We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Malt Shovel

) #1 of 2 Restaurants in Brearton ££ - £££ , British,
Low Moor Lane, Brearton, Harrogate HG3 3BX, England
+44 1423 862929
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
Low Moor Lane, Brearton, Harrogate HG3 3BX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2017

On Thursday the 4th of May 2017 my boyfriend and I payed our first visit to the Malt shovel upon recommendation on the final night of our holiday. It was my mum and step dad who had been a couple of times before who suggested...More

1  Thank rebeccaashworth0
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Another first class meal at The Malt Shovel. The starters (smoked salmon and a malt shovel smokie) were excellent. The mains (a goats cheese parcel and roast beef) were very good; especially the goats cheese parcel. The roast beef was good, but not particularly hot....More

Thank ThereWasOnlyOneNadia
Reviewed 7 May 2017

We called in for a meal early one evening. I can understand why this place is so popular, the food is absolutely delicious! Before the waiter took our order, he placed a bottle of tap water on the table, which was such a good idea....More

Thank aissiegirl
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Haven't been for 3 years....but based on our last experience we opted for this as a family gathering for my wife's birthday. In essence the punters that did not book were given priority over the two tables that did, one obviously was ours. 50 minutes...More

Thank Lordcoverdale
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

We visited on an evening with the family dog. The pub put us in the conservatory for our meal which was warm and welcoming. The staff were really helpful and attentive. Food was fantastic. Highly recommended!!

Thank leel246
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Following up a recommendation we booked our table for an evening meal . Delightful Staff looked after us and the food was of "good" quality but well over priced . The service was just slow , slow , slow . Gap of 40 minutes between...More

Thank BlueNeptune
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Nidd Hall and visited the Malt Shovel twice for lunch, the quality of the food was British at its absolute best. Excellent service from Sylvia and all the staff. The best roast beef I've ever had, local rib of beef! Mmmmm

Thank Peter H
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We booked a table at the Malt Shovel for the three of us having a drive around the area. I wasn't able to book for 1.00, but was offered 1.15pm. We arrived half an hour early and asked if we could have a drink whilst...More

1  Thank sadiesmum186345
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Just had the most amazing meal- Sylvia, Natalie and Will went completely out of their way to get me a vegetarian meal I could eat. Marek the chef created me a spinach and cheese parcel with roasted vegetables, salad and fries. The hospitality was fantastic-...More

Thank Annette W
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I have to say first that I felt sorry for the poor waitress who was getting all the grief, there was no senior member of staff around as far as I could see. Unfortunately this pub is all about waiting, we waited to order, we...More

Thank Linda M
Nearby Restaurants
The Guy Fawkes Arms
753 reviews
1.11 miles away
Hare & Hounds
12 reviews
2.11 miles away
The Restaurant @ The Boar's Head Hotel
213 reviews
2.36 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Knaresborough Castle
941 reviews
3.01 miles away
Ripley Ice Cream
119 reviews
3.23 miles away
River Nidd Waterside Walk
163 reviews
3.01 miles away
Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well
1,172 reviews
3.18 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paul H
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from whitesheilagh | Reviewed this property |
Paul H
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mark A | Property representative |
Hi, do you mean a covered outdoor smoking area? If so, I'm afraid we don't have one. Mark
11 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JoWeath | Reviewed this property |
Def book to ensure you get a table, it is a very busy place. The Sunday Lunch menu is small but something there for everyone and always cooked to perfection.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$13 - US$33
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Open Hours
12:00 - 16:00
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 22:00
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 22:00
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 22:00
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 22:00
17:30 - 22:00
12:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Low Moor Lane, Brearton, Harrogate HG3 3BX, England (Formerly Bleikers at The Malt Shovel)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate  >  Brearton
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 862929
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing