We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£6 - £18
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (150)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
64
50
20
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
64
50
20
10
6
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 29 July 2023

The BLT £10.50 which is expensive It only had 2 thin pieces of bacon and the chips were a very small portion of oven fries. My son's chicken burger was on the small side for £14 but at least his chips were a decent portion.The...staff were friendly and helpful which was good as a compulsary tip is added but the food is not value for money .More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
caroline walker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

I am sorry that you felt the BLT was overpriced, the chips that accompany the baguettes are not a standard portion size as this is added instead of a garnish so apologies that you thought it would be a larger portion, and I can confirm...More

Reviewed 4 June 2023

Always the best food and service. Every time I eat here, I can’t remember why I don’t do it more. Back very soon.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
caroline walker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2023

THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH. We do our best and appreciate it when it is recognised!! See you soon.

Reviewed 27 March 2023

Once again, fantastic, thank you Caroline, always a welcoming smile upon arrival, London Pride is and always 1st class. Very nice relaxed atmosphere with very attentive barstaff. The home cooked food looks delicious too. Lovely to see you all. Highly recommend visiting The Barley Mow.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
caroline walker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2023

Thank you Matt, it is so rewarding to hear from genuine customers rather than 'keyboard warriors'. We do try our best and are delighted that our efforts do not go unnoticed!! Lovely to see you as always, take care and hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 27 February 2023 via mobile

Dreadful. Treated very rudely unnecessarily. Would never go again, albeit we never even got to have a drink. Walked in with my mother and partner and was shouted out that they were closed!More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2023

I am sorry that you found it necessary to post a very poor and incorrect review of The Barley Mow when you as mentioned didn't even have a drink. However as you have chosen to do so then in defence we must have the opportunity...More

Reviewed 11 December 2021

Another visit to The Barley Mow and as always greeted by proprietors Caroline and Steve upon enterance, bar staff very polite as always. The ale sampled was London Pride, absolutely first class in taste and crystal clear. Locals always friendly and nice to see old...skool darts still being played by regulars. So nice to visit a real pub with good beer, nice ambience. Dog friendly too. Long may Caroline and Steve continue to sail this ship. Have a peaceful and well earned Christmas, hope to see you in the New YearMore

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2021

Matt you are always so welcome and not just because you leave genuine reviews!! It has been a tough year yet again but we have tried to maintain our rural pub image amidst the madness. We do hope you have a magical Christmas and we...More

Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

We remember this place as an everyday pub and had changed hands a few times. We popped in for a drink and light lunch only to find it was now a Greek restaurant. Its not formal and you can eat in the restaurant or bar...area. They even have nice heated booths outside with lovely garden laid to flower beds. The menu has lots of choice, but has a Greek or continental twist. I had the beef bourguignon and my partner had a greek tiger prawn saginaki which were both awesome. Waiters were attentive and even closed a door that might cause a draught, without us mentioning anything. Lunchtimes used to be very quiet in here but now its got a nice flow of customers and some atmosphere. Priced very reasonable for quality and quantity. We will definitely return.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2021

What a lovely review but unfortunately it is not The Barley Mow, Winchfield. Perhaps you might like to redirect to the Greek pub as mentioned. Would love to know where this is as warrants a visit however!!

Reviewed 31 August 2021

We enjoyed a lovely meal out at The Barley Mow. Plenty of choice for everyone, including vegetarians in our group.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2021

thank you Emma, hope to see you soon and apologies for late response.

Reviewed 8 June 2021

Visited with friends as live locally, always a nice greeting from Caroline, Steve and Staff, ALL Covid rules in place, nice to walk in to a friendly pub with smiley staff. You just cant fault the ales here, good selection and always kept in perfect...condition. table service was swift and very polite, nothing was too much of a problem. Thanks Caroline, Steve and Staff........... See you soonMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

thank you so much Matt, it's always a pleasure to see you. We do try very hard so to get recognition is wonderful!! See you soon I hope.

Reviewed 12 October 2020

Had a wonderful time here having a few drinks with friends, very cozy atmosphere, table service was top notch in these troubled times, nothing was to much of a problem for Caroline and her wonderful staff. Crystal clear Ales, all tables full with drinkers and...diners, restaurant was packed which reflects just how comforting this establishment is... Well worth a visit 100%More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Thank you for your lovely review Matt. During these difficult and changing times it can be challenging to say the least so I am pleased that our customers feel safe and that we are trying to do the right thing. Look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 8 October 2020

When we visited we chose to eat outside - we read the signs and one us went in the main entrance to ask for drinks. She was told she must go back outside and text to order. So she came back out, told me, so...we looked around for the menu from which to order - nothing. There was a blackboard listing some beers, but beyond that nothing. Seated at the table there is a piece of paper telling you to use whatsapp, and if you don't have that then you can text the bar staff, but your order may be delayed. With no menus outside, there was no way to know what wine we could order, or how much it would cost! So I went back inside to ask - walked around the bar for several minutes before finding a server who immediately told me no bar service, you have to go and text. So I asked her how we could order when there was no drinks menu? She said "your friend should have asked for one when she came in". Literally astounded by that response - so unwelcoming, so un-customer friendly. We are all trying to follow any rules that are in place, but when a pub makes it virtually impossible to do so, why would we stay there? I elected at that point to just leave and go somewhere else, and I pointed out to her that wearing her mask below her nose was a complete waste of time. In the current climate there are far more welcoming pubs with clear and correct Covid precautions - we instead ate at the Waterwitch further down the canal, which was lovely and easy to navigate as a customer.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2020

I am sorry that your experience yesterday evening was not up to usual standards or expectations and this will be addressed, however whilst some of your comments are justified also some are not. We are currently in a transition period between summer and autumn and...More

Reviewed 23 September 2020 via mobile

Nice pint in the sunshine after a paddle on the Basingstoke canal. Pleasant outside areas. Didn’t eat but the menu looked appetising.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2020

Thank you, hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 7 September 2020

love this pub, a fantastic friendly atmosphere and always a lovely welcome from all the staff. The food is top notch and has a great varied menu, looking forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

And we love our friendly customers!! Menu will be adapting soon to Autumn so hope to see you soon to try it out. Always welcome.

Reviewed 5 September 2020

My last visit was before the dreaded Covid, swung by again and politely greeted by Caroline and the barstaff, dont need to say but i will, BEER 100%, all covid precautions carried out as per the book, sat outside under the huge beer garden tent...on sofa chairs and had a relaxing few pints, great well kept garden and a lovely peaceful atmoshere. Great pub, recommended to visit if passing or walking the canal. Thanks for having me again CarolineMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2020

Thank you Matt for your wonderful review, I cannot tell you how much we appreciate it as my team work really hard and deserve to be told they are doing a good job. It is a pleasure to have you back and hope that we...More

Reviewed 1 September 2020

Ventured out for a lovely meal with friends. Safety measures were great, staff friendly and the food was delicious. We took a chance to benefit from the eat out scheme and what a bonus it was! My burger was fantastic! (and they even catered for...the extra cheese craving we all felt the need for!) Thanks Barley Mow! We'll be back.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Front Office Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2020

You’re very welcome and thank you for your lovely review. Hope to welcome you back soon

Reviewed 1 September 2020

Food was delish and served so quickly, staff were lovely and welcoming. Everything we wanted from a place to socialise.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cjwalker-smith, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2020

Thank you 🙏 stay safe and see you soon

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Elvetham
896 reviews
1.46 miles away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire
2,083 reviews
1.49 miles away
Days Inn Fleet M3
158 reviews
1.76 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Fleet, an IHG Hotel
37 reviews
1.79 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Queens Head Dogmersfield
733 reviews
.79 miles away
Afternoon Tea at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire
6 reviews
1.48 miles away
The Exchequer
1,018 reviews
1.50 miles away
Mama Mia
531 reviews
1.75 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Spa at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire
79 reviews
1.49 miles away
Adventure Balloons
428 reviews
1.79 miles away
St Mary's Church
11 reviews
1.35 miles away
Active Monkeys Play Centre
36 reviews
1.92 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Bobby47
9 October 2020|
Answer
Response from matt c | Reviewed this property |
Hi there, thank you for your contact, thats a tricky question, i would be honest with you and say give Caroline or Steve a ring to avoid disappointment, say you spoke to Matt via tripadvisor, its well worth a visit, Good... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BARLEY MOW, Odiham - WinchFld - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Barley Mow

Yes, The Barley Mow is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Barley Mow is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4