We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bel & The Dragon

££ - £££, British,
100 High Street, Odiham, Hook RG29 1LP, England
+44 1256 702696
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good30%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“suckling pig” (21 reviews)
“roast potatoes” (23 reviews)
“lemon tart” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
100 High Street, Odiham, Hook RG29 1LP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Our daughter went for a meal here last month and really raved about it, so, as we were free Tuesday lunchtime we thought we would pop in to celebrate my husband's birthday (very impromptu - as we were seeing friends in the evening). We had...More

Thank jane_costigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just so unprofessional all round, and very poor beef, so will go to four seasons hotel next time. The service staff were OK , but I would get rid of the chefs who did not know what they were doing, as beef was sold cold...More

1  Thank ericI2213GI
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been dining here quite regularly for several years as it is close by and the food and service used to be excellent but standards have dropped, particularly when it comes to service. We ate here 3 weeks ago and were waited an hour...More

Thank bill520
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely breakfast outside in the sunshine. The food was first rate as was the service. Really looking forward to returning soon.

Thank Ian C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Biggest disappointment of the pub ... food is good and service also good but if you like larger don’t come to this place .... Amstel and a craft larger ... have taken out the Heineken very bad move by the management... while being served some...More

Thank Laurence W
Lucia G, Guest Relations Manager at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Laurence, It was decided as a group (all six sites) to take Heineken out of our selection of largers that we offer mainly because it meant we then have more opportunity to support British brands such as Frontier and London Pride. I am very...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have eaten here, having liked it on the first occasion. This time was fairly disappointing. We shared a dish of battered whitebait as a 'nibble' before eating, which was very enjoyable, followed by starters - duck salad for my...More

Thank Niall F
Lucia G, Guest Relations Manager at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Niall, Thank you very much to taking the time to leave you review, although I am very sorry that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. This certainly does not sound like the high standard we know we are capable...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff are very attentive and helpful. The room I stayed in was excellent and the shower is the best! The food is exceptional. The only slight downside is the wait for breakfast, although as it is all freshly cooked, you need to show a...More

Thank Naps96
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

when i visited last the roast potatoes were arid, and clearly reheated, when we asked for a new pot they sent out the same, dry as bones. the staff were simply ill mannered and down right rude!More

1  Thank jkir1508
Lucia G, Guest Relations Manager at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, I am very sorry to read about your disappointing experience with us. This certainly doesn't sound like the high standard that we usually uphold. With regards to the team members who dealt with you, I can only apologise for this. We do dedicate...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you want classy, sophisticated yet ostensibly casual dining, you’ve found the right spot. I was a weekly visitor at Bel & Dragon for 2 years. Nearly a year later I returned to check in with friends nearby. The beauty of this establishment never changes....More

Thank LukeSJsy
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Food and service were very good and the setting excellent the problem was the suggestion of a 12.5% service charge which I hate for tips should always be DISCRETIONARY. A pet hate of mine hence no tip...More

Thank robertM5367PF
Lucia G, Guest Relations Manager at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to us and you could see what we are capable of at Bel & The Dragon. I do understand the point you make, this is however how we have operated for many years....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Red Lion
22 reviews
.01 miles away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
1,564 reviews
1.91 miles away
Raven Hotel
517 reviews
2.08 miles away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1,336 reviews
2.32 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Grapevine Bistro Restaurant
270 reviews
.05 miles away
The Red Lion
136 reviews
.01 miles away
The Mill House
878 reviews
.85 miles away
El Castello Odiham
305 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Odiham Castle
148 reviews
1.05 miles away
Spa at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire
64 reviews
1.91 miles away
Basingstoke Country Hotel Spa
72 reviews
2.32 miles away
Adventure Balloons
282 reviews
2.80 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bel & The Dragon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100 High Street, Odiham, Hook RG29 1LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Hook  >  Odiham
  • Phone Number: +44 1256 702696
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing