you enjoyed your experiences with us. i have passed on your comments to one and all. Thanks, Steve

Reviewed 2 December 2014 via mobile

Steak perfectly cooked. Malt vinegar available for chips. Best steak I have had in long time. Sadly only here on holiday from Jafa land so unable to revisit.

Thank Kianga
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments, we do like to look after our Auckland friends. We even have Allpress Coffee! Cheers, Steve

Reviewed 1 December 2014

Had a lovely steak for lunch today, the tastiest I have had in a while. Can I just say that the caramel cookie slice was to die for - YUM

Thank Hils1964
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2014

Thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your steak! Cheers, Steve

Reviewed 28 November 2014

The food was nice. Coffee just OK. Would have been nice to have a place to eat takeaways at a bench or something inside on a cold day. Also would've been nice to have cutlery bought with the order. Staff got annoyed with people leaving...More

1  Thank whymiss
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Gidday, Thanks for the feedback. Yes the door is a bit of a pain however our renovations start next week and that will be solved! With regards takeaways as the name suggests that's what they are, takeaways. It also states quite clearly on the takeaway...More

Reviewed 31 October 2014

We ordered two meals, the lamb was excellent. However I was told there was only one roast pork meal left so I ordered this. It was very basic and looked like the last meal left and had the bare minimum of meat and two veg...More

Thank Cassie78
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2014

Thank you for your review and your honesty. I do apologise for a less than satisfactory experience and will pass on your comments where appropriate. Again please accept my apologies. On the up side yes our lamb dish is tasty and I'm glad it was...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lumber Jack
129 reviews
.10 miles away
The Point Cafe
148 reviews
7.29 miles away
Cafe 55 Balclutha
52 reviews
15.12 miles away
Food for Thought
5 reviews
21.86 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Owaka Museum and Catlins Information Centre
87 reviews
.04 miles away
Roaring Bay
36 reviews
6.56 miles away
Nugget Point/Tokata Walks
246 reviews
7.42 miles away
Nugget Point Lighthouse
42 reviews
7.43 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Catlins Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$27
Cuisine
European, Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Main Road, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Owaka
  • E-mail
Description
A warm and friendly dining experience. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner using the freshest ingredients, home style cooking and generous servings. For those wanting a quick option we also offer traditional NZ Takeaways including Fish, Chips and Burgers
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing